Help for Ginge,high BG and up to 9 units of Lantus

ann jones

Member Since 2019
Ginge is 16 years old and has been diabetic for many years.
He was put on Lantus in 2012.
Recently he was quite ill and was hospitalized for 48 hours and put on a drip.
He was diagnosed with stage 2 CKD.
His BG has been in the 20's, sometimes 30's.
He was on 5 units of insulin until then but I have increased it steadily and now he is on 9 units.
His readings today were 8.2 pre shot.10.6 mid day(these readings are practically unheard of) but then this evening he is back up to 19.4.
I don't know what to do!!!!!!
 
A couple of thoughts....

I'd strongly encourage you to change Ginges' food. The dry "diabetic" food is likely one reason your kitty's numbers are high. Despite the claim to be "diabetic," all of the dry diabetic foods are high in carbohydrates -- way too high for a diabetic. It's like giving your cat cookies and expecting the numbers to look good. If Ginge refuses to eat canned food, please look into Young Again Zero Carb. It's about 5% carb. As an aside, the dry food is not helping a cat with CKD. More water is better. (If you don't already have a water fountain for your kitty, it may help to get him to drink more.) I'm assuming your in Canada and I'm hoping the food is available there. If not, there are lower carb options although I'd have to rely on other members for suggestions.

Was he hospitalized for the CKD or for something else? When was the last time your kitty had his teeth cleaned or had dental work. Dental issues are one of the big issues that will have a negative impact on numbers. Any thing that causes inflammation or an infection will cause numbers to be elevated.

I'm not sure I'm understanding your spreadsheet. The numbers on the World tab are different that on the US tab. You should be entering info on the World tab and the spreadsheet will automatically convert the numbers to US. There is a column of numbers at +1 on the US tab that are not on the World sheet and the US tab is missing all of your PMPS readings. Can you take a look and correct or clarify?

I'm curious if you have always increased Ginge's dose by 0.5u. His nadirs are in the 200s. While the pre-shot test results are often high, at least during the AM cycle his nadirs are in a range that we would increase by 0.25u. It's possible that if you increase by too much, you can speed right past what might be a good dose for your cat.

 
Thank you.
I know what you are saying but Ginge is not likely to change his diet after 16 years.He has never liked wet food.I am in the UK so cannot access the food you suggested someone recommended Thrive which is 9% carb.
I did do the spreadsheet wrong but Marje has fixed it.
Ginge has no teeth! Well he has two small teeth, one at the top and one at the bottom.
He was hospitalized because he was dehydrated and unwell and that is when they found the CKD.
I do have a fountain but Ginge does not use it but water is everywhere.I have five other cats!
Yes in a matter of months his insulin went from five to nine units because his readings were in the high twenties and thirtys.
I wondered if he had become ammune because he has been on lantus since 2012.
 
Ann, never say never on the dry food. I have a non diabetic who her entire 13 yrs was dry fed only and free fed. With my 1st diabetic I tried getting her off dry. Tried everything and every flavor, for 3 yrs but never gave up. Then it happened. The one food she ate and never went back to dry. I know it's not available where you are. It was dehydrated freeze dried raw in kibble form. She loved it. Then I started adding the same thing but in patty form. First dry, then slowly rehydrated, then sprinkled on wet food. She has been eating wet food only 1 flavor 1 brand but that's okay for 2 yrs now. No dry food at all. Just keep trying different texture foods. Find something that is dry or hard to start that's a complete meal. Even home made cooked or raw. If you have a dehydrator, you can make food. It's about texture.
 
I have a 15 yr diabetic cat who always ate dry food now he doesnt eat it at all, u may have to change slowly and maybe put some parmesan cheese, cats love that, entice him to eat it, there is other things u can put on top of it too
 
I have a 15 yr diabetic cat who always ate dry food now he doesnt eat it at all, u may have to change slowly and maybe put some parmesan cheese, cats love that, entice him to eat it, there is other things u can put on top of it too
That's amazing,thank you for the tip
 
Many thanks for your input.
Ginge is 16 years old and has been diabetic for many years.
He was put on Lantus in 2012.
Recently he was quite ill and was hospitalized for 48 hours and put on a drip.
He was diagnosed with stage 2 CKD.
His BG has been in the 20's, sometimes 30's.
He was on 5 units of insulin until then but I have increased it steadily and now he is on 9 units.
His readings today were 8.2 pre shot.10.6 mid day(these readings are practically unheard of) but then this evening he is back up to 19.4.
I don't know what to do!!!!!!
My cat was recently diagnosed with stage 2 ckd as well so now we are trying to get him to eat low carb and low phosphorus food ugh!!
 
It's really difficult isn't it.I was told to concentrate on the diabetes.He doesn't like the Ipacatine etc.
That's basically what I'm doing, I did order for 1.00 sample of foodfurlife to mix with raw chicken to see if he would eat it, I have my doubts but who knows
 
Back
Top