Help For Molly #16

Status
Not open for further replies.
Do you think she dropped lower in the night? she was eating after her last test last night. She's been sleeping with me. I check on her throughout the night.
 
It's possible but not a certainty by any means. A lot of cats do go lower at night. It looks like her nadir is often around +6 so she probably went up a bit with the food last night but probably dropped down again a while later. She probably would have bounced if she'd gone much lower but she could have dropped a bit more given that lower AMPS this AM. Or she might have just surfed along in the same range leading to that lovely pre-shot.
 
If she won't eat, I'd check her again to see what her BG is doing in 30 minutes or so. Maybe she'll change her mind about eating but if she won't eat at that AMPS, I'd be reluctant to shoot since you can't monitor.
 
That's good. Don't you just love it when they get your adrenalin going for nothing. As long as she eats well, you're fine to give her 0.75u. Usual drill with food and test at lunch but check BG before you leave to decide whether to leave LC or MC food out. If she up, LC. If stable or down, MC.
 
Last edited:
OMG! Just seeing this now. Glad to see you got BG up. Was she acting OK when you caught that low? That definitely earned Molly a reduction to .50u tonight.
 
She was acting fine. I always leave food out for her. Before I go to work. She usually doesn't eat it until I'm home for lunch, but today it was gone. This is the lowest she has been. I mixed gravy FF in with her LC and she ate majority of it. But I'm a little concerned with how low she dropped so quick? She seemed fine but I read some cats show no signs of hypo? I dread to think what could've happened if I was unable to make it home at lunch. I guess maybe she was trying to tell me something this morning, where she was tired and not in the mood for her breakfast. I guess I should've listed to my gut. Will you be online for 6pm my time?
 
Yes I will absolutely make sure I am here Adrienne. I have to admit I had my heart in my mouth when I saw your note. It's funny how sometimes they act like they don't care about food and I wonder if that might be something that you can use as a warning with Molly. I can just imagine the panic you felt with that reading. Not to suggest complacency at all, but the FS Lite does read low so she probably wasn't quite that low but still low enough to need HC food . You did the right thing mixing in gravy and getting her food. You know now she will eat when her BG is dropping which is also good news.

Not sure what you left out in the way of food this AM, but next time she is that low, leaving high carb food out when you leave might be the way to go.

Let's see what she does for tonight and decide next steps.

Hopefully this won't happen again but if it does, post on the Lantus forum to get eyes on you immediately. There are usually folks online there who can assist and offer support.
 
I just left out LC food this morning. But from now on I'll mix HC in with it to be safe. It had my scared to see that low number.I had to look twice to see if it was right or not. I honestly didn't think to message anyone on the Lantus. I just jumped to my feet and started mixed the gravy in her food. Waited to test her to see if she was safe.
 
That's OK. I know all too well about that jumping into action but the important thing is you caught her. Next time you get a low number like that, it's a good idea to double check. Meters have a 15% variance allowance and sometimes you get a bad strip so rechecking can sometimes help quell some of the panic.
 
Better not to skip if you don't have to. How about a BCS of 0.50u or even 0.25u and leave out food for her to eat while you are gone if she needs/wants it. If you feel better skipping that's fine, but you don't want to lose momentum either and chances are she is going to go up soon from bouncing.
 
Hi – I think I was online this afternoon when you had the scare but I did not check your thread and was not aware that you needed help.
Along with posting in Lantus for help, if you change the title of the thread of your thread in the Health Forum to "Help! Low numbers!" and add a 911, you will get help almost immediately.

Sorry I wasn't there for you this afternoon.
 
Hi – I think I was online this afternoon when you had the scare but I did not check your thread and was not aware that you needed help.
Along with posting in Lantus for help, if you change the title of the thread of your thread in the Health Forum to "Help! Low numbers!" and add a 911, you will get help almost immediately.

Sorry I wasn't there for you this afternoon.

It’s ok I wasn’t even thinking about posting. I was too concerned about getting her BG down. But if there’s a next time I’ll post
 
Technically you can shoot regular dose but that comes with also being prepared to monitor closely and intervene as needed for as long as needed. I'd stall without feeding if I were you and see if she is coming up on her own before making a decision.
 
Ok I think you can safely give her a 0.25u dose tonight (full dose might be OK but you've never shot that low). I expect she will once again start rising (bounce) again from that low. Get a test at +1 to see where she is headed. I'll be around.
 
She’s bouncing? I got up in the night to check on her. Tested her and she was interested in food. She slept with me all night. Continue with the .50?
 
Yes she's bouncing. Continue with the 0.5u. Molly has a nice run in the green last night and is clearing bounces faster now so let's see how long it takes for this one to clear.

One word of caution, many kitties go lower at night so when you get a reading like 67 at +5, you can feed her to keep her surfing but it also would be a good idea to set an alarm to check her again an hour or 2 later just to be sure she isn't continuing to drop.
 
I take it you mean Molly wasn't interested in food at +5 (3.7)? If so, then that makes grabbing that extra test even more important. Some kitties will immediately demand food when BG starts dropping or gets low but some don't so your glucometer is your best friend to keep her safe.:D
 
There are diabetics who do not sense their BG is dropping too low and our kitties can do the same so until Molly is a little more stabilized and you have a better understanding of what she does when in those lower ranges (she's better but still not totally consistent), it's better to check than to rely just on her demeanour or appetite alone. The first time my girl was low, she was absolutely frantic for food. I figured I didn't need to worry because she'd let me know if she was dropping but it seems as she got more used to those low numbers, that was no longer a warning I could rely on. She'd eat if offered food but didn't go crazy asking. It's a pain in the neck at night but if you have to make a trip to the ladies or wake up, grabbing that extra BG test can sometimes be an eye opener.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top