help.baileys blood reading preshot 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
hi ive only been on here a few days but already its been a great help.as bmg and diane and bailey have suggested ive gone on to goole and filled out the spread sheet but ive no idea to get it on here.i love my dude so much and just want my babe living a happy life again.weve been struggling with this since October so im very pleased to hear about this site. as I cant get the spread sheet up il put down the blood readings as put on the spread shhet in the hope that theres someone out there that can help:

Date amps u 6+ reading pmps u
17.2.14 17.8 1 13.3 25.4 1
18.2.14 20.1 1 26.8 6.7 1
19.2.14 23.2 1 22.9 24.4 1
20.2.14 19.0 1.5 19.4 19.1 1.5
21.2.14 15.4 1.5 8.7 18.3 1.5
22.2.14 26.3 1.5 22.7 24.1 2
23.2.14 22.4 2 17.4 23.3 2
24.2.14 22.9 2
 
Re: please cn someone help with spread sheets and blood read

Hi Anna.

You have to log into a google account or create one. On the health forum there is a sticky note on the top called tech forum. Click on that and the instructions are there. If all else fails ask Marje in the lantus tirght regulation for help. She did my sheet and she is really helpful!
 
Re: please cn someone help with spread sheets and blood read

Here's the link with the instructions for setting up a spreadsheet. You'll want to use the instructions for the "world" template so your meter readings will be converted into US format. There are also instructions in the post on how to attach the spreadsheet to your signature.
 
Re: please cn someone help with spread sheets and blood read

Anna, i just want to add a welcome to Lantus Land! We'll be happy to help you with Dude (do i have the right name?)

I'm not good with reading the world numbers - we use the non-metric numbers here as our common "language." But I see one reading of 8.7, which i think is a decent number - if i'm translating it right it's a 150's. Follow the directions that Sienne gave you - our template has everything color-coded and it helps tremendously with being able to "read" what's going on.

eta - i see you're trying right now to get help on the tech forum. hang in there! it'll get worked out.

One bit of information - we look at the low point of each cycle in determining whether or not to change the dose. So i'd look at that 8.7 and say to hold the dose for several more cycles without increasing. When a cat is new to numbers in the 100's, we'd have them hold for 10 cycles (shots) to see what they do.

we'll help you learn how to do this, and until it gets easy you can keep asking and we'll answer your questions.

you're in the right place now. :YMHUG:
 
Re: please cn someone help with spread sheets and blood read

Welcome! You have really found the best place to be with your cat, Dude. I have been here for about 2.5 weeks and the knowledge and encouragement is unbelievable. Ask all the questions you have!
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

What do you mean, "Bailey's worse!!!" Could you please provide some details?

You can also post your test results in your condo (in US format) until you get the problem with your SS worked out.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Hi Sienna,
Anna rang me about an hour ago,she went home in her lunch hour to give the insulin,she said his BG readings are higher today than ever,also he has lost the use of his legs,she is desperate,and feels she is loosing him.she tried for hours last night to get ss up and running but can't get connected,so you can imagine the distress she feels not being able to help him more.
The vet does not understand the workings of Lantus,and is treating it like Caninsulin.She is working today until 7pm UK time,so I am sure the first thing she will do when she finishes work is log on to the board.
Many thanks for looking out for her,as I have explained to her that I do not have the experience to advise her on dosing.
Apparently he was on 6 units of Caninsulin without success,so may need to upped on the Lantus?
Many many thanks. Diane
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Hi,
If Dude has suddenly lost the use of his legs it sounds like more than an insulin problem. Can he be taken to his vet as soon as possible? Please update.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

I agree with what Ella said. Is this more that he's walking on his hocks or is he dragging his back legs? If the latter, this is an emergency and Bailey needs to see a vet ASAP.

It looks like Anna added recent numbers to her first post in this thread. We don't use the mmol/L (metric) notation for BG numbers on this board that you use in the UK. We use US numbers (non-metric). In order to help Anna, we need the numbers in US format since I don't have the time to do the conversions. The other issue is that it will be very helpful if there is at least one test in addition to the PMPS test every evening. We urge people to get a "before bed" test. Many cats experience lower numbers during the PM cycle. It's important for safety to know if this is the case and it can also explain if there are higher numbers during the next several cycles. (i.e., a "bounce").

