Miriam Van Scott
Member Since 2020
Harriett was diagnosed May 14, 2020 and went on 2 units Lantus 2ce a day. Long story short, that was too much (according to home BG monitoring on a ReliOn Prime human meter, which my vet doesn't approve of.) Now she's on 1 unit 2ce daily, but I'm having the same problem she had on 2: she's missing every other shot because her BG is too low for insulin.
For example, she'll be at 285 at 7am so she gets her dose, then when she'd due for another shot at 7pm, her BG is only 67 so I don't give insulin. She got last night's shot, but today her morning BG was 120 so no insulin. The result is she's really only getting 1 unit every 36 hours or so. In between, her BG hasn't gone over 300 and hovers in the mid to high 200's during the day. She hasn't gone below 50 since resetting the dosage to 1 unit.
I'm hesitant to call the vet because he wants Harriett back on the Royal Canin dry (I transitioned her to wet food) and he said he thinks her 'ideal dosage' will increase to 4 units 2ce a day, which seems HUGE for a 7 lb cat! When she was on 2 units her BG would bounce from highs in the 400s to lows in the 40s, and I don't want to go back to that.
In between meals (she gets 3 a day, 1 can Sheba pate for breakfast, 1/2 for lunch, 1 for dinner) Harriett is STARVING!!!! She sits beside her food bowl literally all day mewing to be fed. Her body feels like a skeleton wrapped in fur. It's heartbreaking, but the vet also said she should be getting less food, not more, until she's regulated.
Help!!!! I don't know what to do about her 'missing' shots, the dosage, feedings, etc. ANY help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
For example, she'll be at 285 at 7am so she gets her dose, then when she'd due for another shot at 7pm, her BG is only 67 so I don't give insulin. She got last night's shot, but today her morning BG was 120 so no insulin. The result is she's really only getting 1 unit every 36 hours or so. In between, her BG hasn't gone over 300 and hovers in the mid to high 200's during the day. She hasn't gone below 50 since resetting the dosage to 1 unit.
I'm hesitant to call the vet because he wants Harriett back on the Royal Canin dry (I transitioned her to wet food) and he said he thinks her 'ideal dosage' will increase to 4 units 2ce a day, which seems HUGE for a 7 lb cat! When she was on 2 units her BG would bounce from highs in the 400s to lows in the 40s, and I don't want to go back to that.
In between meals (she gets 3 a day, 1 can Sheba pate for breakfast, 1/2 for lunch, 1 for dinner) Harriett is STARVING!!!! She sits beside her food bowl literally all day mewing to be fed. Her body feels like a skeleton wrapped in fur. It's heartbreaking, but the vet also said she should be getting less food, not more, until she's regulated.
Help!!!! I don't know what to do about her 'missing' shots, the dosage, feedings, etc. ANY help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
