? Help! Big spike tonight, then BIG DROP.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy & Fritz

Member Since 2021
Could someone take a look at Fritz’s spreadsheet, please? I did his first 12-hour glucose curve yesterday, his numbers have mostly been in the yellows (200-299 on human meter). He ate well this morning, but didn’t eat well at lunch. His PMPS zoomed up to 374. He ate a lot of dinner, got his 0.5 Prozinc dose, and I am about to check +2. @Chris & China (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA) @JanetNJ @Sienne and Gabby (GA) thoughts anyone? He has been on insulin exactly two weeks today, has a vet appointment Thursday afternoon with a vet who approves of home testing. Thank you!
 
Last edited:
+3 = 208. He was not to be found at +2. Keeping him close, feeding again. Just checked urine ketones - between negative and trace. Fed MC food.
 
Last edited:
Hi Judy,
I would save the high carb food for if Fritz drops under 90 or if he drops low in the first couple of hours of the cycle, if you need to get him up into higher numbers before the onset of the insulin.
Try feeding a low carb snack and if you are concerned test again in 30 minutes.
Feeding high carb when he is in those higher numbers will shorten the duration of the cycle and we want him on those lower numbers. I know you are new to this and falling numbers and lower numbers can be scary but you will come to like them!
 
Hi Judy,
I would save the high carb food for if Fritz drops under 90 or if he drops low in the first couple of hours of the cycle, if you need to get him up into higher numbers before the onset of the insulin.
Try feeding a low carb snack and if you are concerned test again in 30 minutes.
Feeding high carb when he is in those higher numbers will shorten the duration of the cycle and we want him on those lower numbers. I know you are new to this and falling numbers and lower numbers can be scary but you will come to like them!
I. Am. Terrified. Bron, I even gave him some honey!
 
Bron, just so that I have this in my head, his PMPS # was 374. That is really high for him, he didn’t have much of an appetite at lunch. Snack 3 hours before dinner, low carb. After PMPS, he ate well at dinner, at +3 he was at 208, 40 minutes later was at 159. From 374 to 208 is what rattled me, but it was okay?
 
It's okay, Judy. Occasionally cats will do a big initial drop. There's lots of numbers between the 208 and take action 90.
Save the big guns if he drops below 90.
I woke up to use the facilities and have to go back to bed. Set an alarm (and a back-up alarm) if you have to. Holler if you need to. And breathe.
 
From 374 to 208 is what rattled me, but it was okay?
That’s a drop of 166 over 3 hours or about 55 points an hour. He probably did most of the drop from onset to +3.
What I would do is get some +1 and +2 tests in
+1 will tell you if he gets a food bump.
+2 Is usually around when the onset of insulin is.
Most cats will get a bit of a food bump with the +1 BG but remember ECID and they love to prove us wrong!
If the +1 or the +2 is the same or lower than the preshot, that is a little red flag for you that the cycle could be active and the BG could drop. So test early to catch any drops.
If you can establish when the onset of insulin starts, you can feed him at or just before onset, so that the drop is not fast.
Remember you can help control the drop by feeding him snacks of low carb food.

Looking at his SS, he looks as if he needs an increase in dose. I am not a Prozinc user so will tag @Panic and @JanetNJ
 
It's okay, Judy. Occasionally cats will do a big initial drop. There's lots of numbers between the 208 and take action 90.
Save the big guns if he drops below 90.
I woke up to use the facilities and have to go back to bed. Set an alarm (and a back-up alarm) if you have to. Holler if you need to. And breathe.
I am not usually such a panic-stricken cat mom, but I had a previous baby nine years ago have a hypo event so swift it was shocking. She seized, went into a coma and died. I felt as if I had murdered my Maggie. All is well now, thank you so much for responding.
 
Last edited:
That’s a drop of 166 over 3 hours or about 55 points an hour. He probably did most of the drop from onset to +3.
What I would do is get some +1 and +2 tests in
+1 will tell you if he gets a food bump.
+2 Is usually around when the onset of insulin is.
Most cats will get a bit of a food bump with the +1 BG but remember ECID and they love to prove us wrong!
If the +1 or the +2 is the same or lower than the preshot, that is a little red flag for you that the cycle could be active and the BG could drop. So test early to catch any drops.
If you can establish when the onset of insulin starts, you can feed him at or just before onset, so that the drop is not fast.
Remember you can help control the drop by feeding him snacks of low carb food.

