? HELP! Constipation, loss of appetite and a stinky leaking annas

Evey

Member Since 2024
Evey's poo poo has been on a smaller size for about a week and starting on the evening on Dec 19, she had a really hard time going to #2. she was straining so hard that after she made the effort, she had to lie down on the couch for a while. She did that about 3-4 times and she drooled a bit so we decided to take her to the vet in the midnight. After we got home from the vet, she went #2 immediately but it's also small.

The next morning we woke up founding her vomit on the floor and we found some liquid coming out of her annas. She lost her appetite and only ate about half of 25g for one meal. we were worried so we took her to the vet again. The x-ray showed that there is a poo on a bigger size in the intestine. The vet said her annal gland is very dirty and the stuff coming out of it looks pasty. The vet squeezed her annal gland to clean it a bit. It was so uncomfortable that Evey screamed extremely loud and scratched and bite us which never happened before. Her SAA level is high as 80. The vet prescribed some antibiotics and lactulose.

We fed her lactulose 5ml 3 times now but she still hasn’t gone #2 yet (it’s hard to feed her the lactulose, so some of it leaked out of her mouth). Today her appetite got worse. She ate about 50g yesterday but she only ate about 25g today. There is still stinky brownish stuff (kind of smell like poo) coming out of annas and I also found that her annas area (maybe it's annal gland?) is swollen a bit . I cleaned it with saline water and put some ointment on it. What would cause the leaking? Is it from the squeezing her annal glands?

She has been laying on the bed the whole time (at lease she is not hiding underneath the bed). I’m getting really worried. Since she has no appetite, I can't really feed her Trilostane which needs to be taken with meal and I have to reduce her insulin dose to 0.5U.

Does she need enema or can I wait a couple more days? How long should the lactulose take effect? Is there anything else that I can try to help her to go #2?

Thank you
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB
"It is frustrating" when we see an empty box, it happened to me just last week with one of my cats, the Lactulose does not work right away, you can put it in the food is tasteless, but it seems that 5ml is quite a lot, you do not want that when it does it's effect about 3-5 days you will have a major diarrhea issue, and that's not good either especially with a swollen gland, 2ml twice daily is more effective and safe, you can also try MIRALAX soft laxative, over the counter, 1/4 tsp twice a day in the food as well, when Coco is constipated, I switch from one to the other every day, and in about 3 days , she poos , also change of food can cause constipation. like liver and giblets, hoping that she has a wet can diet, place 1 tsp of water in each meal to lubricate the intestines, I would wait for the enema, as long as she is doing some poop, the antibiotic will help the blockage from the gland, the enema, Vets do it with sedation and is very expensive, and stressful, for her, I happen to have this issue now and then since Coco was a baby, also if this a usual situation for her (constipation) , you can add to her food once a day Slippery Elm Bark, it helps lubricate the intestines, Corky my diabetic cat, had the issue in May with higher glucose numbers than usual and t continued to get higher, I was going to take her to the vet the next day and in the morning, she woke up with a red anus, with gooie red bloody stuff coming out and a small hole next to her tooshie, I rushed her in to the vet, and it was a Swollen full gland that burst, they cleaned it up, she had two holes, I had no idea cats suffered from swollen glands, that it was a dog issue, she went home with antibiotic and iodine to clean the area, but he was constipated for a few days do to pain and swelling, so I think you should hold on for a few days, if she stops pooping all together then take her in, cats hide pain very well, but she is in pain when she tries to poo she pushes and that hurst her. let us know how it goes, we would like to hear from you, Is she diabetic? 🤗
 
I’m so sorry to hear about Evey’s constipation. I see Maria already covered your question about Miralax.

I have been through 3 or 4 anal gland ruptures with Bell, and each time they’ve had to squeeze the glands to get out any infection. Bell also made horrible noises and tried to bite. It must be very painful for them. It was awful. I’ve never heard her made such sounds before.

Cats express their anal glands when they poop, so if they are constipated or if they have diarrhea (with no bulk to cause the anal glands to express) the fluid in there can build up and eventually rupture. Bell’s first rupture happened after she had been constipated for a long time and her gland got very swollen. When the vet tried to manually express it, it ruptured. The other times happened on their own because I don’t think the first rupture healed correctly.

If it were me and I noticed the discharge and swelling, I would bring Evey into the vet to see what they think about the constipation and have them express her anal glands before they get too swollen.

