Adrienne & Molly (GA)
Member Since 2019
Created new thread from previous threads.
Thanks, Adrienne!Created new thread from previous threads.
Are you and Molly finding the testing thing a little easier now?
You want to keep her at her ideal weight. So if she has gained back what she lost and was at a good weight before the weight loss then you need to figure out how much to feed to maintain her weight. Each can of FF is about 90 calories and a 15lb cat would need about 275 calories per day or roughly 3 cans of FF. You can calculate Molly's calorie needs by multiplying her ideal weight in pounds by 13.6 and then adding 70.She’s gained weight. But I haven’t weighed her. She lost weight about 3 lbs when she was diagnosed with diabetes.
You want to keep her at her ideal weight. So if she has gained back what she lost and was at a good weight before the weight loss then you need to figure out how much to feed to maintain her weight. Each can of FF is about 90 calories and a 15lb cat would need about 275 calories per day or roughly 3 cans of FF. You can calculate Molly's calorie needs by multiplying her ideal weight in pounds by 13.6 and then adding 70.
Good for you! Your gut feelings will get better and better over time.I only gave her .5 this morning, just listening to my gut feeling.
You're doing great, Adrienne! Next time you get a lower PS, try reducing to 0.75 u. I'm quite sure that would be plenty. The goal down the line is to keep the same dose when you get a lower PS and that includes blues. It's the way to get the best effect from Lantus.
Your testing practice is probably going better now. Before too long you can try 1.25 u, maybe next weekend when you can watch her. How is the feeding situation? Molly's behaviour? Your hubby's?![]()
Ideally you want to be able to monitor a bit more when changing the dose so this weekend if you are available to monitor it would be a good time to increase the dose to 1.25u.
As you reduce the dry food, you need to make up for those calories with more of the wet food. Until Molly gets more regulated, she will likely need extra food to get the calories she needs. Don't be afraid to give her more food than you might think she needs right now. Given her previous weight of 14 lbs (if that was her ideal), I estimate she would need about 3 can of FF per day if that is her only food and she is better regulated. So right now she may need the 3 cans to keep her satisfied and to stop any further weight loss. Did you weigh her lately? Her appetite will reduce as she gets better regulated.![]()
Should I start the 1.25 for tonight?
That's up to you. While I don't expect you'll see any drastic change in BG numbers with the first increased dose, my personal choice was to make dose increases on day cycles when I knew I would be awake and alert should my girl decide to get "frisky". It's a personal choice and really up to you.


She'll be fine.I only gave her 1 unit this morning. I couldn’t get on here again!
Could I have given her the 1.25? Test her every 2 hours?She'll be fine.![]()
Woo hoo! I’m just seeing this now. Did you give her a snack when you saw this low dark green? We’re you really nervous? Those are very, very good numbers and you saw them on a day when you were home to monitor.
You can probably leave her ears alone now until PMPS. I think it's worth trying the 1 u dose again tomorrow if you're home. Then we can decide on the dose for when you go back to work.

Just seeing your message now. Given the events of the last 2 days, I'm wondering what your availability is to test tomorrow before making a decision. Can you come home to get a mid cycle test at lunch tomorrow? Will check in again in the morning (Kris probably will too) and then best to see what the AMPS is and your monitoring availability.![]()
I think if her BG is 200 or higher, 1u should be fine. If she is below 200, then perhaps a reduction to 0.75u would be safer given that lower green she got on Saturday. What time do you give her shot? I should remember but it's late here and I am drawing a blank.
Ok I am up early so I'll check in around 7:30am my time so if you post Molly's AMPS, we can decide what to do so Molly is safe and you are comfortable leaving her until lunch time. Kris is usually around early too!![]()
I just noticed Molly is really up this morning and wondered if perhaps there had been some kibble given. Since we really don't know for sure what her fasting BG is, I'd be inclined to say 0.75u this morning. Maybe you should hide the kibble from Hubbie!![]()
Love that start to the day! Are you able to come home to test Molly around lunchtime today?
Molly earned a reduction the other day when she went into green so 0.75u would be her new dose now.
Your syringes have half unit markings don't they? If so, just eyeball the dose between the full 1u and the 0.5u dose. It doesn't have to be exact, but try to keep it consistent. If you are not comfortable with drawing up the 0.75u, go with 0.5 this morning and then tonight, make yourself a sample syringe of 0.75u with coloured water to use for comparison going forward.![]()