I realize everyone is worried. We need more information in order to be of some help. It does look like Bailey's dose was increased. It can take up to 6 cycles to see a change in numbers.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Hello Anna,
We're all here to help.
Try to Breathe..... tell us what is going on. There are folks here who can help you with the spreadsheet.
Sending a hug.
We've all experienced frustrations in the beginning trying to learn.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

I have not seen the cat and presumed it was peripheral neuropathy,no doubt Anna will confirm this to you when she returns from work.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

These are his numbers I have converted the,hope they are right.
AMPS. +6. PMPS
17/2/14. 17.8 (320). 13.3 (240). 25.4 (457). 1 unit
18/2/14. 20.1 (362). 26.8 (483). 6.7(121). 1unit
19/2/14. 23.2 (418). 22.9(413). 24.4(440). 1 unit
20/2/14. 19. (342). 19.4 (350). 19. (342). 1.5 units
21/2/14. 15.4 (300). 8.7. (157). 18.3(330). 1.5
22/2/14. 26.3(474). 22.7 (409). 24.1(434). 2 units
23/2/14. 22.4(404). 17.4 (314). 23.3(420). 2 units
24/2/14. 22.9(413). F2units

I hAve had time to do the conversion for you,hopefully you can have a look at there's numbers,she is finishes work today 7pm UK time,So am sure she will be online soon after.just trying to repay a small amount of the kindness you showed my Bailey and me in our time of need. Many thanks.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Anna

I sent you a private message so I can get info from you and set up the SS. It will take me literally just a minute or two and I'm happy to do it for you.

If you look up at the upper left corner of the page, you'll see something that says "User Control Panel" and next to it in parenthesis, it will say how many new messages you have. Click on that and it will show you the messages. Just open the one from me. :-D

You can focus on Bailey and I'll do the SS but I'll just need a bit of info from you first. I hope he's ok.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Thanks so much!

What it looks like is happening is that there are drops from higher range numbers into numbers that are in the 100s. In all likelihood, this is triggering a bounce. When numbers drop by a large amount, if they drop quickly, or if they drop into lower ranges a cat's body may overreact. As a result of the kitty's body interpreting this situation as an "emergency", the liver and pancreas go into panic mode and release a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones which cause BG numbers to spike back up. The bouncing is annoying but normal. The more time that Bailey spends in better numbers, the less frequently the bouncing will occur.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Sienna thank you,she doesn't know what to do about increasing the insulin,do you think she should increase on these numbers,they seem very high? By the way she is getting little or no guidance from her vet,I think the vet doesn't understand how Lantus works.
Hello Marje and Gracie,thankyou so much for stopping by and helping out,she would be so grateful if you could help out with the ss,she is working today until 7pm UK time,and am sure she will be in touch later in the day.I hope you all don't think I am interfering in this but it evoked such frightening memories of how I felt so alone and helpless when my BAiley was first diagnosed,and you all saved my sanity by your support and encouragement.


Dianex
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Being as Baileys numbers are so high do you think she should be aware of ketones? Don't want to burden Anna with any more worries,she has enough on her plate at this time,and sounds pretty fragile,but I am pretty sure she is unaware of the condition?
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

I'm sure having someone in the same time zone is very helpful. As much information as we can provide, there are times that given the difference in time zones, there's just not that many people available.

It's important to give each Lantus dose enough time to work. The absolute shortest amount of time between dose increases is 4 cycles (2 days) and that's only if numbers are consistently above 300 and not reflecting a bounce. What's currently happening are bounces. Bailey drops to a nadir in the 100s and the numbers spring back into the 300 - 400 range. It can take roughly 72 hours for a bounce to clear. It would be safer to give the dose the full 6 cycles/3 days so the bounce clears and there's a true picture of what the numbers actually look like. If you increase too quickly, you can end up with your cat receiving too much insulin which isn't a good thing!

Just to reiterate, it's critically important for Anna to get at least one more test during the PM cycle. Numbers could routinely be dropping into lower ranges and we'd never know. (My kitty had a habit of starting a cycle in the 400s, dropping into the 40s, and bouncing back into the 400s. If all I looked at was the pre-shot numbers, I'd have been increasing Gabby's dose. Instead, with the drop into the 40s, she needed a dose reduction.)