I know less about the constipation side of things, except that miralax did work after a day or two with Bell. After she did go, I started adding a bit of psyllium husk to her food to help bulk up her stools so it would express her anal glands better. I wouldn’t do that while she’s constipated tho. I’ve heard other people have success with miralax and using canned pumpkin as well for constipation. That’s hard if she won’t eat, tho. Maria has a lot more experience with dealing with constipated cats, so she can walk you through her protocol (thank you Maria).
 
Welcome to FDMB
"It is frustrating" when we see an empty box, it happened to me just last week with one of my cats, the Lactulose does not work right away, you can put it in the food is tasteless, but it seems that 5ml is quite a lot, you do not want that when it does it's effect about 3-5 days you will have a major diarrhea issue, and that's not good either especially with a swollen gland, 2ml twice daily is more effective and safe, you can also try MIRALAX soft laxative, over the counter, 1/4 tsp twice a day in the food as well, when Coco is constipated, I switch from one to the other every day, and in about 3 days , she poos , also change of food can cause constipation. like liver and giblets, hoping that she has a wet can diet, place 1 tsp of water in each meal to lubricate the intestines, I would wait for the enema, as long as she is doing some poop, the antibiotic will help the blockage from the gland, the enema, Vets do it with sedation and is very expensive, and stressful, for her, I happen to have this issue now and then since Coco was a baby, also if this a usual situation for her (constipation) , you can add to her food once a day Slippery Elm Bark, it helps lubricate the intestines, Corky my diabetic cat, had the issue in May with higher glucose numbers than usual and t continued to get higher, I was going to take her to the vet the next day and in the morning, she woke up with a red anus, with gooie red bloody stuff coming out and a small hole next to her tooshie, I rushed her in to the vet, and it was a Swollen full gland that burst, they cleaned it up, she had two holes, I had no idea cats suffered from swollen glands, that it was a dog issue, she went home with antibiotic and iodine to clean the area, but he was constipated for a few days do to pain and swelling, so I think you should hold on for a few days, if she stops pooping all together then take her in, cats hide pain very well, but she is in pain when she tries to poo she pushes and that hurst her. let us know how it goes, we would like to hear from you, Is she diabetic? 🤗
She has diabetes and Cushing which makes me really worried. I didn't know the Lactuslo will take 3-5 days to take effect. she usually eats 200g a day but she only eats about 30g total in a day now. can she wait for 3-5 days based on the amount of food she eats?

based on your description, if I understand it correctly, the leaking stuff is caused by annal gland repture? there's was no blood in the liquid. i'm sorry for the disgusting stinky pictures but is this swollen annal gland? are they.reptured?
 

Attachments

  • mmexport1766301025093.jpg
    mmexport1766301025093.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 14
  • 20251222_001915.jpg
    20251222_001915.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 13
I’m so sorry to hear about Evey’s constipation. I see Maria already covered your question about Miralax.

I have been through 3 or 4 anal gland ruptures with Bell, and each time they’ve had to squeeze the glands to get out any infection. Bell also made horrible noises and tried to bite. It must be very painful for them. It was awful. I’ve never heard her made such sounds before.

Cats express their anal glands when they poop, so if they are constipated or if they have diarrhea (with no bulk to cause the anal glands to express) the fluid in there can build up and eventually rupture. Bell’s first rupture happened after she had been constipated for a long time and her gland got very swollen. When the vet tried to manually express it, it ruptured. The other times happened on their own because I don’t think the first rupture healed correctly.

If it were me and I noticed the discharge and swelling, I would bring Evey into the vet to see what they think about the constipation and have them express her anal glands before they get too swollen.

I know less about the constipation side of things, except that miralax did work after a day or two with Bell. After she did go, I started adding a bit of psyllium husk to her food to help bulk up her stools so it would express her anal glands better. I wouldn’t do that while she’s constipated tho. I’ve heard other people have success with miralax and using canned pumpkin as well for constipation. That’s hard if she won’t eat, tho. Maria has a lot more experience with dealing with constipated cats, so she can walk you through her protocol (thank you Maria).
i already took her to the vet. the vet just said clean the annal glands and put some ointment on it. does swollen annal galnds stop her from going#2?
 
I can’t tell if that is a rupture or not, but her glands look really swollen to me, especially on the left. The nasty smelling fluid in there is what cats normally discharge when they poop.

I would get her to a vet as soon as you can, that looks really painful for her. The pain from the swollen glands may also be contributing to her not going the bathroom.

