Help! Curve is steady at 230...do I give second dose of insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

olivercoyne

Member Since 2018
We have been doing BG checks all day on my kitty.
Insulin (2 units) was at 630am. First test at noon, his BG was 89, second test at 145pm, BG was at 125, third test at 337pm, BG at 225, just did another test at 450pm and BG is at 236.
We have one more test strip and will test in an hour..he is due for his 2nd shot of the day.
Based on these Curve results, do i reduce from 2 units to 1 unit, or skip it until tomorrow morning?
 
Another question: any history of ketones or DKA?

With no history of ketones, a skip might be safest, given that you only have one strip left.

It's a little hard to say much about dose going forward right now-- depends on the insulin, depends on how frequently you test on a typical day, and there isn't much data on your kitty yet.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top