Help! Fat cats +6 is 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elizabeth Lewis

Member Since 2016
Hi all, I fed fat cat about 6-7 hours ago as normal and he ate as normal, I gave him 4.4 units of prozinc, his pre shoot before was 196. He's acting completely normal, I only tested him because im home tonight and not at work. I gave him about 2 ounces of the wet food he usually eats..... I will test him again soon, he seems unphased. This is on the relion confirm meter. I'll keep an eye on him, he just seems excited that he got a mid feed snack. Also this is when his insulin usually peaks so there's that too.
 
Below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer before or around nadir is usually when we get concerned and start giving carbs to slow a steep drop or to stave off going hypoglycemic.
Take a breath, keep monitoring until he's going up again.

Have you printed out How to Handle a Hypo and do you have Karo or other syrup, or high carb gravvied food available if you need them?


AMPS ~ 196 mg/dL, 4.4 units
+6 53
 
You may consider lowering his dose when he's at that preshot. That's a bit too close for comfort.
 
Do you have a spreadsheet for Fat Cat? The best way to see whether the dose needs adjusting is by looking at all the data you have gathered with home tests. It is very hard to advise whether a dose is too high based on one reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top