? HELP!! First glucose test

Status
Not open for further replies.
We'll be able to help more once we see some patterns in data :). If she's at a lower pre-shot number you will do something we call Stalling. Don't feed, wait 20 minutes and retest. If the next reading is not rising you can stall again, up to an hour total. This will move shot time 30 minutes late. If the numbers decrease, then Do Not Give Insulin. Since you're just starting, if number is not getting anywhere near 200 or higher, Do Not Give Insulin either. Until we get more data :cat:
Ok. I'm running out of lancets. Didn't realize I was gonna use so many. I only have 3 left.
 
Ginny, for now, I would agree with Yong about stalling. Don't shoot and don't feed. Wait and see if we can find someone who knows more about Lantus to help you out on this.

PS It's okay to re-use the lancets a couple of times. Generally not recommended, but it's really not going to hurt to use one a day. And now I will duck while some people yell at me for saying that.
 
Really don't be scared. Pia is fine. The only reason I'm looking for a Lantus person is because I think it's best to get your advice from them right now. But Pia's number is perfectly safe. It's a number that a non-diabetic cat would be showing.

I just don't know if it's best for you to just skip the dose completely, or to try to stall. But Pia is in no danger at all.
 
Don't be scared :bighug:. These are really good numbers for just being on insulin for 1 week, like a non diabetic kitty :cat:. It's a little difficult because this was your first day of testing and we don't know where she started for AM pre-shot test.
 
Really don't be scared. Pia is fine. The only reason I'm looking for a Lantus person is because I think it's best to get your advice from them right now. But Pia's number is perfectly safe. It's a number that a non-diabetic cat would be showing.

I just don't know if it's best for you to just skip the dose completely, or to try to stall. But Pia is in no danger at all.
Ok. I'm trying to breathe. Idk what I would do without this forum.
 
Don't be scared :bighug:. These are really good numbers for just being on insulin for 1 week, like a non diabetic kitty :cat:. It's a little difficult because this was your first day of testing and we don't know where she started for AM pre-shot test.
Ok. It's so hard calm down when you work yourself up. I'm breathing again.
 
Quick summary:
AMPS: N/A
+6 : 65 (human meter, first test)
+7 : 73
PMPS: 109
Stalling 20 mins: 106
Awaiting next step
Currently on 1.0U BID
 
Since you are new to posting, and are posting here, we suggest not shooting if kitty is under 200. So skip the dose tonight and resume tomorrow morning. In the mean time, buy some more lancets and start that spreadsheet. Pia had a great day today. :)
 
Quick question....If her numbers are still below 200 in the am, do I skip the shot? I have to work tomorrow.

Wendy and Neko gave you the official guideline in post #11 above. You can consult it tomorrow AM. I know you're very new to this. You'll learn a lot about Lantus and how it works if you read all the info stickies that are at the top of the list on the Lantus and Levemir forum. For specific dosing advice you should post there. There are many extremely knowledgeable people who can help on that forum. If you have general questions you can post on this forum. :)
 
I shot blindly the first six weeks after my CC was diagnosed. Once I started I wished I had started from the beginning. Luckily I never had trouble with her going too low.
Good morning everyone. I haven't moved over to the Lantus thread quite yet, but I wanted you all to know that Pia's morning tests were 123 and 132. Yay. So I'm gonna skip the shot. Let's pray she's reversing this disease.
 
Good morning everyone. I haven't moved over to the Lantus thread quite yet, but I wanted you all to know that Pia's morning tests were 123 and 132. Yay. So I'm gonna skip the shot. Let's pray she's reversing this disease.
This is great! Please consider setting up a spreadsheet like to one we use here. It helps us to help you when you ask for advice. :)
 
This is great! Please consider setting up a spreadsheet like to one we use here. It helps us to help you when you ask for advice. :)
Ok. As of this moment, I'm on my using my phone. My computer's in the sh*tter. Can I do it on my phone? And thank you for all the positive encouragement.
 
Ok. As of this moment, I'm on my using my phone. My computer's in the sh*tter. Can I do it on my phone? And thank you for all the positive encouragement.
Yes, I think it can be done but I'm not techie enough to know how. Maybe ask it as a separate question on here. It might also be covered in the "How To" instructional sticky for the SS.
 
You can download Google Docs and Google Drive as apps on your phone, but if there's anyway you could go to the public library, or visit a friend who will share their computer for a few minutes, it will be much easier to set it up on a computer. We also might be able to have someone set it up for you, but I'm blanking on who does that. @Yong will know. I'm sure she'll be along soon...
 
Ginny

I'd be happy to do the spreadsheet for you. Check your inbox in a few minutes (see upper right corner of this page) and you'll see a message from me.
 
You can download Google Docs and Google Drive as apps on your phone, but if there's anyway you could go to the public library, or visit a friend who will share their computer for a few minutes, it will be much easier to set it up on a computer. We also might be able to have someone set it up for you, but I'm blanking on who does that. @Yong will know. I'm sure she'll be along soon...
Yeah I knew it was Marje lol but I was hit by a sleep truck this morning and passed out for an hour or so, throwing me off schedule :facepalm:. Once it's set up for her, she should be able to manage it from her phone :cat:.
 
Yeah I knew it was Marje lol but I was hit by a sleep truck this morning and passed out for an hour or so, throwing me off schedule :facepalm:. Once it's set up for her, she should be able to manage it from her phone :cat:.

I wondered where you were this morning!
 
I can't believe it. Pia tested at 145 tonight. Gonna skip this shot too. She hasn't needed a shot since yesterday morning. I am elated. This is good, right?
 
This is very good :cat:. She may still need a tiny dose but hold off for now and try to get some extra readings during her cycle to see how's she's holding by herself.
 
I'm gonna keep testing her and I'm still gonna do a curve on Sunday.

I just realized, she takes glucosamine for her joints. Should I stop giving it to her? I read that it doesn't raise your blood sugar, but there's still not enough research.
 
If it helps her, we can work around it. There are other members who give Cosequin and don't see any major impacts on BG. Are you able to enter your previous test result in the SS?
 
Sometimes it's a balancing act to manage diabetes along with other issues. If medications, supplements, etc. are needed so kitty has quality of life then insulin needs to be dosed around that.
 
When you get home is fine. Just so we can see all the numbers on the SS :). I write all of mine down on a notepad and fill it in when I'm on computer.
 
When you get home is fine. Just so we can see all the numbers on the SS :). I write all of mine down on a notepad and fill it in when I'm on computer.
Ok. Her morning numbers were 139. She hasn't needed a shot since Wed morning and that was before I had the glucose meter. Maybe she didn't even need it then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top