HELP....further hypo advice needed..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Been gone all day into evening...husband fed and gave insulin at usual time.(checked his plates and he had not eaten full feed)..took BG hour and 15 minutes ago..was 37(alpha trak)...followed hypo instructions for low BG with only symptom ravenous appetite...at 15 minute intervals his BGs r 48...58...65...76 most recent...feeding teaspoon hi carb food after each test.....how long do I stay doing this before we r in the clear for tonight? Do I continue to test every 30 minutes and feed teaspoon food ? What can I expect tomorrow? Have never gone thru this ....
 
We generally say to test every 30 minutes and then 1 more test an hour later once they're above 68 on the Alpha Trak....Once they're above 68 you want to stop feeding the high carb food and see if they can stay in safe numbers without it for about those 2 hours before relaxing (of course if they drop back down again, you start over)

He's DEFINITELY earned a reduction in dose if he got into the 30's on the AT so make sure you reduce his dose tomorrow!!
 
Thanks so much for reply...did quit food at BG 68...last BG +5 was 95..so I need to wait and test again in another hour and if still rising we r in the clear for tonight?
 
If you can do a .75 shot (I have never used Vetsulin so not sure about the syringes you have) I'd try that....otherwise I'd go down to .5
 
OK....yeah, I'd check again at +6 just to make sure he's staying up without any more food and then you're probably good for the night
 
I would set an alarm to wake me up later just to be sure his BG doesn't come back down again. You can post how things are doing here. Someone is usually around most of the time.
 
Thank u , thank u !! So grateful for hypo sticky info....got me focused and calm when I got home and realized what we were dealing with...what should I watch for tomorrow ....read something about bouncing? Or can going thru hypo have no affect the next day at all ??? What to watch for ??? I know I'm babbling ...its 1a.m. Here
 
He'll probably "bounce" off that 37....and probably bounce pretty high .....that's really low, especially since you're using the AT

Just stick with the reduced dose.....better too high for a day than too low for a moment.

If he doesn't bounce, that would be a surprise!
 
Thanks...the highs freak me out about as bad after experiencing DKA back in July and being hospitalized for 3 days...not a good deal at all but grateful he came thru it ....how long do they bounce? Day? Days? When should it stop and I return to previous dosage?
 
Just took BG at +61/2...151...will post on spreadsheet tomorrow morning..one last question : do I reduce dose just tomorrow morning to .5 then back to 1.0 tomorrow night? ....
 
No....I'd hold the .5 until you're sure he's done bouncing and then re-evaluate the dose

Cats don't always bounce straight up and then come straight down again....sometimes they wobble

Keep posting and we'll help you know when he's done and if you need to increase again
 
If you're using U40 syringes (which I assume you are since that's what most Vetsulin users use), you might want to consider getting some U40's that have half unit markings or use U100 syringes with this conversion chart

It would allow you to make smaller changes than .5 at a time

I'm off to bed....if you need more help, there should be more people coming on soon from the other side of the world ;)
 
Yes using U 40... where to get u40 with half markings ? Also would be good idea to call vet and let know ab the hypo? Think I could eyeball the .75 .....will have u explain logic of giving less insulin with higher numbers after some sleep...feeling like I'm hung over from a teenage pj party !!!
 
I use the CarePoint syringes and I like them because they are easy to read. They cost about $12 for a box of 100. ADW Diabetes is easy to work with. They deliver quite promptly.
 
Don't do 1 unit anymore.... You'r cats gone too low several times... Any time it was under 68 on an Alphatrak it is too low. He earned this reduction 2 weeks ago. I would reduce to 0.5 Unless something changes.
 
Yes it could still be a bounce and could mean that the 0.75u is still too high a dose. I'd get a +2 reading and see if he is dropping and how fast. If he is dropping fast, then give him a small amount of low carb food to try to slow him down and continue to retest to ensure he doesn't go too low again. For now I'd stick with this thread with all the history here but once you know he is safe today, then yes a new thread for any future needs would be best.
 
Yes it could still be a bounce and could mean that the 0.75u is still too high a dose. I'd get a +2 reading and see if he is dropping and how fast. If he is dropping fast, then give him a small amount of low carb food to try to slow him down and continue to retest to ensure he doesn't go too low again. For now I'd stick with this thread with all the history here but once you know he is safe today, then yes a new thread for any future needs would be best.
Thank u ... thank u !!.....will stay with this thread
 
Forgot to mention.....when you start a new thread, you can post over in the Vetsulin/Caninsulin forum where there are more folks familiar with your insulin.
 