Testing for ketones is a valuable tool. It's a great precaution and certainly can't hurt especially if Bailey has any history of ketones.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

hi all thanks so much for this advice.firstly his back legs have gradually been getting worse and have read about the neropathy so ive started him on zobaline yesterday.yeah I know about ketones but how do I test for that or do I need to take him to the vet? I do his shots at 12.30pm and 12.30am due to my work schedule.so he is actually being tested pre shot at night. im exhausted physically and emotionall,trying to work and almost panic as i race home from work each lunch hour and evening to get back to bailey.i love him and feel like im helpless.ive tried and am trying so hard since November and feel like were getting nowhere and actually we mustn't be when his little back legs are dragging.i just hate seeing him like this and feel like im losing my boy :-( his readings today pre shot were 22.2 and 25.1 at the nadir. i feel like im letting him down :'-(
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Hi Anna

Don't give up you have some yellow and pink and blue numbers. You are doing great an you need to breathe. A long long drawn breath. Listen to the women here and they will help you. Follow their suggestions. We all care about both of you.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Many hugs, Anna. A diagnosis of FD is very overwhelming at first, but even though we are all many miles apart, know that you are never alone. You are doing awesome, and you found us here at LantusLand. The knowledge and moral support here is amazing. Ask as many questions as you need. Since we're in different parts of the world, it may take a little while to get an answer, but you WILL get one.

You should be able to get ketostyx and your pharmacy for testing for ketones. With ketostyx, you can test Bailey's urine for the ketones - there should be no need to take him to the vet.

You are doing a great job. This is challenging at first, but you are not letting Bailey down...you are doing awesome! Just keep asking questions and leaning on us as much as you need.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Congrats on getting your spreadsheet working!

In addition to using Ketostix to test Bailey's urine for ketones, there are meters which will test for ketones in the blood. The strips are expensive -- that's the downside -- but you don't have to stalk your kitty to the litter box. I don't know what's available in the UK. The Precision Xtra meter and there is a meter by NovaMax both of which can test for blood ketones.

Since your home, it want to reiterate a few points. First and foremost, we all recognize you would move heaven and earth for your kitty. That's not an issue. Take a few deep breaths....

From what you've said, your vet is treating Lantus like Caninsulin. They are very different in the way they work. I've attached an article that may be useful for both you and your vet:

This is the research article in a top veterinary journal that provides the information on the Tight Regulation Protocol we use. Quite honestly, the chart that lists out the dosing information is overly complicated. The information in the sticky note at the top of the board is much clearer.

As long as Bailey is eating low carb, canned food, the only additional thing you really need to do it to get another test before you go to bed every night. This is the best way to insure Bailey is safe and to make sure the numbers you are seeing aren't bounces. I've described bounces earlier in this thread. There is a very good chance all of those red and pink numbers are due to Bailey bouncing off of blue numbers. This is why getting tests at times other than your pre-shot is so important.

Depending on where Bailey's numbers were during the AM cycle, you could raise his dose tonight. However, given that you've seen some nadirs in the 100s, I'd suggest increasing by 0.25u so your new dose would be 2.25u. However, please do start to get an additional test during the PM cycle. (I know -- I sound like a broken record.) Just so you are aware, not all kitties have their nadir at +6. My cat, for example, has her nadir at +3 or +4, except for those days when she doesn't. The nadir isn't a fixed point -- it can move around.
 

Attachments

Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

if i find his nadir is 6.7(100s) after 3 hours of insulin ( which il test the) should i give him honey or something so he doesn't bounce?
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Sometimes keeping them flatter by controling things with food can definitely help reduce bouncing. The 100s are nice numbers; I'm not sure I would go with honey just yet, but if you have some "medium carb" food on hand, you could give him a little bit of that to help slow down the drop a bit. Am I correct in assuming you're talking in general cicrumstances and not specifically about what's going on right now?

There are others who are much better at steering bounces...my kitty is not a huge bouncer so I don't have much first-hand experience. So hopefully someone else will come along with more detailed info for you.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

no not now specifically just in general.just like to be prepared for any eventualities.im going to do a 3am test even though i do his pretest at 12.30am to see if perhaps hes dipping to cause the bounce when im in bed.heck! im going to be tired tomorrow but then if it helps to get him regulated then its worth it plus im not sleeping well with all this anyway.THANKYOU everyone it helps so much to just have support and no that theres other people that understand how im feeling.
were off to bed now.hes settled on my bed so that's my cue ;-)
will email in the morning!
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Hi Anna:

I just want to welcome you to the Lantus board and assure you that you are in the right place to get help for your beloved Bailey. The people here have a lot of knowledge and experience, and they really care about you and your cat. Please take the time to read their advice carefully and try to follow it as best you can, and I promise you will see good results. My kitty, Cinco, would not be here today if I had not found the board and followed their advice. My vet was telling me the wrong things, and when I stopped listening to her and did what the people here told me to do, Cinco started getting better, and he was actually off the insulin after a couple of months.

