? HELP - Dosing this morning

MarleyMoo

Active Member
I tested and stalled because Marley tested at 162. After 20 minutes, he is at 124. He just had a dose reduction because I believe he bounced overnight, then yesterday 2 days ago I had to give him only 1 unit because he was under 200 and I wasn't comfortable giving a full dose again. I don't want to keep giving inconsistent doses. Does this warrant another dose reduction? I know it's not under 90, but with him being at 3 units, his shot takes him down -300/-400 points to his nadir. He is on the Modified Prozinc Method

I'm still stalling for at least another test, but I don't know what his consistent dose should be.

He has access to food and an automatic feeder over night, now. He still seems to go low, though.

UPDATE - He's now at 101. Continuing to drop
 
Last edited:
Tagging @Deb & Wink (sorry Deb I'm not sure who else knows ProZinc well!) I also saw @JanetNJ on, not sure if she can offer advice.

In the meantime, stall and get another test in. Will you be around to monitor him closely or no?

I don't give PZI dosing advice, but if you don't get a reply - err on the side of caution, especially if you can't stay around to watch him. If he's still dropping at your next test, I'd consider token dose. If he's on his way up, reduced dose or full dose depending on # and if you can keep an eye on him. The inconsistent dosing probably isn't helping, but I'm not a PZI expert and don't want to steer you wrong
 
Tagging @Deb & Wink (sorry Deb I'm not sure who else knows ProZinc well!) I also saw @JanetNJ on, not sure if she can offer advice.

In the meantime, stall and get another test in. Will you be around to monitor him closely or no?

I don't give PZI dosing advice, but if you don't get a reply - err on the side of caution, especially if you can't stay around to watch him. If he's still dropping at your next test, I'd consider token dose. If he's on his way up, reduced dose or full dose depending on # and if you can keep an eye on him. The inconsistent dosing probably isn't helping, but I'm not a PZI expert and don't want to steer you wrong
Ya I don't like the inconsistent dosing and we were on an aggressive modified prozinc method journey because of suspected insulin resistance, but it seems as though he's broken through it and so we're trying to find his appropriate dose after breaking through that resistance. If I notice inconsistent dosing or bounces, I know to reduce, but I just reduced a few days ago, so unsure if I should again.
 
Ya I don't like the inconsistent dosing and we were on an aggressive modified prozinc method journey because of suspected insulin resistance, but it seems as though he's broken through it and so we're trying to find his appropriate dose after breaking through that resistance. If I notice inconsistent dosing or bounces, I know to reduce, but I just reduced a few days ago, so unsure if I should again.

Since we don't know how low he went overnight, it's hard to say whether to reduce. I suspect he might be about to bounce too.

It might be worth getting a +2/+3 in both cycles as often as you can...if he's headed drastically down, you know to keep an eye out for hypo and/or look for a +6 test since that's when nadir seems to be. Entirely possible he went below 90 last night
 
Okay, you've had a couple mornings where he's been fairly low for him. Depending on how low his nadir is this cycle, I do think a dose reduction may be a good idea. Not as much as a whole unit, maybe 2.75 or 2.5. And I would love to see a mid-cycle test in the PM, if you can manage it. Knowing how low Marley is going at night would help explain the low AMPS. It might be worth setting an alarm to get a +6 or +7. I don't know the MPM dosing method. I'm most familiar with SLGS, which advises to drop dose 0.25 of a unit every time a cat falls below 90. With those lower AMPSs, he might be dipping under 90 at night.
 
Okay, you've had a couple mornings where he's been fairly low for him. Depending on how low his nadir is this cycle, I do think a dose reduction may be a good idea. Not as much as a whole unit, maybe 2.75 or 2.5. And I would love to see a mid-cycle test in the PM, if you can manage it. Knowing how low Marley is going at night would help explain the low AMPS. It might be worth setting an alarm to get a +6 or +7. I don't know the MPM dosing method. I'm most familiar with SLGS, which advises to drop dose 0.25 of a unit every time a cat falls below 90. With those lower AMPSs, he might be dipping under 90 at night.

Thank you. I think I'll be comfortable reducing to 2.75 tonight. It's crazy, though. I know cats typically go lower over night, but I leave a good amount of food at night, so I know he's eating and it's not like he's fasting overnight.
 
Back
Top