Forgot to mention.....when you start a new thread, you can post over in the Vetsulin/Caninsulin forum where there are more folks familiar with your insulin.
Could u define "safe" for me? What should I be watching for today? Good to take BG every hour or every two?
 
With Vetsulin, it starts acting fast and the drop in BG can be dramatic. While the warning number of a potential hypo is 68 on your AT meter, most folks using Vetsulin, set their warning number a little higher, say around 90- 100 as the point when they begin to intervene with food and try to keep kitty above that mumber at all times. In other words, leave yourself a bigger cushion to ensure Elmo doesn't go too low. Normal readings for a cat on the AT meter would be between 70 to 175 but with a cat on insulin, you don't want to be right on the lower border of normal to keep him safe. You can decide whether you are comfortable with 90, 100 or even a little higher if you choose. Where you set that "safe" number is your choice knowing how your cat reacts to insulin but I'd definitely try not to let him go below 90.
 
With Vetsulin, it starts acting fast and the drop in BG can be dramatic. While the warning number of a potential hypo is 68 on your AT meter, most folks using Vetsulin, set their warning number a little higher, say around 90- 100 as the point when they begin to intervene with food and try to keep kitty above that mumber at all times. In other words, leave yourself a bigger cushion to ensure Elmo doesn't go too low. Normal readings for a cat on the AT meter would be between 70 to 175 but with a cat on insulin, you don't want to be right on the lower border of normal to keep him safe. You can decide whether you are comfortable with 90, 100 or even a little higher if you choose. Where you set that "safe" number is your choice knowing how your cat reacts to insulin but I'd definitely try not to let him go below 90.
Many many thanks! U r an answer to prayer ....will be saying special kitty prayers over yours today ❤️
 
Good to take BG every hour or every two?
This again is a judgement call based on what readings you have already had. There is no need to test every hour or every 2 hours every day. Try to catch the nadir (lowest reading in a cycle) and with Vetsulin that could be +3 to +5 post shot and then there may be another smaller dip around +7 to +8. Those lowest points in a cycle are different for each cat and can also differ slightly from day to day. A reading at +2 or +3 will often tell you how fast kitty is dropping and determine how much and how often you need to test through the rest of the cycle but if you can't snag a reading then, I'd definitely try for a +4. Every cat is different so it's really a matter of getting to know your own cat not only from a number perspective but also from a behavioural view. If kitty seems to be off, then a quick test may give you a clue as to why or it may just give you peace of mind. While there are guidelines, much of this dance is unique for each of our furballs.

Elmo is starting to drop so get another test at +3 and see where he's at. If he continuing to drop fast, feed a him a small bit of low carb food (a tsp. or so) and then retest at +3.5 or +4 depending on how much he has dropped to see if he is slowing down.

I have to run out for a short bit but will check on you again when I return. If you should need any immediate assistance (which I doubt) then post in Vetsulin with either a "?" or "911" depending on how urgent the matter is and put a link in Health if it's a 911 so you get help right away. I'm just saying all this in case because I don't expect you are going to have a problem. :)
 
This again is a judgement call based on what readings you have already had. There is no need to test every hour or every 2 hours every day. Try to catch the nadir (lowest reading in a cycle) and with Vetsulin that could be +3 to +5 post shot and then there may be another smaller dip around +7 to +8. Those lowest points in a cycle are different for each cat and can also differ slightly from day to day. A reading at +2 or +3 will often tell you how fast kitty is dropping and determine how much and how often you need to test through the rest of the cycle but if you can't snag a reading then, I'd definitely try for a +4. Every cat is different so it's really a matter of getting to know your own cat not only from a number perspective but also from a behavioural view. If kitty seems to be off, then a quick test may give you a clue as to why or it may just give you peace of mind. While there are guidelines, much of this dance is unique for each of our furballs.

Elmo is starting to drop so get another test at +3 and see where he's at. If he continuing to drop fast, feed a him a small bit of low carb food (a tsp. or so) and then retest at +3.5 or +4 depending on how much he has dropped to see if he is slowing down.

I have to run out for a short bit but will check on you again when I return. If you should need any immediate assistance (which I doubt) then post in Vetsulin with either a "?" or "911" depending on how urgent the matter is and put a link in Health if it's a 911 so you get help right away. I'm just saying all this in case because I don't expect you are going to have a problem. :)
❤️
 
Looks like Elmo is on a nice steady glide rather than a thump today but I'd get another reading at +4 or +5 just to track him on that new dose because he may be bouncing a bit after that low yesterday. Don't be tempted to increase his dose even if he does stay a bit higher today because it will take a couple of days for him to get used to the new dose and it seems clear a whole unit is definitely too much. This is when patience is necessary and you have to let the picture unfold at a slow, steady pace. Easier on both you and kitty too!
 
