Jenni
Member Since 2015
I'm back again....
Smudges is now being treated for IBD. I've had to change his diet to help IBD but now his diabetes is getting out of control. His BG numbers are rarely below 400 since the switch--mostly in the 500-600 range. He is also on Budesonide to help with IBD symptoms. The medicine and diet change are improving the IBD but I need to get a handle on his diabetes again.
I've recently increased his Lantus to 2.5 units twice daily and his BG barely changes throughout the day! The vet says I can increase to 3 units but I'm increasing it slowly. I don't want him to go into hypo again.
I can't believe his diet change makes this much of a difference. He has also lost some weight recently so I was told to let him eat as much as he wants to get his weight back up.
I'm freaking out! He has never received this much insulin before or had BG so high. Does anyone have experience treating both IBD and diabetes at the same time? I need some help!
Smudges is now being treated for IBD. I've had to change his diet to help IBD but now his diabetes is getting out of control. His BG numbers are rarely below 400 since the switch--mostly in the 500-600 range. He is also on Budesonide to help with IBD symptoms. The medicine and diet change are improving the IBD but I need to get a handle on his diabetes again.
I've recently increased his Lantus to 2.5 units twice daily and his BG barely changes throughout the day! The vet says I can increase to 3 units but I'm increasing it slowly. I don't want him to go into hypo again.
I can't believe his diet change makes this much of a difference. He has also lost some weight recently so I was told to let him eat as much as he wants to get his weight back up.
I'm freaking out! He has never received this much insulin before or had BG so high. Does anyone have experience treating both IBD and diabetes at the same time? I need some help!