Help BG 69.

Status
Not open for further replies.

trudy66

Member Since 2022
BG this am 265, at +2 it was 131. Now at +3.5 it is 69.
Should I give her higher carb food or just her regular?
 
I think you could give her a small amount of her regular carb food with a teaspoon or so of some higher carb food on top. You don't want to get her too full in case you need her to eat later.
 
I think you could give her a small amount of her regular carb food with a teaspoon or so of some higher carb food on top. You don't want to get her too full in case you need her to eat later.

Ok thanks. I did go ahead and feed her 1 portion of Sheba. I'll check her again in 30 minutes to make sure it's coming up.
 
I would test again at +4.5 and keep us updated.
Checked her again at +4.25 and +4.5 and both were 70.
I know 70 is normal, her peak has usually been about +7 so I know we could go lower.
Yesterday morning and the night before we had fur shots. But she got the full dose last night and this morning.
 
She's surfing
upload_2022-2-5_12-17-2.png

Give her a little more food, and test again at +5.5 or +6.

Have you thought about switching to another insulin that's more appropriate for felines, like Lantus or ProZinc?
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-2-5_12-17-2.png
    upload_2022-2-5_12-17-2.png
    3 KB · Views: 243
She's surfing View attachment 63477
Give her a little more food, and test again at +5.5 or +6.

Have you thought about switching to another insulin that's more appropriate for felines, like Lantus or ProZinc?

I checked her at +5 and she is 68. I just gave her another portion of sheba.
I asked the vet for the longer acting and he was pretty insistent he wanted her on vetsulin.
I am supposed to take her back for a curve with the libre in a month. He was not supportive of hometesting.
I approached several times about it, but he was like no you don't need to test. I am looking at checking out
new vets. I really just needed to get her on some insulin, because she had ketones and was very lethargic and he
still waited 2 more days to start the insulin, because he was off the next day after the diagnosis.
Her appetite has really picked up in the last 2-3 days. Today is 5th day with no ketones.
 
Since Vetsulin is an in and out insulin, meaning there is no depot like Lantus has, you could stop the Vetsulin one cycle and start the Lantus the next cycle. Lantus can take about 5 to 7 days or so (patience) to it fill the depot. Read the Lantus stickies at the top of the forum, when you have some time. Or the ProZinc stickies in the ProZinc forum.

I would try to find another vet. Call the them first and try to get a vet to call you back and discuss what insulin they like to use. I know how frustrating this is. I was there.

The problem with the curve in the vet's office is that she could have been low the night before or the day(s) before and be in a bounce (her body responding to a previous low numbers or from dropping to fast as vetsulin is known to do, as it is a harsh insulin), and you have no idea and can only guess, that's why the numbers are high at the vet, besides the stress.. from just being at the vet's office.
Home testing, in her normal every day environment will help you (and her) so much.
 
I used to use a One Touch glucometer on my cat, and found it very close to my cat's lab work blood tests (I would test with my meter right before the vet's blood test and it was pretty close to the same number).
Be sure to tell your vet about these most recent numbers, in case an adjustment in dose is needed. I have no experience with the insulin you are currently using so can't advise on dose.
 
Since Vetsulin is an in and out insulin, meaning there is no depot like Lantus has, you could stop the Vetsulin one cycle and start the Lantus the next cycle. Lantus can take about 5 to 7 days or so (patience) to it fill the depot. Read the Lantus stickies at the top of the forum, when you have some time. Or the ProZinc stickies in the ProZinc forum.

I would try to find another vet. Call the them first and try to get a vet to call you back and discuss what insulin they like to use. I know how frustrating this is. I was there.

The problem with the curve in the vet's office is that she could have been low the night before or the day(s) before and be in a bounce (her body responding to a previous low numbers or from dropping to fast as vetsulin is known to do, as it is a harsh insulin), and you have no idea and can only guess, that's why the numbers are high at the vet, besides the stress.. from just being at the vet's office.
Home testing, in her normal every day environment will help you (and her) so much.

+6 is 93. So coming up. I will check again at + 7.
Thanks for the info, I will look in the Lantus and prozinc forums and read about them.
I am really nervous with her dropping. We have to work Monday and Tuesday and will be gone 10 hours, I called out last week with her so I have to go.
Do you think we should drop her dose or just see what tomorrow shows?
 
I used to use a One Touch glucometer on my cat, and found it very close to my cat's lab work blood tests (I would test with my meter right before the vet's blood test and it was pretty close to the same number).
Be sure to tell your vet about these most recent numbers, in case an adjustment in dose is needed. I have no experience with the insulin you are currently using so can't advise on dose.
ok just saw this. we will just see how tomorrow goes.
 
I would reduce to 1.75U. I think she went low again the night before last and bounced yesterday, then came down again last night/ today. So overall dose too high.

If preshot is 250-300, I would give 1.5U.

If preshot is 200-249, I would give 1U.

Below that I can't really make good estimates yet, so Id do 0.25U-0.5U. You can skip as well (definitely skip if below 150) BUT try not to given ketones. Safety comes first, then ketones. So if you can't be around to keep an eye, err on the side of a reduced dose or skipped shot.
 
Forgive me because I don't have time at the moment to go back and read - what is meal schedule/carb %? She needs higher carbs fed at +1 and +2 to help slow that down. Possibly even AMPS
 
Forgive me because I don't have time at the moment to go back and read - what is meal schedule/carb %? She needs higher carbs fed at +1 and +2 to help slow that down. Possibly even AMPS
Thank you.
She has been eating sheba pate, 3% carbs. Try to get 2 portions in AMPS, 1 portion +2 and 1 portion +4. Her appetite has greatly increased
the last 2-3 days, so she is eating pretty good. Last Ketones 5 days ago.
She had fur shots yesterday morning and the night prior. Last night and this AM she got the whole dose.
They tried to increase her dose by .25 unit 2 days ago and she dropped low in the night.
 
Ok thanks. Yes looks like you need to go down to 1.75U. when you get a chance, I'd grab something around 7% next time you're at a store, and try feeding that at +1.5. good about the ketones.

The shots that were fur shots - in those cells with the dose, can you please put "FS" so we know? So in the dose column it would say "2 FS"
 
Ok thanks. Yes looks like you need to go down to 1.75U. when you get a chance, I'd grab something around 7% next time you're at a store, and try feeding that at +1.5. good about the ketones.

The shots that were fur shots - in those cells with the dose, can you please put "FS" so we know? So in the dose column it would say "2 FS"
Thank you so much for the help. We did give her 1.75u just a bit ago so we will check her at +2 and +4 before bed.
I will add FS to those doses.
And I am going to store in Am so I will get something 7%.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top