Help ASAP do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtybirdsoaps

Member Since 2014
Just had Hideys curve done today to get on prozinc. Got him home about an hour ago and I give him his insulin about 7:30. I just tested him and he's 158 with the reli on meter. The vet put him on 2 units of prozinc 2 x a day. Do I still give him the 2 units of prozinc with him being 158? Thank you
 
Was looking at ss but it's not much help. I would retest in 20 minutes, without feeding, and see if he is sure rising and nearer 200. If so, I'd cut the dose by a little - maybe to 1.5 if you can monitor tonight. Maybe one unit if you can't.

If he just started on ProZinc, you can't be sure what kind of numbers you'll see. Better safe than sorry.
 
Just to be prepared, in case you need to steer the numbers a bit, be sure to have some Karo syrup, or high carb gravied food.

If the glucose starts to approach 50 mg/dL (human meter) or 80 (pet meter), post here, and give 1-2 teaspoons of high carb, wait 30 min, and retest. Repeat as needed to stay above 50 mg/dL.
 
thank you for the help. I apologize about not updating Hideys SS. For some reason I cant update it on my ipad :sad: I didn't end up giving him a shot last night. He dropped more last night so I thought best to leave it alone. This morning I did give him a shot AMPS was 363 so I gave him the 2 units the vet said. I figure Ill keep testing every hour or every other hour today to get a feel for prozinc.
 
Glad you skipped last night. And today's amps is not bad for 24 hours since the last shot. I am going to guess that you may need to lower the dose a bit as 2 units gave you an unshootable pmps. You want to find a dose that gives you two shootable preshots.

If you want dosing advice and to see how others are dealing with ProZinc, you can also post on the ProZinc forum:


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24
 
Thank you for the advice. I was wondering if I should lower the dosage it seemed a bit high with those results. The only reason I did the 2 units this morning was because they said he wouldn't really eat for them. Just tested again and he was 350 at +2. Question, since hes been on insulin now and his ears are getting used to the testing, what gauge lancet do you suggest? right now Im using the 28 g from alphatrak2
 
If he is bleeding fine, you could use a finer lancet - maybe a 30/31?

The +2 is probably a food rise. If you can get a number between 5-7 hours, that would be great.
 
Thank you Sue. I just went out and bought 30 gauge since I only have a couple 28's left. I just took his BG and at +5 he is 73. At least it seems the prozinc is doing a lot better for him so far, although the vet made me hound them to get it for him. I'll keep checking him every 1-2 hrs but I think your right on bringing his units down some. I figured I'd end up going through this that's why I was so mad they made me take him in for a curve, then as I was leaving the vet told me to check his bg in a week or so, I was like ummmm no he'll be tested at LEAST 2 x a day, Im glad I did, could you imagine if I didn't and gave him a shot last night!
 
Nice to see Hidey again!

If you can, try to get a +6. ProZinc's nadir is usually a little later than the previous insulin he was on, so he may go down yet. Looking good!
 
He is looking good. You definitely need to post on the PZI forum and get dose input. I think a dose reduction is probably a good idea. If nothing else, he may take a few days to adapt to the ProZinc and might gradually go down lower.

Well, when you get him OTJ (anti jinx) you can fax your spreadsheet to the vet and says thanks for the ProZinc. It did a much better job! And no, I would not take him any for any more vet curves - just send your ss.
 
Yup +6 is 47 :o Definitely thinking a reduction. I will also post in the PZI forum about the reduction. Hidey's acting fine but luckily Im home all day to be able to keep an eye on him, not to mention have food he loves with a little higher carbs, higher carb treats, honey, and karo.....I have my tools lol.

And yes, if I get him to the point where no insulin is needed I will be holding it over their heads. That's why I cant even believe she told me to test him in a week or two for his bg when I made her a copy of his SS to show his numbers. Im really hoping since he's on prozinc now he'll have a good chance for remission. My fingers are crossed, although I think he's liking the treats. I give him a treat every time I test or shoot. Is this bad or harmful? They are the halo freeze dried treats. Which is so funny because I don't really give my other two cats Yuri and Hot Rod treats as often but they both love them. Yuri is devious......per the picture. I woke up in the morning and walked into the kitchen to feed them and I find a container of treats laying on the floor between Hidey and Yuri. I ran in the other room, woke my husband up and told him, grabbed my phone and snuck up on them and took this pic. After I got closer I noticed there was another container OPEN laying in front of Yuri half gone. I guess I forgot to screw the lid on tight LOL.
 

Attachments

  • guilty!yuri treats.jpg
    guilty!yuri treats.jpg
    48.6 KB · Views: 295
Yes, the 47 was at +6. I rechecked at +8 and he was 78. He was feed about 7:30 AM. He's had a few treats throughout the day when ever I have tested him but they've been the freeze dried halo chicken.

I just want to say thank you again for all the help. I feel so much more confident then when I first found out he had diabetes ad I would probably still be a wreck if I just went off what my vet said. Everyone here is amazing, helpful and caring.
 
Ok thanks for grabbing that +8. 50 or below you're probably going to want to test every half hour or so to ensure that you're staying out of trouble, at least until you get a handle on Hidey's patterns on ProZinc. :smile: Let's see where he's at at PMPS, and we'll go from there! I replied on your post in the PZI forum and will watch for Hidey's PMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top