Be sure to read the "stickies" at the top of the board, and ask questions when you don't understand something. There are no stupid questions. Good luck with Bailey! We'll all be pulling for you! :-D
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Hi Anna!

just want to offer you some encouragement. Bailey didn't get sick overnight and you're not going to get him regulated overnight. You don't need to panic. If his leg weakness is from neuropathy, they will improve. Starting the zobaline is an excellent first step.

Sienne has given you excellent help. Not every high number means that you need more insulin. That's why she's asking for that nighttime test. Do you actually work 12 hrs in the day? I'm thinking perhaps you could shoot earlier than noon so that you're not having to get up at 3:30am to test Bailey. Sometimes adjusting shot times can really make life easier.

One of the most annoying sayings in Lantus Land is that "this is a marathon, not a sprint." Unfortunately, it's very true. It will take you a while to get him regulated - but it will happen. You have to pace yourself. You can post here as often as you want and we'll answer your questions to the best of our ability.

Sienne suggested you can increase the dose by 0.25u. Once you do that, you're going to hold that dose for a minimum of 4 cycles (shots) so we can see what it does in Bailey's body.

I'd like to ask about how this starting dose was chosen. Diane said that he was on 6 units of Caninsulin. That's not a good insulin for cats - Lantus is much better - but i'd like to hear any BG numbers you had when he was on the Caninsulin. Would you tell us the story and give any data that you have?

What would help us help you to help Bailey:
- get a test somewhere in the pm cycle, in between the 12:30am and 12:30noon shots every night - this is very important
- tell us the story of Caninsulin & give any dates, doses and BG data
- are there any other medical issues you are aware of?

And answer these questions:

= how old is Bailey and how much does he weigh?
- Has he had any steroid shots?
- Is he eating only low carb canned food? Is there ANY possibility he is getting ANY dry food - even dog food?

If you can get a ketone test, please do. Once a day while he is this high would be very good.


sleep well! :YMHUG:
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

From your other thread today:

anna and bailey.uk england said:
m still really new to this site.with help from diane and bailey and marge and gracie I have my spreadsheet up and numbers over the last few days.i do the insulin jabs at 12.30am/pm and test before hand and then check the nadir usually at 6.30pm.as suggested im going to get up at 3.30am tonight and do his readings then to see whether hes dipping which is causing a bounce.am I doing the right thing by keeping him on 2 units or do I up or lower.its what on earth to do for the best.meanwhile my boy baileys legs are getting worse :-( hes on tablets now so im hoping they help his little legs.hes so lethargic but I don't know whether that's cos he keeps lying down cos of hislegs.hes also drinking lots.ive put bloomin bowls all round my flat.( I just don't want him dehydrating) ive also tried alittle wet food today with his diabetic dry food in the hope that eventually he'll transition onto the best protein food I can get.he EVENTUALLY and RELUNCTANTLY had a little of it so that's progress.
im trying my best to do everything I can and what you've all suggested.any info helps!!!!
julie & punkin (ga) said:
ah, i've just posted on your other thread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114309

We try to keep to one thread (or condo) per person per day, just to keep confusion to a minimum.

you answered one of my questions here, though. the diabetic dry food is partially responsible for his high numbers. please go read the other thread - click on the link above, and see what the new posts are there.

you need to get him transitioned to low carb canned cat food. i'll post a link with tips on your other thread. let's keep posting on that one until tomorrow.

Here is a link on how to transition a dry food addict to canned food:
http://www.catinfo.org/docs/TipsForTransitioning1-14-11.pdf

This is essential for a diabetic cat, but while you are transitioning - do it slowly over the course of about a week - he may need less insulin and we need to keep him safe.

the difference it can make is enormous - we have a cat right now, Scooter, who has just suddenly gone from 5.5units per shot to zero - when his mom figured out he might be stealing dry kitty kibble from the other cats. Dry food is really bad for diabetic cats. But - HE MUST EAT. It's very important that he eat, so if he needs to keep eating kibble while you switch him over, do it. you want the change to be slow so that he doesn't suddenly have WAY too much insulin in his body.

I'm going to suggest that every time you log on, first thing you do is click on "view your posts" at the top left side of the page. It says "User control panel . . . .(0 new messages) . . . . View Your Posts"

Click the View Your Posts to see what people have said since you were last online. That'll help you keep current of advice and comments.

