? Help!! Dosing advice need

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Ace & Chelsea, Dec 14, 2021.

  1. Ace & Chelsea

    Ace & Chelsea Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2021
  2. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I agree I wouldn't do more than 1... Then hold that dose for several days.
     
    Ace & Chelsea likes this.
  3. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Do you have syringes with half unit marks?

    I was thinking 1.5 for tonight but if you're more comfortable with 1, that's totally fine too. I'm just glad you're getting such good results from the diet change! It's pretty obvious that Ace was getting too much insulin as well as the wrong food so now we just have to try to find a good dose he can stay on for several days without dropping too low.
     
    Ace & Chelsea likes this.
  4. Ace & Chelsea

    Ace & Chelsea Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2021
    We decided to go with the 1 U tonight to see how that effects the drop.
    Will keep SS updated. I am also glad to be getting such positive results from changing his diet!!
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    That's fine but now you should hold that 1U dose for several days. Don't increase it just because he's high in the morning because he's probably going to bounce for a few cycles. Now that he's basically starting over, we need to see what the 1U dose does once the bounce breaks
     
    Ace & Chelsea likes this.
  6. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Can you please put the link to your spreadsheet in your signature.
     
    Ace & Chelsea likes this.
  7. Ace & Chelsea

    Ace & Chelsea Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2021
    About to do his morning preshot. If we're below the 11 mmol/L should i try .5 instead of the 1.0
    He has had ketones present in the past. I havent test for ketones in a few weeks
     
  8. Ace & Chelsea

    Ace & Chelsea Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2021
    He was at 25.8. We stuck to the 1 unit.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  9. Ace & Chelsea

    Ace & Chelsea Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2021
    Ace has been reading high all day, am wondering if I should still stick to 1 unit for tonight’s dose ?
     
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Now that you know where the "Signature" is, can you go ahead and add some information for us? It keeps people from having to ask the same questions over and over again. Info like:

    Your name/Cat's name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health conditions or meds? and at the end, put the link to your spreadsheet.

    I think you could try 1.5 tonight
     
    JanetNJ and Ace & Chelsea like this.

Share This Page