Is he taking an appetite stimulant or cerenia for nausea? If he seems interested in food but backs away he could be nauseous.Ok so vet seemed to come to terms with the fact that I'm not going to bring him in. A feeding tube is another $600-$800 so NO THANKS...but she said to compromise let's give him another day and then after that just force him a small amount, enough to get food in his system but not so much that he's going to stay averse to the food.
I'll go back up if he eats but I don't want to risk pushing him too low if he doesn't eat.So glad to hear of the negative ketones! Definitely keep checking...once they've had ketones once, they are more prone to them and right now with the lowered insulin and the no food, he's at prime risk to develop ketones again very quickly.
I'm checking out Bandit's numbers for today and it seems he stayed pretty flat. I'd definitely want to bring his dose back up to the one that was getting you some action the other night, but you would want to make sure he had food on board for that. The numbers you are getting are certainly better than blacks, but pinks and yellows are way better than pinks and reds.
If I recall, you were syringe feeding when you gave the 3.5 u dose yesterday. Were you able to syringe feed only a small portion of a can of wet food or quite a bit? If it was very little then you will very likely be OK giving 2 u tonight.Ok so I don't know if he ate but I'm thinking it might be ok to go up to at least 2 units since he's so high again...what do you guys think?
We are not going to syringe feed tonight...it seems like he is showing more interest in food so we'll give it to tomorrow morning.If I recall, you were syringe feeding when you gave the 3.5 u dose yesterday. Were you able to syringe feed only a small portion of a can of wet food or quite a bit? If it was very little then you will very likely be OK giving 2 u tonight.
I'd continue with the baby food if he tolerates it. It's easy to syringe and is often used in these circumstances. In my opinion you've given your vet's advice not to syringe feed enough of a trial. Bandit's health is more important.Ok we gave Bandit a small amount of baby food this morning. Maybe 20-30mL but that makes me feel like at least he got a bit of food in him...upped his dose to 2.5 since he did eat a bit
Have you been able to get a ketone test today?I talked to another vet today and she said just skip the morning meal and keep trying to offer food throughout the day. Give the entyce in the evening and then syringe feed at night if we need to. Try not to force too much if we can avoid but she's ok with skipping one meal a day and then syringing once a day.
Yea negative!Have you been able to get a ketone test today?
Yea negative!
He won't go too low if you didn't give insulin.... But he does need food.His BG was at 160 this morning so I didn't give him a shot. We are doing our best not to force him to eat. He showed some interest in the food but then he just smells it and walks away. I put out 4 different foods today...DH is going to get some baby food and just syringe him like 1 or 2 full syringes so he gets some sugar in him and doesn't go too low
I agree with this. Have you tried tuna (no garlic or onion!) or baked chicken breast?He won't go too low if you didn't give insulin.... But he does need food.
I did not retest but he didn't really eat last night and I did give him 2.5 units so I thought it might be ok. DH is checking ketones still so I'm not too worried yet. He has been acting more normal than ever since he got sick...and considering he hasn't eaten I'm thinking maybe pancreatitis is subsiding or something.That blue number this AM seems out of the ordinary. Did you retest immediately to see whether it was a wonky strip. It's best to avoid a "no shot" with a recent DKA. Even a token dose of 1 u could work.
What awesome news!!!!Hello everyone! I wanted to give everyone an update on how Bandit is doing since you all have been so helpful.
I was gone this weekend so DH was holding down the fort for me which is why his stuff isn't logged. On Saturday Bandit licked the gravy off a plate of fresh food but didn't chew any of it but that gave us hope. Sunday he didn't really care to eat but yesterday when I got home from work he was acting very hungry so I put some temptations treats in front of him and he ate them all up. I put more and he ate those too! So I grabbed some wet food he hadn't had before and he sniffed it and wouldn't eat it. Then ate some more temptations. That's the most he's eaten since he got sick!
Well today I left out some dry food for him and he ate almost all of it at some point between 4-6 we think. DH came home and he ate some in front of him so he put out some wet food and Bandit ate a decent amount of it! Then around 7:15 I took his blood to give him a dose and he went to the kitchen like it was dinner time. I got him a small can of food AND HE ATE IT!!
I'm so happy I could cry right now but I don't want to get ahead of myself. Hopefully he keeps eating like today and then we can get him back on his normal food and on routine insulin.
PS. His ketones have been negative the entire time except for yesterday morning (they were small) but they are back to negative now