Help - BG Level 195-205, What To Do With Dosing

Maya_

Member
Hello,

I just tested my cats BG level to give her a meal and then a dose. Spoke to the vet yesterday and increased the dose from 0.5 units twice a day to 1 unit due to the numbers being high the last couple of days. I tested her twice now to make sure the BG was accurate, got back 195 and 205. Need help in if I should give her the full dose of 1 unit or go back to 0.5?

Update: Apologies, I read from another post to stall and not feed until testing again in 20 minutes but I have just fed her meal due to her being very hungry and wouldn't wait. Should I test her after the meal to see where the BG level is?

Thank you
 
Last edited:
Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-losing-effect.292827/

With our dosing methods, we make changes by 0.25 units at a time, not 0.5 units. Also, you need to have a better idea how low the 0.5 units is taking Lulu, which means more spot checks in the middle of the cycle, or a curve.

Have you decided if you want to follow one of our two dosing methods?

Yes, I'm following the SLGS method. After speaking with the vet, we raised the dose to 1 unit due to the 0.5 having no impact to the BG level the last couple of days for some reason. Based on some of the mid day tests, it seems like the 0.5 brought down the BG level by 135 - 190 points but I need to do more testing to see the pattern. In this case, I'm not sure which dosing to give because I'm worried the BG will go too low.
 
It'd be great if you could put "SLGS" in your signature, so we don't have to keep asking.

The 0.5 unit dose did take Lulu down to 195 on 7/27. With SLGS, that would mean increasing by 0.25 units to 0.75 units. I don't see enough data with 0.5 units as a consistent dose, to otherwise say how low 0.5 units was taking her. It's entirely possible the last couple of higher BG days were due to a bounce. Which she might now be breaking, leading to the lower number you are seeing at PMPS.

We don't determine dose by how much of a drop it gives them, but rather how low the dose is taking the cat.

Did you test her again? How long since the food and how long past normal shot time?
 
It'd be great if you could put "SLGS" in your signature, so we don't have to keep asking.

The 0.5 unit dose did take Lulu down to 195 on 7/27. With SLGS, that would mean increasing by 0.25 units to 0.75 units. I don't see enough data with 0.5 units as a consistent dose, to otherwise say how low 0.5 units was taking her. It's entirely possible the last couple of higher BG days were due to a bounce. Which she might now be breaking, leading to the lower number you are seeing at PMPS.

We don't determine dose by how much of a drop it gives them, but rather how low the dose is taking the cat.

Did you test her again? How long since the food and how long past normal shot time?

Yes, just tested her and BG level went up to 484. That is with no insulin given and 3 hours past normal shot time

Next time, I’ll wait and test her again to see if her BG level rises prior to giving her a meal and dose. But when I administer her next dose, do I test 6 hours after to see how low the dose has taken the BG level to get a better understanding?
 
Last edited:
Since you skipped tonight, it's possible she'll be high and flat tomorrow. But I can't say for sure as cats do like to be unpredictable. Not all cats nadir (lowest point) 6 hours after the shot. So I'd mix up the tests somewhere in the 4-7 hours after the shot to start with and see where she is.

When you skip, it depletes the deopt. It can take 6 cycles/3 days to build it back up. Doing a curve at that point might help you determine when she likes to nadir, though there can be some variability with that too.
 
Since you skipped tonight, it's possible she'll be high and flat tomorrow. But I can't say for sure as cats do like to be unpredictable. Not all cats nadir (lowest point) 6 hours after the shot. So I'd mix up the tests somewhere in the 4-7 hours after the shot to start with and see where she is.

When you skip, it depletes the deopt. It can take 6 cycles/3 days to build it back up. Doing a curve at that point might help you determine when she likes to nadir, though there can be some variability with that too.

Just tested prior to her next dose and it’s at 408. Will give her 0.75 units though I will need to estimate since the syringe doesn’t have it outlined. If the same case happens at the next dose where it still remains in the high 190s - low 200s even after waiting, do I give 0.5 units to avoid skipping another one?
 
We all have to eyeball those 0.25 unit in between doses. It might help to draw up a used syringe with coloured liquid (tea, coffee, juice, pop) with what you think is 0.75 units. Then use that as a sample to compare against each time. It's more important to be consistent than exactly right on the 0.75 units. Keep with the 0.75 units dose for now, unless she goes under 90.
 
We all have to eyeball those 0.25 unit in between doses. It might help to draw up a used syringe with coloured liquid (tea, coffee, juice, pop) with what you think is 0.75 units. Then use that as a sample to compare against each time. It's more important to be consistent than exactly right on the 0.75 units. Keep with the 0.75 units dose for now, unless she goes under 90.

That’s a great idea. Sounds good, I will keep at 0.75 units and see what the BG level is later today. Thank you
 
Back
Top