Does that make sense? Can you see that?
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Please take a look at Scooter's spreadsheethttps://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AqyJS-ud54lgdHU2S2FwczByM3YwU2JjRFduOWJLUHc&output=html

Scroll down to Feb 19th. That's the morning after the dry food left Scooter's house. Do you see what a difference it made in his numbers? From 5.5u to nothing. Everything under 120 is a healthy number that says "this cat's diabetes is now under control because of a change in diet."

That's how important the low carb canned food is. Try the tips in the article & let us know how the transitioning goes. Just be aware of that potential need for a lot less insulin.

You may not need that dose increase if you can start reducing his dry food intake.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

great advice and well done with scooter!!! today was the start of transition of the food.it certainly isn't going to be easy after 9 years on dry food.although its diabetic food its still full of carbs!today ive mixed it with the canned protein food but he wouldn't eat it so I left that aside on the floor cos I knew hed come back to that a little later on when he was hungry but then fed him his chicken and portion of dry food.5 hours later the mixed stuff had gone :-D its all a learning curve and so much to take in at the moment.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

great job getting him started on the transition! some cats go easily, some find it painful! if he's eating it at all, you're on the way!

we've given you a ton of information above, so make sure you take your time and read through it all carefully when you have a chance.

the learning curve with feline diabetes is really steep! but in 2 weeks you'll be amazed at how much you've learned. just keep plugging! it gets infinitely easier!
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

hi Julie.bailey is 9 and the only condition hes had over the years is straiuvite crystals but they've tested recently for those and he seemed ok.theyve also checked his kidneys etc 3 weeks ago that came back ok. hes never had any steroid injections.his weight was 6.7kg (he was a big boy and still is) but hes lost abit of weight with this)
have mention about the food situation in last post .
I cant change the times of insulin shots as I work shifts so somedays I can do a 7am-4pm,10am-7pm,1pm-9pm,4am-12pm so the only time in the day where I know fro definate il be home is 12.30pm.
he was up to 5 units of cansulin.ive got all his readings from that but they were all over the place.some days 25.6 the 8.5 but it was like that from 1 unit onwards.there was never really a pattern if that makes sense.then he went in to have his fructosimine checked 3 weeks ago which is when the vet said it was higher than before hence swapping to lantus!
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Just so you get the big picture, we do try to take the dose of a previous insulin into account. If Bailey was up to 5u of Caninsulin, he may need more Lantus than what you're currently giving. However, you'll work the dose up to whatever amount Bailey needs systematically so you won't miss what would be a good dose.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Hello and Welcome to Lantus Land! :cool:

This is the best place for you and your kitty to be.

Glad to see you are working on transitioning Bailey to the proper diet of all wet low carb (LC) food - it's the best foundation for a successful treatment plan.

Hang in there and hang in here - things will get better.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

its 3 hours after injection and the read is higher the pre shot.i just don't under stand whats happening.should it not go down rather than up.its all so worrying!
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Could just be a food spike.

There will always be day to day, hour to hour fluctuations in glucose. It is never a smooth line.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

There is an odd phenomenon with Lantus that we refer to as "new dose wonkiness" (NDW). When this happens, when you raise the dose, rather than numbers coming down they way you would expect, they go up for a brief time.

Also, it will help if you remember that unlike short acting insulin, Lantus can take a while to have an effect. This is why it's important to let and change in dose stabilize. The depot needs to "catch up" with any change.
 
Re: blood readings still cant get spread sheet.baileys worse

Anna

Welcome to you and Bailey. While we've conversed a bit in PMs about getting his SS up and running, I haven't had a chance to welcome you all to Lantus Land.

I don't think you'd be seeing a food spike at +3; typically we start to see onset by then. However, when we increase the dose, we sometimes see higher numbers for 24 hours or so as Sienne explained. And sometimes we just see numbers we don't expect to see at times we don't expect to see them. It can be difficult to train ourselves to not overthink it.

Think of Lantus dose changes as a cruise ship. You can turn the wheel but the ship takes a while to change direction.

You and Bailey are doing great! Grab some sleep when you can. Good job getting a nighttime test!
 
ive just tested his blood and the reading was 3.9 so I haven't given him a jab cos I didn't know what to do.hes due it in 15mins.help! ive fed him and hes eaten so hopefully it wont go lower!
 
I have to log off, to go to work.
If you already fed Bailey, then if you test again in 30 minutes the numbers will be influenced by the food spike.
Next time, you get a pre shot test you are worried about, stall the feeding, and post for advice.

