HELP! Bouncing levels ....don't understand.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Would someone out there be so kind as to take a look at my SS and give me your experienced opinion....we are new to the curve, and just started keeping the log....he's bouncing and we don't know how to stop him? Please, any advice would be appreciated.
 
Two units look like a pretty good dose for preshots over 300. You have gotten some low amps numbers, which suggest the dose the night before was too high. Maybe try 1.5 for the 250 range preshots.

These early days are all about collecting data. The more numbers you have, the better you can predict doses. You're doing a great job getting numbers. Then you can try some doses that seem to make sense based on past data.
 
Hate the bouncing around.....he's high, he's low......we can't seem to keep it level......giving 3 units, giving 2 units, giving 1 ..........not consistent.
Very frustrating!! Everything is the same in his life....same food, same schedule.....no stresses.......he's so much better....back to his normal behavior......what are we doing wrong? HELP!
 
Hi Becky, It is indeed frustrating but let me give you a tip. Try to keep the dose the same for a period of 3 days (if the numbers are shootable of course)
Because some kitties are really bouncy because of the fact that you change the dose every other cycle... Or you can lower your dose to 1.5 or 1U and stick with that although some shot numbers are higher than you like, stick to it for a couple of cycles. This will mostely clear out the bounce.
 
You are not doing anything wrong, he is just not regulated - yet. He doesn't care about the numbers, he just wants to be a cat, and sounds as though he is doing just that. It can take time to find the optimum dose so keep going, and try not to change too often, once the dose is 'about right' you will start to see some consistency in his numbers. He is a bit like my cat - who hasn't read the manual...

:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Becky, It is indeed frustrating but let me give you a tip. Try to keep the dose the same for a period of 3 days (if the numbers are shootable of course)
Because some kitties are really bouncy because of the fact that you change the dose every other cycle... Or you can lower your dose to 1.5 or 1U and stick with that although some shot numbers are higher than you like, stick to it for a couple of cycles. This will mostely clear out the bounce.
Just when we think we might be able to repeat the dose, he either goes too high or too low and we have to adjust it....like this morning.....if we would have given 1u, he would have dipped too low.....so we gave .5........will test again at lunch, but tonight he'll be high again and .5u won't be enough....
 
Hi Becky,
I feel your pain!! My cat Teasel is VERY hard to predict. All I can do is keep plugging away with the help of the great people on FDMB. SO much patience required ...
 
Becky - it is early days for sure. Take a deep breath it will get better, I promise. We've all been where you are right now. I like to say that one of mine bounced all the way into remission. It frustrated the heck out of me but it didn't stop him from getting the result we all hope for.

Looking at your sheet, I think I'd advocate for staying low and going slow. He had a pretty low number this morning and you still gave insulin. You might be in for a big number tonight if he dipped really low mid-cycle. New diabetics are usually advised not to give insulin if the pre-shot number is below 200. Once you have more data and know how your cat reacts then you can start shooting at lower numbers. If he has a history of ketones then that's a different story.

If he were mine, I would stick with .5 units for 3 full cycles before contemplating an increase. Even if he bounces really high tonight. It can take a few full cycles for the bounce to clear. Decreases for low numbers are a different story. You never want to keep giving too much.

Hang in there you'll both get the hang of this really soon.
 
Becky - it is early days for sure. Take a deep breath it will get better, I promise. We've all been where you are right now. I like to say that one of mine bounced all the way into remission. It frustrated the heck out of me but it didn't stop him from getting the result we all hope for.

Looking at your sheet, I think I'd advocate for staying low and going slow. He had a pretty low number this morning and you still gave insulin. You might be in for a big number tonight if he dipped really low mid-cycle. New diabetics are usually advised not to give insulin if the pre-shot number is below 200. Once you have more data and know how your cat reacts then you can start shooting at lower numbers. If he has a history of ketones then that's a different story.

If he were mine, I would stick with .5 units for 3 full cycles before contemplating an increase. Even if he bounces really high tonight. It can take a few full cycles for the bounce to clear. Decreases for low numbers are a different story. You never want to keep giving too much.

Hang in there you'll both get the hang of this really soon.
Tested again at lunch and was basically the same as the AMPS........even after the .5 units......he's not a new diabetic, unfortunately....we are just new to the spreadsheet......he was in remission once, but it's been a couple of years......he's had one DKA just a couple of weeks ago.....thanks for the advice...I need all I can get :)
 
1 unit last night, and 1 unit this morning.....praying the 1 is our magic number!! Taking your advice, and trying hard to keep it at the same dose......so far so good.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top