? Help! first low pmps, happy but I'm scared!

Status
Not open for further replies.

William's Mom

Member Since 2015
William was around 360 at +6 after our dose increase today and it looked like it was going to be a dud of a day but we've got a pmps of 214 (alphatrak) and I'm excited but I don't know how to move forward. Test in 20 mins to see if he's not dropping? Continue with the increased dose? I don't want to lose our first bit of momentum, but it's my first time seeing a number like that and I'm a little spooked.
 
Sorry no one was around to help. This forum is small. Anytime you don't get an answer here, be sure to go to Health.

What did you decide to do?
 
I see you got help on Health.

The nice thing about ProZinc is if you give a dose that is too little, you can go back up the next cycle. And you've collected data you can use. The next time you see that preshot near 200, you can reduce a little less.
 
I know! ProZinc is a ghost town! That dosing flexibility and the time flexibility are among the reasons I went back to ProZinc, but it's such a different experience over there in Lantus/Levemir land with the number of people hanging in that thread.

My SOS was heard in Health, though, and now I know that I've got to post over there as well, especially when it's evening.

I'm going to see what's possible around the +10, +11 (which is pretty much now), but do you think that if he's in the higher preshot ranges he's been in that I should go ahead with the new dose of 3.5u and see if we can get a more normal day out of it? He didn't go too low on it, just went low at the end of the cycle, so I'm feeling like that could be the way. Also, I hadn't been able to get fluids into him for more than a week, but I did yesterday just after his +6. Could that have influenced the way his body was able to process the insulin, do you think?
 
There are quite a few newbies on ProZinc but only three older ones who post on this forum regularly: BJM, Rachel and me. We need to get some conversations started between the newbies here. Feel free to post on anyone else's thread here. If you don't want to give dosing advice, just be encouraging. Everyone wants to know others are in the same boat. Yes, many more people hang around on Lantus. The one advantage here is that your thread doesn't get lost.....

I do think fluids can lower the blood glucose levels in some cats. It could be the fluids themselves or that they make him feel better. Pain and stress can definitely raise the numbers. He seems to be doing okay with the lower dose now. Wonder what will happen when the fluids wear off? Do you give them daily? If so, maybe you can time them and match the dose?
 
He won't tolerate daily fluids, but with his probable pancreatitis/IBD issues I know it's important to give them. I feel like they're the golden ticket, so I definitely want to try to do it a few times a week. The effects seem to last up to a couple of days.

And, I'll go ahead and try to offer support to the other newbies here on ProZinc. I know it's the three of you doing the heavy lifting over here- I've seen some people disappear after they no longer needed the forum, which I totally understand, so (I think I can speak for the group) we're all that much more grateful you are still here to help.
 
Yeah, sometimes this board can be a bit quiet. I lost power last night, so I wasn't able to get on at all. Sigh. I'm usually around in the morning and the evening. I try to check in before I head to work (though few post that early) and when I get home. Health is the best place to go when you have an emergency and need help right then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top