Others will be along shortly. I would test 30 minutes after your last test anyway, just to see where Bailey's at.
I don't think you have enough data yet to be shooting these low numbers, so you'll probably be advised to skip this shot, unless your shot schedule is flexible enough to stall until he comes up (without the influence of food) and then your next shot would be due 12 hours after that shot.

If no one comes on to assist you in the next half hour or so, then I would say to just go ahead and feed as normal, and resume the insulin tonight.
 
Definitely too low to shoot when you haven't a lot of data yet.

Safer to wait until the next shot time.

This is encouraging. He may be responding to the insulin.

How are the 5 Ps (we call this the whole cat report)?
Pooping
Peeing
Purring/contentment
Playing/activity
Preening/grooming
 
I agree. Skip this one but get a test anyway in two hours to see what he is doing. More data the better.. Let's see if he can hold green for a wee while.
 
Re: help.advice please!

I held off the shot and rang vet as I was terrified! she said to hold off and retest so an hour which I did and it was 398.so I gave him 1 unit as advised by the vet. then retested 2 hours later and it was 331.so I will check again in 3 hours.i fed him fresh cooked chicken and no carbs this morning so the low reading could have something to do with that.the vet has said to give him his 2.5 at usual time of 12.30am.is that the right thing to do?ive filled out all his readings on the spreadsheet
 
Anna:

I have a sneaky suspicion that the initial test with the 70 may have been a bad test or a bad strip. Whenever I get a test result that seems to be out of context, I re-test just to make sure it wasn't a wonky test. While it's entirely possible for a cat to drop from the 400s to the 40s, to have had a 70 at AMPS and then a 398 at +1 would be unusual unless you were feeding very high carb food.

This next part may be a little confusing so bear with me. When you tested and got the 70, if I'm understanding correctly, that would be your usual AMPS (i.e., at 12:30). Since you didn't actually give a shot, it's really not your AMPS (i.e., it wasn't your pre-shot test). Instead, it was your +12 (or it can be referred to as your AMBG -- AM Blood Glucose). From your post, it sounds like you tested and shot an hour after your usual shot time (i.e., your +13). Since the 398 was the number that allowed you to shoot, that's actually your AMPS. You'll need to adjust this information on your SS.

Since you gave a shot at other than your usual shot time, your PM shot is due 12 hours later. Again, if I'm understanding correctly, your AM shot was at 1:30 so your PM shot would be due at 1:30 BUT, you need to move the shot back to your preferred time. Ordinarily, we would suggest that you can use one of two options:
  • move the shot time by 15 min. at each shot (i.e., at AMPS and PMPS) until you're back to your preferred shot time or
  • move the time by 30 min. once a day until you're back on schedule.
We tend to make gradual shifts since an early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction due to the effect that time has on the insulin depot.

In Bailey's case, since Bailey's numbers have been high, if you are home before 12:30 and can get a test and post, providing his numbers are still on the high end (i.e., 300s or above), it may be OK to shoot an hour early. However, since an early shot acts like a dose increase, it will be important to get some tests like you did last night.

Let me know if this doesn't make sense.
 
no I totally understand but I will have to do it half an early as I need to get it around my lunch hour time tomorrow.hes going in the vet on Monday to check fructosimine and for ketones etc..I just want to be on the safe side.theres so much to learn but im getting there.im wondering whether the low read was due to the fact I gave him just chicken as I usually give him dry diabetic food but im trying to get him off that after all the advice on here.im honestly doing my hardest to make him righti worry if he has a low reading like that and im at work bless him.if anything happened id feel like it was my fault.i do his nadir check an hour later as I was an hour after normal preshot time to see where were at!
 
Anna

We'd also like to ask if you could please start a new condo every day and link the previous day's condo. While the Main Health forum doesn't do that, we need to do it here because we have so many members actively posting each and every day. So when you get home, you could just open a new topic, put in the subject line:

2/24 Anna's Bailey AMBG 70

and link this condo :-D :-D

Thank you!!!
 
That is wonderful, Anna!!! Keep eating that mush, Bailey!!!

You've gotten so much great info here, and there is so much to absorb, but I just want to say want an awesome, awesome job you are doing!
 
Just make sure you know that not all canned food is low carb! You need to find foods that are under 10% carb (and this info isn't on the cans!). You night want to check with your contact in the UK for which brands are LC.

Many kitties really like canned food. I guess Bailey is one of them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top