Help first home test and 70 mg/dl

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have not given insulin yet because he stopped eating and hid under my bed. I am unsure if I should wait to give him insulin until I get a higher carb wet food and see if he eats it. Or should I give him the 0.5 shot now regardless of how much he ate.
Has he eaten any at all?
 
Would he eat any of the dry food?
If you wait too much longer to give the shot you are going to be running later tonight and again tomorrow..will that make a difference to your schedule?

Yes, it would. I work Saturday's. I will try dry food again.
 
So I'm curious, is a bit of force-feeding an option?? And I'm not the expert level of the people tagged and Bron, but I would say high carbs have to happen before shooting. Your baby needs that sugar going before you shoot!
 
So I'm curious, is a bit of force-feeding an option?? And I'm not the expert level of the people tagged and Bron, but I would say high carbs have to happen before shooting. Your baby needs that sugar going before you shoot!
Cassandra, the Lantus insulin is a bit different to the Novolon that you are using. Lantus is a longer lasting gentler insulin,than the Novolon which is fast acting and they don't need to eat a large meal before the insulin is given. It's onset is around +2 so you have a couple of hours to get some more food into them.
But we do need to know kitty will eat.
 
Cassandra, the Lantus insulin is a bit different to the Novolon that you are using. Lantus is a longer lasting gentler insulin,than the Novolon which is fast acting and they don't need to eat a large meal before the insulin is given. It's onset is around +2 so you have a couple of hours to get some more food into them.
But we do need to know kitty will eat.

Thanks that's helpful for me to understand too since I am about to switch! But I guess that's what I mean, if kitty won't eat, but you can still force a little, then would that allow for a chance to shoot? Crush up and crumble some dry on the wet food he will sort of eat?
 
Yes you could ask for an appetite stimulant while at the vet as well....good idea.
We would just have to make sure Rump is not nauseated before he gets an appetite stimulant.

Rumpy was on an appetite stimulant after he was released from the hospital, but he kept salivating from it and it was making him run and hide. He was also very nauseated during that time from antibiotic and wound healing.
 
Rumpy was on an appetite stimulant after he was released from the hospital, but he kept salivating from it and it was making him run and hide. He was also very nauseated during that time from antibiotic and wound healing.
Poor fellow what a time he has had.
He might need the appetite stimulant put in a capsule if it was making him salivate.
 
at +1.2 reading was 166 and he is eating some more chicken as I type
Because he hadnot had any insulin when you took the test, we call that +13.2 as it is 13.2 hours past the last shot. Does that make sense?
So put the 166 in the AMPS column not the +1 column as it is the new AMPS. SAY 166@13.2
 
Poor fellow what a time he has had.
He might need the appetite stimulant put in a capsule if it was making him salivate.

I just gave his insulin shot .75. Can I leave the last bit of chicken down with crushed dry food on top (5 kibbles) while I go to the store? Next test should be 1 hour after shot right?
 
I just gave his insulin shot .75. Can I leave the last bit of chicken down with crushed dry food on top (5 kibbles) while I go to the store? Next test should be 1 hour after shot right?
Yes. You can put on more than 5 kibbles. Well done.
I would recommend you do hourly tests until you see what he is going to do this cycle.. he could possibly bounce high after the lows last night or he may not.
You will need to make sure he gets plenty to eat and drink.
Try and get the ketone test.
Hopefully someone will be along to help you before too long.
I am going to head for bed.
You have done a fantastic job especially seeing it was your first day testing......thank goodness you got the meter....you probably saved his life.
I will look in when I wake up.
Bron
 
Yes. You can put on more than 5 kibbles. Well done.
I would recommend you do hourly tests until you see what he is going to do this cycle.. he could possibly bounce high after the lows last night or he may not.
You will need to make sure he gets plenty to eat and drink.
Try and get the ketone test.
Hopefully someone will be along to help you before too long.
I am going to head for bed.
You have done a fantastic job especially seeing it was your first day testing......thank goodness you got the meter....you probably saved his life.
I will look in when I wake up.
Bron

Okay thanks so much for all your help. Get some rest!
 
So glad his numbers are improving, and I would definitely toss on more kibble for sure.

What appetite stimulant was he on before?
Just tested him again and it was 166 +2

I'm so new that I am unsure if these numbers are good and if I should still put food down. I picked up some 11-15% carb options.
 
Good morning Shelly, I got up this morning and found this newest thread. Whew, you had a long night and I hope you got some rest somewhere along the way. I am no expert, but that 166 blue number looks good. Is Rumpy hungry, wanting to eat a little?Did he eat at the last injection time, how much? He may just want to nibble in between naps, just keep a note of how much of what kind of food he is eating so you can be sure he's eating enough.
 
Good morning Shelly, I got up this morning and found this newest thread. Whew, you had a long night and I hope you got some rest somewhere along the way. I am no expert, but that 166 blue number looks good. Is Rumpy hungry, wanting to eat a little?Did he eat at the last injection time, how much? He may just want to nibble in between naps, just keep a note of how much of what kind of food he is eating so you can be sure he's eating enough.

Good morning Lou, I have not been able to rest other than an hour. Rumpy started to eat the dry food I have about 30 minutes ago, but I picked it up because not sure about if its ok for him to have the 17.5% dry food. He has been nibbling on tiki cat chicken 0% carb. I just bought some 11-15% cans of Nutrish and have a little down for him if he wants to eat it. I also found the cerenia pill, he spit it out :/
I know he isn't eating enough at all.
 
I would keep offering watered down wet food, it's the best thing for him. He needs the moisture, it helps wash out ketones and if he is still having loose stools, he needs the water, so he doesn't dehydrate. I hope he will like the Nutrish. Does he like to eat chicken meat? You might try burying the cerenia pill in a little chunk of unseasoned poached chicken breast, hopefully he would swallow the chunk whole and get the medicine. You might also try some Beechnut baby food meat, watered down into a soup. No ham, though. That's my go-to sick food for Idjit. It's not for long term, because it doesn't have the nutrients he needs, and perhaps then you could mix in some of the higher carb wet food in, going forward.
 
Oh, I suggest that you begin posting in the Lantus forum, so that the experienced members can help you out going forward. Read the information at the top of the forum, as you can, so you know how Lantus works and the protocols used here.
You can link the address of this thread to your first message there, so they know what has gone on last night.
 
Wow....what a long night you had!! Rumpy's looking good today though so I'm betting you would love to get a nap in!

I think you could snooze for a few hours today if you want to. He's looking great and doesn't seem to be dropping too fast
 
Take a nap! Take a nap! Believe me, you'll need it if you have any more surprises. He needs you to be clear headed. :) I hope you get some rest, from one exhausted cat mommy to another.
 
You may need to go to the vet and ask him for some cerenia and ondansetron tablets for Rumpy. It is very common for DKA kitties to be off their food when recovering and feel nauseated. It is really important to keep them eating and most DKA kitties will need a bit of help with cerenia and ondansetron to stop nausea and vomiting. I would to the vet tomorrow and ask for some. It can make a big difference. Cats that are nauseated won't eat.
Yes the diarrhoea could be from the changes to the food. You could try mixing in a teaspoon of plain boiled pumpkin into his food.. a couple of times a day....that is good for diarrhoea.. you can cook your own... just pumpkin in water and nothing else, drain and mash. Or you can buy it in cans. I think in the US, but make sure. It is only pumpkin and no additives.

I know you are sleeping, but I wanted to ask this question for whenever you get back on. Rumpys vet prescribed metronidazole (antibiotic) for his diarrhea. Is this a good med? It's different than what you suggested.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top