Happy Halloween Beth!!

Looks like Elmo is doing really well today (so far)!! .....I was really expecting him to bounce a lot higher (like 300+) so he's doing great!

Where are you in SW Mo? I'm in Mid-Mo
 
Looks like Elmo is on a nice steady glide rather than a thump today but I'd get another reading at +4 or +5 just to track him on that new dose because he may be bouncing a bit after that low yesterday. Don't be tempted to increase his dose even if he does stay a bit higher today because it will take a couple of days for him to get used to the new dose and it seems clear a whole unit is definitely too much. This is when patience is necessary and you have to let the picture unfold at a slow, steady pace. Easier on both you and kitty too!
Again, thank u doesn't quite cover all this wonderful knowledge/help...at +3 BG 121 so gave teaspoon low carb ...at +4 BG 127....should I lower to .5 at pmps or stay at eyeballed .75....getting syringes with half marks ordered thru vet then can order on my own from now on...when should I check BG next ? +6 or +7 ??
 
Happy Halloween Beth!!

Looks like Elmo is doing really well today (so far)!! .....I was really expecting him to bounce a lot higher (like 300+) so he's doing great!

Where are you in SW Mo? I'm in Mid-Mo
Thanks to ur midnight hour help !! I saw u r in mid Mo....we live in small town north of Springfield .... born and raised in St Louis but been here 30 years . Again, ur calming help in the early A.M gave me confidence and peace.....thank u, thank u, thank u to u and China
 
My inclination would be to get a +6 and if he is still surfing along nicely maybe a +8. As far as tonight is concerned, I'd wait to see what his PMPS is although because many cats do go lower at night, 0.5u might be a good idea just to be on the safe side especially when he might be bouncing a bit right now and looking higher because of it.
 
My inclination would be to get a +6 and if he is still surfing along nicely maybe a +8. As far as tonight is concerned, I'd wait to see what his PMPS is although because many cats do go lower at night, 0.5u might be a good idea just to be on the safe side especially when he might be bouncing a bit right now and looking higher because of it.
+6.5 BG 154....what is considered "surfing nicely? ".....will take a +8 and if I am in doubt will post pmps to decide if we need to go to .5 ...☺️
 
Surfing means his numbers are staying reasonably stable in a reasonably good range without any major ups or downs. Surfing is cause for celebration so grab the wine or chocolate or whatever your indulgence of choice is and enjoy! :woot:
 
Latest on Elmo....There was a drop between +8 BG of 183 and +11.5(aka PMPS) of 171...gave .5 ..eyeballed as best I could...any advise on monitoring BGs tonight ....when and how often ??...what to watch for? Ate pretty eagerly and normal amount ....litter box normal as well...being a good sport about the extra BG pokes today...think he wishes I'd get a new hobby
 
The new hobby line gave me a darn good belly laugh! Thank you! :woot:

I'd get a +3 reading and see where he's at in relation to the PMPS. I'll be up so I'll check in again then to see where he's at. I think with the 0.5 tonight he should be fine and allow you to get a good night's sleep but these guys can surprise us so let's wait and see what he does.
 
The new hobby line gave me a darn good belly laugh! Thank you! :woot:

I'd get a +3 reading and see where he's at in relation to the PMPS. I'll be up so I'll check in again then to see where he's at. I think with the 0.5 tonight he should be fine and allow you to get a good night's sleep but these guys can surprise us so let's wait and see what he does.
Glad I could give u a belly laugh ...will get +3 read ...thanks ever so much for hanging in here with me today (after Chris and China had taken the night shift ☺️)
 
One of the strong points of this message board is that people are here from all over the world....when the east coasters go to bed, the mid-western folks take over...then the pacific people and then Europe and Australia wakes up!

There's almost always somebody around to help out....or even if they're not comfortable giving specific advice, they'll sit and hold your hand while you worry!
 
One of the strong points of this message board is that people are here from all over the world....when the east coasters go to bed, the mid-western folks take over...then the pacific people and then Europe and Australia wakes up!

There's almost always somebody around to help out....or even if they're not comfortable giving specific advice, they'll sit and hold your hand while you worry!
It really is an astounding group of dedicated, knowledgeable folks....I find it amazing and comforting ...truly amazing
 
Should I feed 1 teaspoon food at +4 depending on BG ? Or is +3 158 a safe overnight number after last night's episode ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top