Help.. BG 109! Do I give her a.m. shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Boo's blood sugar was 109 @ 6:40, I gave her breakfast (canned food) & she's supposed to get her morning shot of 2.5 units of Humulin N. I'm scared to give it to her as I'll be leaving for work & don't want to make her hypo! Do I skip it? I leave in 30 minutes...
 
Very hard to give advice without any information on her previous numbers or history. In general, we tell newbies not to shoot under 200, but to wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. Then if over 200, then you could consider a reduced dose. With that long of a duration on Humulin and you won't be home, I think I would skip the shot and start new tonight at a reduced dose.

And when you get home tonight, ask for help on setting up a spreadsheet so we can see her info at a glance when you want help. If you have trouble just ask for help in getting it to work.
 
I have actually posted her numbers previously, I think it's under Humulin N dozing questions. I can say this low of a number is unusual as she's normally close to 300 for her morning readings. I appreciate the advise & think skipping is best as I'd be worried all day.

Also, I use a lancet & find her ear isn't wanting to bleed like before. Usually I rub it but that doesn't seem to be working anymore... Suggestions? Do you find a part on the ear is better than others?
 
A spreadsheet is just a good way for us to easily check your history and fast in an emergency. If you want help setting one up, send me a pm.

Rubbing was never enough for Oliver in the beginning. We had to use the rice sack to thoroughly warm the ear. I would try that first. If you still have trouble, ask specifically for poking advice. We will bombard you with suggestions.
 
Without a spreadsheet I can't say for certain but I'd suggest the 200 cutoff. Humulin N is not something to mess with, and if you have a lower than usual preshot you can't rely on past trends to tell you what will happen. Either skip entirely or test again in awhile.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top