HELP! DKA kitty, preshot 147

Status
Not open for further replies.
And getting his weight back is also important. How much do you have to go to get him back to his normal weight?
He surprisingly never lost any weight. If anything, he's a little heavier (maybe because of the fluids?) He's 13.6lbs right now. Was 12.7 before all of this
 
I don't like the way the cyproheptadine (appetite stimulant) is affecting Oscar. I also read urine retention is a side effect, and given that he had a UTI this concerns me. I've given him fluids, syringed him some water and I've seen him drinking a little bit...yet I've only seen him pee once. He also seems a bit more tired and eyes look a little glassy. He's eating really good on his own, so I feel like it's working but I definitely feel like he's having side effects.

Should I take him off it and see how he does eating on his own without it? Or would that be stupid at this point?
 
How much cypro are you giving? I have heard of people literally giving a crumb. I would keep on with the Cerenia for now.
 
Hey everyone, just want to give an update, also gave a few questions here. :)

So Oscar is doing really really good. And quicker than I could have ever dreamed of. He's walking, talking and acting like himself again. He's responding to his name again and just looks a lot better. Every ketone test has been negative. I can't believe he's come this far, I honestly didn't think he would make it and neither did his doctors. To be honest I was nervous to share with you guys just how bad off he was, and to even share his labs because I was worried you would all tell me I was prolonging his death if I was completely truthful. It was scary.
Since he's started eating again, he's been eating more and more every day and he's about back to eating probably more than he should. We've been offering him everything still, including treats and gravy foods. He's accepting all of it.
I'm wondering how long I should be allowing him to eat whatever he wants. I've been increasing his insulin dose to meet those needs (more on that later after I update his SS), but I'm wondering when the time to switch back to low carb would be. He eats his Dr. Elsey's more than anything, so that's not bad but I'm still offering wet food and treats I normally shouldn't to make sure he's getting 1.5x his normal caloric intake. I stopped syringe feeding him yesterday (last time was Sunday night).

Also, fluids. How long should I keep doing fluids for? I've been doing 50ml every night. Should I stop now that he's doing better? I think probably not, but not too sure, better ask the experts (you all). Finish the bag?

Going to update the SS and post an update and what we've been doing with his shots/doses and how his numbers have been. Forewarning, I have a feeling we may be dropping low tonight. Again I'll get into all this after I update everything..just wanted to get these few things out of the way and send everyone an update.

As a side note, me, Oscar and my boyfriend thank you all so so much for being such a great support system through all of this. God knows I probably would have lost my mind and made bad choices without all of you. This is one of those things I never thought would happen to us, and it hit us like a ton of bricks.
 
Oh and I should mention he's been off of the cyproheptadine and Cerenia, he's eating completely on his own without any help. I don't think the cypro really helped that much to begin with, and I think the Cerenia helped him start eating on his own again, but he hasn't needed it since to keep it up. No signs of nausea. :)

Still doing the antacid though and plan to keep that up until we run out. Obviously same with the antibiotic, his round will be up on Sunday night.
 
Um Chloe, we knew how bad it was, even if you didn't share any labs with us.
So glad that you and your boyfriend were able to juggle your schedules and do some at home intensive care.

It was touch and go there for a while, and even if WE did not say that to you, we knew it. Didn't want to depress you and cause you any more anxiety than you were already going through.
 
You are rockin' it Oscar. Keep making your mom and dad proud!!
upload_2020-3-4_20-9-4.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-3-4_20-9-4.png
    upload_2020-3-4_20-9-4.png
    169.6 KB · Views: 210
Um Chloe, we knew how bad it was, even if you didn't share any labs with us.
So glad that you and your boyfriend were able to juggle your schedules and do some at home intensive care.

It was touch and go there for a while, and even if WE did not say that to you, we knew it. Didn't want to depress you and cause you any more anxiety than you were already going through.
Well in that case, I sincerely appreciate it haha. I was a wreck. I ended up being able to miss Monday and Tuesday, so I was home all day with him :). I just started my life back up again today, lots of catching up to do but I would have been way too nervous to leave him so soon so it was worth it. He has been doing so good I was only just a little bit nervous to leave him for a few hours today, and he was super happy when I came home.
I updated my SS, we went from 450 to 283 in two hours, down to 150 in just one more. Prepared for a big bounce in the morning. Still trying to figure out the right dose for him. I know 107 (his low it seems for tonight) isn't too low, but it makes me nervous when I know I'll be gone for a part of his cycle. I did pull back his shot time 1 hour tonight, so maybe that has something to do with it, I wanted to make it so I'm home until close to his +5 in the morning so I can keep him in the blue and feel confident about it. I know you probably don't feel comfortable giving ProZinc dosing advice, I'm mostly just ranting. I think the DKA, subq fluids etc have been making his numbers less predictable than they have been in the past, I suspect it's just going to take some (careful) trial and error.

Talked to the vet just now, they said with no ketones and him eating and drinking normally I should stop the fluids. Makes me a little nervous, I feel like they were the catalyst in getting him to negative ketones. But it makes sense!
 
I know you probably don't feel comfortable giving ProZinc dosing advice,
Actually I do give prozinc dosing advice. Been helping several people the last few months.

Oscar is looking ok on the 4.75 U dose, but he could be a bit better. There is definitely room there to increase the dose. But for now, you have a lovely string of blues going, so I'd hold the 4.75U dose for 6 cycles. I'd like to see if Oscar regains a bit of the duration if you hold the dose for a bit longer.
 
Huzzah for Oscar! Deb's giving you the good dosing advice. I'll just remind you to be ready to drop that dose when you get Oscar back to eating low carb food. Yes, it was touch and go. It's thanks to you and your boyfriend's good care that Oscar is getting better. You are both rock stars.
 
@Chloe007 , When you get a chance, would you please start a new thread? Please link this one at the top of the post for history and continuity.

New thread may either be in the Feline Health (Welcome & Main) forum or over in the Prozinc ISG. Your choice.

Hope you, Oscar and the BF are doing well.

p.s. SS updates soon? Please? So I can look at the last 2 days of data?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top