HELP. First time shooting low PMPS is 168

Sissy's Mom

Member Since 2021
Would someone look at Sissy's SS and let me know if I should give her the entire .5 dose? She's due now and I'm stalling for a few but don't want to miss a shot. I know we are supposed to give insulin for where she will be, but it's scary to give when a shot is this low.
 
You are following TR so yes you can shoot the full dose as long as you have plenty of test strips, medium carb food and high carb food and karo or honey if needed. Get a +1 and +2. Update your subject and I will check on you. Okay?
 
You are following TR so yes you can shoot the full dose as long as you have plenty of test strips, medium carb food and high carb food and karo or honey if needed. Get a +1 and +2. Update your subject and I will check on you. Okay?

BG is now 123 and headed down according to the sensor. Now I'm extremely nervous.
 
If you stall and don’t feed it will continue to go down. With TR it’s safe to shoot but you hold the syringe. Experienced people shoot 50 and over.
 
I fed her when I was getting the insulin ready. She's at 123 and had food over an hr ago. I'm not sure what you mean by hold the syringe?? I have no experience.
 
When you stall you don’t feed so that the bg test is not food influenced. Since you fed it’s best to skip. So next time you see a lower than normal preshot, stall and don’t feed. Retest in 20-30 minutes. 168 was totally safe to shoot.
 
Last edited:
BG is now 123 and headed down according to the sensor. Now I'm extremely nervous.
I used to be terrified to shoot as well, especially since my vet advised me to skip a shot if Phoenix's BG fell under 200. Now, I shoot at 80. Remember, you have to shoot low to stay low.
 
I used to be terrified to shoot as well, especially since my vet advised me to skip a shot if Phoenix's BG fell under 200. Now, I shoot at 80. Remember, you have to shoot low to stay low.

That's totally it, I'm terrified. Which doesn't help her. I gave her the shot 2 hrs later, which puts her on a crazy 12 hr schedule. Will summon the courage to shoot low next time, if she ever gets that low again.
 
That's totally it, I'm terrified. Which doesn't help her. I gave her the shot 2 hrs later, which puts her on a crazy 12 hr schedule. Will summon the courage to shoot low next time, if she ever gets that low again.
She will get that low again and lower. Phoenix's AMPS was 81 this morning. I gave him his full dose of insulin. After eating his +1 145, + 2 232. It takes several hours before the insulin kicks in. Sometimes Phoenix will stay low most of the day. Please have honey, karo syrup or HC food in case Sissy falls below 50. Have a great day !! 80 is a very good number for Sissy.
 
I think for starters you should switch to SLGS. You will then take reductions if she falls under 90. What number do you feel comfortable shooting? We can gradually lower that number and have someone coach you through the cycles so you learn how to feed the curve.
 
She will get that low again and lower. Phoenix's AMPS was 81 this morning. I gave him his full dose of insulin. After eating his +1 145, + 2 232. It takes several hours before the insulin kicks in. Sometimes Phoenix will stay low most of the day. Please have honey, karo syrup or HC food in case Sissy falls below 50. Have a great day !! 80 is a very good number for Sissy.

I think delaying the shot when she was 168 caused her to go to high numbers again and she hasn't come down even to the yellows yet. Hoping today is the day. I've had to treat her for hypos when she first started insulin (dose was too high). She fell below 40, very quickly. Those episodes scared me, but more importantly, it takes so much out of her. It takes her days to recover. I have karo, honey, medium and high carb food on hand and if she is lower in numbers I set my clock to check on her every couple of hrs. Thanks for the encouragement, it helps.
 
I think for starters you should switch to SLGS. You will then take reductions if she falls under 90. What number do you feel comfortable shooting? We can gradually lower that number and have someone coach you through the cycles so you learn how to feed the curve.

I was SLGS but encouraged to switch to TR since I had so much data from the sensor. One of the reasons I'm scared to shoot lower is the rate of her BG fall. Previously I've had her drop so rapidly in a few minutes, it was scary. I'm worried that if that rate of drop continues she will be in trouble. So, in the past, I've used (I know better now) dry kibble to slow the fall - which caused her to go HI.

Is the fall rate fast when you get to low numbers? My vet has encourages me to be comfortable with the lower numbers.

I can shoot lower I think now - at least over 100. I know it's better for her, plus I have the stuff on hand to help. My emergency vet is an hr away. Fortunately I have my vet's cell phone if I really had to call I could.

I'm hoping she drops to at least yellow today. I think delaying the shot at 168 for 2 hrs is leading to much higher numbers. At least I think that. I would so appreciate help for her. I hate seeing her not feel well.

A little history: she was a stray that I found in my backyard about 11 years ago. Three years ago we had to evacuate from NC to VA for hurricane Florence. On the way back home, she escaped her carrier at a gas station - 6 hrs from home. With the help of a lot of people in that little town, and a month spent doing nothing but searching for her, we were able to find her, but really, she found a way for us to find her. My baby had lost 1 lb but she was so courageous and smart. She made her way over half a mile to someone who fed feral cats. They recognized her and called. We drove all night and picked her up about 4 a.m. She came right to us. It was the worst 35 days of my life.

She's been through a lot and I don't want her to feel bad for a minute if it's possible and I feel like this disease has thrown both of us for a loop.

Thanks much for your advice and encouragement, it's much needed. And if someone will keep an eye on my spreadsheet and provide some guidance, I would be so grateful.

Deanna
 
I did it. Her PMPS was 207. I gave her the normal dose. So glad I did. Her AMPS was 268. If I hadn't given her the shot it would probably have been 400 or over. Thanks for helping to give me the confidence to do it. I was prepared with all of the hypo stuff, thankfully didn't need it.
 
Good for you ! Get a +2.

She's pushing me to my limits. Tonight her PMPS was 167. I gave her the shot. I'm feeling more comfortable knowing what her numbers should be after the shot, thanks to the SS. I'm hoping this is a good turn for Sissy and she will continue with these numbers for a while. I have a couple of days to go before I have to think about dose adjustment.
 
Back
Top