pookiepura
Member Since 2010
Hello everyone. First of all, let me give you a little backstory about my cat Sassy. She was diagnosed last August as the result of me taking her to the vet with a terrible urinary tract infection. Her BG levels at the time were hovering very close to 500. The vet started her out on Vetsulin and we started with a small dose of 2 units twice a day. I also completely changed her diet. She was a kitty that I just left a bowl of whatever kind of dry food I had out all day and let her eat. She was also 18 pounds at the time. I spent a lot of time researching her food and began to give her Fancy Feast wet twice a day (the kind without gravy). I also bought her some Wellness Core because of the protein levels but she is not a big fan so she doesn't eat too much of it.
Anyway, her BG levels were still terrible so the vet slowly increased it until she was getting 6 units twice a day. She said she didn't think it would make a difference if I gave her 12 units a day so she switched her over to Lantus which is quite a bit more expensive but she said we would only use a small amount. Well, this has proven to be untrue as well because I had to rush her back to the vet Friday morning with another bad bladder infection. She was crying because she was in such pain and could not urinate at all, just bleed everywhere. She got a shot and some antibiotics to take and the vet said to start giving her 4 units of Lantus twice a day and gradually keep raising the number of units over the next few days. Keep raising it to what? She said that one cat that she was treating was currently doing 16 units twice a day and was resistant to it. She seems to think that is Sassy's problem as well. I really cannot keep buying huge amounts of insulin for over $100 a bottle. That is just too much of an expense considering the cost of test strips, food that I have never had to budget for in the past, needles, constant trips to the vet (which also causes quite a strain with my job--they can understand me having to come in late if my child needs to go to the doctor, but they aren't quite as understanding about a cat that I have to take to the vet twice in one week). I'm sorry to vent about the cost but it is really killing me. Two visits over the course of one week have cost me over $300 and sadly this has been going on since last summer. It is a constant thing.
If Sassy is insulin resistant, is there any need to give her insulin at all? Can I just expect to keep rushing her to the vet every other week because she has another infection? Obviously untreated diabetes will eventually kill her, but how quickly? Is she suffering because the insulin isn't working? Am I going to have to put her to sleep? I know that the answer is probably yes but I feel terrible about it and I guess I really want to delay it as long as possible. Unfortunately, the vet didn't seem too hopeful about the insulin ever working. Has anyone else ever dealt with this before? FYI, her BG levels are always around 350 or higher. The lowest that I have seen is 299.
Thank you for reading this long, long post. I have truly got to the point where it is really causing me to be quite depressed. I just don't know what to do.
Anyway, her BG levels were still terrible so the vet slowly increased it until she was getting 6 units twice a day. She said she didn't think it would make a difference if I gave her 12 units a day so she switched her over to Lantus which is quite a bit more expensive but she said we would only use a small amount. Well, this has proven to be untrue as well because I had to rush her back to the vet Friday morning with another bad bladder infection. She was crying because she was in such pain and could not urinate at all, just bleed everywhere. She got a shot and some antibiotics to take and the vet said to start giving her 4 units of Lantus twice a day and gradually keep raising the number of units over the next few days. Keep raising it to what? She said that one cat that she was treating was currently doing 16 units twice a day and was resistant to it. She seems to think that is Sassy's problem as well. I really cannot keep buying huge amounts of insulin for over $100 a bottle. That is just too much of an expense considering the cost of test strips, food that I have never had to budget for in the past, needles, constant trips to the vet (which also causes quite a strain with my job--they can understand me having to come in late if my child needs to go to the doctor, but they aren't quite as understanding about a cat that I have to take to the vet twice in one week). I'm sorry to vent about the cost but it is really killing me. Two visits over the course of one week have cost me over $300 and sadly this has been going on since last summer. It is a constant thing.
If Sassy is insulin resistant, is there any need to give her insulin at all? Can I just expect to keep rushing her to the vet every other week because she has another infection? Obviously untreated diabetes will eventually kill her, but how quickly? Is she suffering because the insulin isn't working? Am I going to have to put her to sleep? I know that the answer is probably yes but I feel terrible about it and I guess I really want to delay it as long as possible. Unfortunately, the vet didn't seem too hopeful about the insulin ever working. Has anyone else ever dealt with this before? FYI, her BG levels are always around 350 or higher. The lowest that I have seen is 299.
Thank you for reading this long, long post. I have truly got to the point where it is really causing me to be quite depressed. I just don't know what to do.