So sorry you are dealing with this, I know how stressful it is
 
Since we know she is diabetic, is she dosing? do you home test? if is her BG abnormal? higher numbers, ? if so that is because of the infection, she should've had a fever as well, and yes that is a rapturing gland, Corky's was disgusting she had two holes down there, after she started the antibiotics was when it ruptured completely, if you have iodine at home, clean the are twice daily, without rubbing, just tapping, it helps the infection, it doesn't look like it has raptured completely, how long has she been on antibiotics, it should be for 7 days fluid? it might rapture completely, but the vet should of squeezed the gland till it had burst, maybe it was just not that full but infected, just continue to clean the and if you have a neck collar put it on her, the less she licks herself the better.
 
i already took her to the vet. the vet just said clean the annal glands and put some ointment on it. does swollen annal galnds stop her from going#2?
yes of course, she's in pain, the intestine and her anus is swollen, its like having hemorrhoids to a human, it is very painful, make sure you reduce the amount of Lactulose to 1ml twice a day, 5ml is way too much, give her time as I said as long as she goes a bit is good, but is best she does not lick the are that irritates her Moro
 
Last edited:
Since we know she is diabetic, is she dosing? do you home test? if is her BG abnormal? higher numbers, ? if so that is because of the infection, she should've had a fever as well, and yes that is a rapturing gland, Corky's was disgusting she had two holes down there, after she started the antibiotics was when it ruptured completely, if you have iodine at home, clean the are twice daily, without rubbing, just tapping, it helps the infection, it doesn't look like it has raptured completely, how long has she been on antibiotics, it should be for 7 days fluid? it might rapture completely, but the vet should of squeezed the gland till it had burst, maybe it was just not that full but infected, just continue to clean the and if you have a neck collar put it on her, the less she licks herself the better.
Her preshot has been between 10.8-11.8 and her +5 was 8.6 (154.8mg/dL) last night. I started antibiotics last night. Her butt area looks worse this morning and super sensitive. I tried to clean there this morning but she was hissing at me. it must be really painful.
 

Attachments

  • 20251222_062639.jpg
    20251222_062639.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 9
Her preshot has been between 10.8-11.8 and her +5 was 8.6 (154.8mg/dL) last night. I started antibiotics last night. Her butt area looks worse this morning and super sensitive. I tried to clean there this morning but she was hissing at me. it must be really painful.
Do you have a neck cone, if you clean it and she wipes it off, it will not help, aside from the medication you are putting on, she's licking it, you need the collar
a clear one as long as she does not lick the area to avoid more irritation, the cone also helps you to clean the area without any trouble,
1766358493400.png
any pet store will have them in stock
 
Do you have a neck cone, if you clean it and she wipes it off, it will not help, aside from the medication you are putting on, she's licking it, you need the collar
a clear one as long as she does not lick the area to avoid more irritation, the cone also helps you to clean the area without any trouble,View attachment 75969 any store will have them in stock
yes, i already put it on her yesterday. how bad is her condition? how bad is her butt? Do I need to take her to the vet immediately? Sorry, i've never been through this before, so I don't know if it's an emergency or something I can wait.
 
yes, i already put it on her yesterday. how bad is her condition? how bad is her butt? Do I need to take her to the vet immediately? Sorry, i've never been through this before, so I don't know if it's an emergency or something I can wait.need to do
 
The very first thing we need to do is: Step back, breath in, breath out, cats are very sensitive to stress,,you stress she stresses. If you are cleaning the area, she’s taking the antibiotic, which will not be in her system for 3 days, then she’ll turn around she will be ok, just monitor her BG reading, insert them on the cells, by tomorrow she’ll begin to see better numbers, go into Corky’s spreadsheet to 05/19/2025 that’s when I began to notice something was wrong, the next day on the 20th I ok her to the vet, he cleaned out the area gave him meds to lower the fever and antibiotics if you noticed his began to look good again, he also was not eating because of the fever, she will be ok give her a bit of time and lots of cuddles. Check the dates I gave you, you’ll see that you can relax so she can relax,,you’re doing great, yiu got this!!
 
The very first thing we need to do is: Step back, breath in, breath out, cats are very sensitive to stress,,you stress she stresses. If you are cleaning the area, she’s taking the antibiotic, which will not be in her system for 3 days, then she’ll turn around she will be ok, just monitor her BG reading, insert them on the cells, by tomorrow she’ll begin to see better numbers, go into Corky’s spreadsheet to 05/19/2025 that’s when I began to notice something was wrong, the next day on the 20th I ok her to the vet, he cleaned out the area gave him meds to lower the fever and antibiotics if you noticed his began to look good again, he also was not eating because of the fever, she will be ok give her a bit of time and lots of cuddles. Check the dates I gave you, you’ll see that you can relax so she can relax,,you’re doing great, yiu got this!!
I checked Corky' spreadsheet. did corky have constipation last time? That numbers changed very fast. You're right. I need to relax. Evey's belly feels really full now and she hasn't gone #2 for 57 hours. I just don't know how long I can wait for this.
 