Looking at his SS, he looks as if he needs an increase in dose. I am not a Prozinc user so will tag @Panic and @JanetNJ
Thank you, the +1 and +2 info will help me enormously. I agree about the dose increase. He has a vet appointment tomorrow (new vet, supposedly wants home testing done), and I’m assuming she will want to take him up to 1 unit. Do you think taking him to .75 would be better? That is my inclination, and judging by the three vets I have seen lately, I may keep it to myself if I choose to do .75 and let his numbers guide me rather than some arbitrary number from the vet. His 374 PMPS last night baffled me. I have been trying to figure out why he read so high and realized he had been playing actively right before he was tested, and I think the physical exercise made the BG rise. Thank you for always coming to the rescue!
 
don't give high carb at 159... it's not even close to too low.... actually it's still above normal. we WANT to see blue numbers... it's what you are AIMING for. REMEMBER NORMAL on your meter is 50-120. I'd like to see your lowest numbers around 90-100.
 
don't give high carb at 159... it's not even close to too low.... actually it's still above normal. we WANT to see blue numbers... it's what you are AIMING for. REMEMBER NORMAL on your meter is 50-120. I'd like to see your lowest numbers around 90-100.
I know, I freaked out seeing the almost 200 point drop, then down to 159 in the next 30 minutes, He normally reaches his nadir +4-+5, and I was trying to stop a deeper plunge. Yes, I know blue is what we’re aiming for, the 374 (highest he has tested at home) threw me. Do you think he is ready for a .25 dose increase? Thanks, Janet!
 
@Chris & China (GA) do you think it’s time for Fritz to go up to .75 Prozinc? He has been on 0.5 for two weeks, I did his first curve Tuesday, he goes to new vet tomorrow. Also, do I just eyeball the 40U syringe for .75 dose or switch to my 100U syringes using conversion table? If vet says go to 1U, just go along with it (knowing I will be going to .75)? You know I am going to follow SLGS protocol regardless of her instructions. She wants her diabetic cat patients tested at home, so she may surprise me. Thanks, as always, for your input.
 
do you think it’s time for Fritz to go up to .75 Prozinc?

Yeah....need to see if we can get more blues and less yellows and pinks.

Also, do I just eyeball the 40U syringe for .75 dose or switch to my 100U syringes using conversion table?

Totally your decision but the U100 syringes may be easier since you can use the lines (as long as they have half unit marks) instead of eyeballing it

If vet says go to 1U, just go along with it (knowing I will be going to .75)

You could or you could just tell her the truth...that you're not comfortable increasing by more than .25 at a time. The vet that gave me China's script for Lantus told me to start her on 4U (she weighed less than 7lbs) and I told him I wasn't comfortable giving that much to start. He kind of shook his head and rolled his eyes a bit (and told me to do what I felt was best but he was sure she would eventually need a much higher dose than the 4U he was suggesting....She never needed more than 2.75 in her 5 1/2+ years)

You could also tell her you're going to use a conversion chart with U100 syringes that will make it easier for you to micro-dose but that might blow her mind....LOL
 
Yeah....need to see if we can get more blues and less yellows and pinks.



Totally your decision but the U100 syringes may be easier since you can use the lines (as long as they have half unit marks) instead of eyeballing it



You could or you could just tell her the truth...that you're not comfortable increasing by more than .25 at a time. The vet that gave me China's script for Lantus told me to start her on 4U (she weighed less than 7lbs) and I told him I wasn't comfortable giving that much to start. He kind of shook his head and rolled his eyes a bit (and told me to do what I felt was best but he was sure she would eventually need a much higher dose than the 4U he was suggesting....She never needed more than 2.75 in her 5 1/2+ years)

You could also tell her you're going to use a conversion chart with U100 syringes that will make it easier for you to micro-dose but that might blow her mind....LOL
I’ve already blown one vet’s mind, why not another? Although it would be heaven if this vet works out - she advises home testing an is four minutes away.
 
No, but I have the regular U40 with one unit markings and the U100. Should I order the U40 with 1/2 unit markings!

I would get the U- 40 syringes with half unit markings, it makes it easier to eyeball when you are increasing or decreasing by 0.25 units

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit[/QUOTE]

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16363/carepoint-vet-u-40-syringe-29g-half-unit

Either one would be fine
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!
 
I know, I freaked out seeing the almost 200 point drop, then down to 159 in the next 30 minutes, He normally reaches his nadir +4-+5, and I was trying to stop a deeper plunge. Yes, I know blue is what we’re aiming for, the 374 (highest he has tested at home) threw me. Do you think he is ready for a .25 dose increase? Thanks, Janet!
Yes I would raise it. Do 0.75, hold it for a week. If the naidar is still over 150 in 7 days, raise it to 1 unit.
 
I would get the U- 40 syringes with half unit markings, it makes it easier to eyeball when you are increasing or decreasing by 0.25 units

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/16363/carepoint-vet-u-40-syringe-29g-half-unit

Either one would be fine
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order![/QUOTE]
I just bought the same syringe (Ulti-Care) on Amazon. Checkout at ADW was asking me for physician information, don’t have a script for them. The 1/2 marking syringes will be delivered Saturday. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top