yes, i already put it on her yesterday. how bad is her condition? how bad is her butt? Do I need to take her to the vet immediately? Sorry, i've never been through this before, so I don't know if it's an emergency or something I can wait.
I would be taking her into the vet again ASAP. I don't think this is life threatening for her, but I would imagine it is extremely painful. Those glands look swollen to the point where I'm not sure they will express naturally even if she has a normal poop. Is there a way for you to call your vet and maybe share a photo? It looks like there is infection and fluid in the glands that will need to get out. Bell's looked similar before they ruptured (during the manual expression at the vet 😥 )
 
I checked Corky' spreadsheet. did corky have constipation last time? That numbers changed very fast. You're right. I need to relax. Evey's belly feels really full now and she hasn't gone #2 for 57 hours. I just don't know how long I can wait for this.
You said she was doing tiny poops! If it’s been that long she might have Ann obstruction you might want to take her to the vet, let me tag another member that has incredible medical knowledge on these issues. Be calm
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
And yes he was constipated, Corky really pooped good 4 days after, and Coco has constipation issues just last week she spend 4 days without pooping an she was taking the Lactulose and Miralax, finally the 5th day she pulled out a thick thick long poop. The food if dry is also an issue, put 1tsp of water in every meal, minimal oil 1/4 tsp in the food lubricates the swollen intestines
 
Last edited:
The good news is that once they get the infection out, the rupture healed up surprisingly fast for Bell, as nasty as it looked at the time.
 
One other great piece of advice that Sienne mentions in the above thread is that the vet should be able to run a culture on the infection, so that they are able to pick out an antibiotic that fights that particular infection.
 
You said she was doing tiny poops! If it’s been that long she might have Ann obstruction you might want to take her to the vet, let me tag another member that has incredible medical knowledge on these issues. Be calm
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
sorry, i didn't say clearly. that tiny poo was 56hours ago. the annus obstruction is caused by the swollen annus gland?
 
sorry, i didn't say clearly. that tiny poo was 56hours ago. the annus obstruction is caused by the swollen annus gland?
I would think that the swollen anal gland might be the result of the constipation (her not being able to poop and discharge the fluid in her anal glands). But at this point, if it is really painful for her, it may be contributing to her not going the bathroom.
 
sorry, i didn't say clearly. that tiny poo was 56hours ago. the annus obstruction is caused by the swollen annus gland?
Yes sweety, she could also may have a UTI infection as well Seth is right about an extended culture to see if there’s another infection that may need a different antibiotic
 
Corky’s healed within a week or so and he had two holes, big ones next to his anus it ruptured thru the skin once that happened the healing started and his BG began to lower right away
 
And yes he was constipated, Corky really pooped good 4 days after, and Coco has constipation issues just last week she spend 4 days without pooping an she was taking the Lactulose and Miralax, finally the 5th day she pulled out a thick thick long poop. The food if dry is also an issue, put 1tsp of water in every meal, minimal oil 1/4 tsp in the food lubricates the swollen intestines
i fed her wet food but she only ate 30g yesterday. i also added water in food. she drank about 96ml yesterday. but she only drank 22.9ml this morning so far. i have to feed her food and water or she won't eat or drink.

i tried to clean her butt this morning but it's very sensitive and I didn't get to clean it much.
 
Yes sweety, she could also may have a UTI infection as well Seth is right about an extended culture to see if there’s another infection that may need a different antibiotic
i hope she doesn't have UTI infection. maybe I should take her to the vet
 
One important thing I must say, you need to relax, stop counting grams, over supervising will make you crazy, take it one day at a time, your baby needs you whole, you get sick, she will not have you to take care of her, remember you are filtering all those feelings to her, just cuddle, lover her as she knows you do, give her another day, I’ve been in your shoes, I was at the point of a breakdown, literally! And then everything fell into place, take a break, sleep, tomorrow is another day, your love for her will make her strong :bighug: :bighug: 🥰
 
Wait another day for the antibiotic begins to take effect, if you research you will see that every antibiotic does not start to take effect in the system until 3 days after the first dose
 
One important thing I must say, you need to relax, stop counting grams, over supervising will make you crazy, take it one day at a time, your baby needs you whole, you get sick, she will not have you to take care of her, remember you are filtering all those feelings to her, just cuddle, lover her as she knows you do, give her another day, I’ve been in your shoes, I was at the point of a breakdown, literally! And then everything fell into place, take a break, sleep, tomorrow is another day, your love for her will make her strong :bighug: :bighug: 🥰
Thank you Maria~ i get stressed out very easily especially when it comes to my baby girl.

I called the vet and he suggested doing enema. is it safe to do it with swollen annus glands?
 
I do not know that answer, but when tge vet sugested it, for Corky once I was hesitant, because he was going to be sedated and being diabetic I was concerned, but it’s up to your discretion, I personally at the time couldn’t afford the cost, and it happened that the next day he pooped, you know, this is personal but I can say that I am bipolar, and I went thru so many emotions, I cried till I had no more tears, I would have panic attacks, bombarded this forum till my finger tips hurt, I feel you, but the I realized that at the end everything turned out just fine, and it was Corky that was suffering my behavior of craziness. You got this! Your love for her got this, take a sleeping pill if you need to, you will think easier in the morning. I get up at 6:00 AM E.T. Post us how her morning is, we are here for you🥰🌹
 
I do not know that answer, but when tge vet sugested it, for Corky once I was hesitant, because he was going to be sedated and being diabetic I was concerned, but it’s up to your discretion, I personally at the time couldn’t afford the cost, and it happened that the next day he pooped, you know, this is personal but I can say that I am bipolar, and I went thru so many emotions, I cried till I had no more tears, I would have panic attacks, bombarded this forum till my finger tips hurt, I feel you, but the I realized that at the end everything turned out just fine, and it was Corky that was suffering my behavior of craziness. You got this! Your love for her got this, take a sleeping pill if you need to, you will think easier in the morning. I get up at 6:00 AM E.T. Post us how her morning is, we are here for you🥰🌹
SHE JUST POO!! The poo is soft but She made a sound when she pooed. is it because of the swollen glands that make this process painful? She wants to lick her butt after poo. amd she is in hiding mode now. good thing is she finally poo!
 
See! I knew she would you can wipe her with a warm wipe if you have some, the best is just to come! If you can buy some iodine and tab it with a tissue it helps heal her and the infection Congratulations She’s a Champ, and so are you, sleep tight😴
 
Her BG is improving, try tomorrow to get more tests in we want to see how the antibiotic is evolving and fighting the infection like 3 -4 more test during the day. I’m please for the both of you, I can’t see you but I just know there’s a smile of on your face😉❤️
 
Last edited:
I believe I told you to ask the vet for MIRATZ to open her appetite, Clover has gone thru pain and still is is normal for her not to have much appetite, she does have to have at least a few spoonfuls of food before her shots though so give her what she likes but not too much since is high carbs then during the day give her several snacks or some food at least 3-4 times during the day, test 2 hours after shot, relax and rest, she’s fine, you need your rest as well
 
She will be oozing stuff for several days until all that stuff comes out, as you see it drying up and when she’s asleep next to you you can remove the cone and when she’s eats of course, but don’t let lick herself there so she can heal faster , she will start to create a bit of a scab, do not remove it, tap the iodine on it it will fall by itself, good night sweety go rest next to her put a towel under her so she won’t stain your bedding
 
Good morning! How's Clover this morning and how are you?
Good morning~ Her appetite is coming back a bit but still not eating enough. Her preshot drops down to 149.4 which is an improvement. Her butt smells not as stinky as yesterday and it seems there's no liquid coming out of her butt anymore! Thank God! I don't want to change my bedsheet anymore. I have been doing it every day in the last three days. I still struggle to feed her antibiotics. she hates that medicine. But overall, she's a lot better. and she's better, I am better lol
 
Great news !! Definitely she’s healing tge smell will go away apparently it all came put, there’s still some fluid left , Corky had that gross smell for almost a week, every day was less, keep wiping twice a day with a warm wet wipe or tissue without rubbing the area, have you tabbed iodine? It does not burn her, not inside but around tge area, keep the cone on for at least 2 more days, giving her some relief while you’re watching her eating and sleeping soundly, blue BG Is good,,the antibiotic is working, I’m sure you feel much better now, see, you’re a great mommie!
 
So glad she (and you) are feeling better! I’m no expert, but that looks less inflamed than your other picture. Her glands are definitely still swollen. Hopefully she can get some of the fluid out the next time she poops!
 
I'm very happy that she is getting better. She even walks around the house like a patrol.

@CORKY @Seth&Bell Thank you so much for your help. I wouldn't have done it without your help. I'm really appreciated
 
That’s what we are here for to make sure you as well as your precious fur baby, help you in this journey to a healthier cat, please keep posting, we are here for you
 
Back
Top