Help! Any ProZinc users?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JBat75

Member Since 2022
Kaia is 6 weeks recovered from DKA. She's always had high BG but we switched from Novolin N to ProZinc after 4 years due to DKA. I hoped it was just the insulin. However, her numbers are still really high, I'm concerned.
I've changed her food and dosage. Now what??? Her last reading was +6 was 266 today.
 
When Magic switched from Vetsulin to ProZinc it took several weeks for his body to figure out how to use it correctly before his numbers finally fell.
 
Kaia is 6 weeks recovered from DKA. She's always had high BG but we switched from Novolin N to ProZinc after 4 years due to DKA. I hoped it was just the insulin. However, her numbers are still really high, I'm concerned.
I've changed her food and dosage. Now what??? Her last reading was +6 was 266 today.

I will tag a few prozinc users for you but you have to keep your spreadsheet up to date. Did you give any insulin on 1-19 PMPS ?
Are you still feeding the WD Crunchy?
You need to be testing after the PMPS cycle ,we are only seeing half the picture
Have you read the 2 dosing methods for prozinc , when you decide which one you want to follow please add it to your signature. I'll post it below

@JanetNJ

@FrostD

Thanks ladies


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
 
Last edited:
Are you still working on food transition? What's rough amounts of wet dry? Can't answer anything else til I know the situation with that
 
Ok, I've updated my spreadsheet. Food transition was REALLY easy. She LOVES Dr. Elseys clean protein chicken! Unfortunately, so does my other cat. No more WD!
I give her 1/8th cup dry food and 1/2 can Fancy feast. I've been maybe giving a bit more as I was told to feed more after DKA.
I try really hard to get readings after PMPS. I have 3 autoimmune diseases which make me sick and very tired, and 2 jobs. Plus 2 sick cats. UGH! And Kaia sleeps UNDER my bed at night.
That's why I was really hoping the Libre would help, but it still seems off.
I will tag a few prozinc users for you but you have to keep your spreadsheet up to date. Did you give any insulin on 1-19 PMPS ?
Are you still feeding the WD Crunchy?
You need to be testing after the PMPS cycle ,we are only seeing half the picture
Have you read the 2 dosing methods for prozinc , when you decide which one you want to follow please add it to your signature. I'll post it below

@JanetNJ

@FrostD

Thanks ladies


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
I don't know what 'adding to signature' means. I do give her insulin every 12 hours
 
Last edited:
And of course... fur shot tonight. They attached the libre on her scruff whete I give insulin. Makes it difficult
 
ProZinc was a wise choice. You'll find a lot more specific dosing and diet advice in the ProZinc forum. There's nothing wrong with posting both here and in ProZinc as long as the questions are not directly related. It won't affect your profile, someone can even transfer (I think) this entire thread to the ProZinc forum.
Kaia has a very unique face and front paws. The name means 'wise child' and 'gift of God', is that what you think of when you're doing the litter? :banghead:
 
Her BG is 139 at +4... thats the lowest I've seen. I was afraid of it dropping too much lower so I gave her food. Good idea or no? Why does she peak so early?
 
Last edited:
Nadir at +4 is very very common for ProZinc.

No need to feed but no harm either...she could get all the way down to 60s and still technically be safe (though we want nadir between 90-100). Since it was probably nadir and you fed, you'll probably see quite a BG jump due to carbs + insulin wearing off. Ideally you want to stop feeding about 30 mins before nadir, unless she's in dangerous/low numbers.
 
Nadir at +4 is very very common for ProZinc.

No need to feed but no harm either...she could get all the way down to 60s and still technically be safe (though we want nadir between 90-100). Since it was probably nadir and you fed, you'll probably see quite a BG jump due to carbs + insulin wearing off. Ideally you want to stop feeding about 30 mins before nadir, unless she's in dangerous/low numbers.
Thank you!!
 
Ok, this is where I get confused. Do I still feed her other than her shot time? A meal during the day?
 
Ok, this is where I get confused. Do I still feed her other than her shot time? A meal during the day?
Is her appetite good? Weight good?

If so, you will want to feed most of her food split up between AMPS and PMPS. Looking at her trend, I would actually feed small hourly snacks at +1, +2, and +3. If this makes sense - 1/4 of her total daily food at AMPS, 1/4 split up evenly between AM +1/+2/+3, 1/4 of her total daily food at PMPS, and the remaining 1/4 split up between PM +1/+2/+3.

She dives hard and fast, that will help slow her down and prevent bouncing. The +3 snack is optional if that will be too difficult to manage, you can try +1 and +2 first to see how that works. You may need to make PS smaller to encourage the +1/+2/+3 snacks

Can she make it 8 hours without food? If not, I would give a very small snack (2 tsp maybe) around +7 or +8 to tide her over
 
Ok, her preshot number per Relion is 380
And 500 Per Libre.
Still not reading right, so frustrating!!
I'll still give her the same insulin...
Trust the relion correct?

I just used relion again.. 457. What do I believe??
 
Last edited:
ProZinc was a wise choice. You'll find a lot more specific dosing and diet advice in the ProZinc forum. There's nothing wrong with posting both here and in ProZinc as long as the questions are not directly related. It won't affect your profile, someone can even transfer (I think) this entire thread to the ProZinc forum.
Kaia has a very unique face and front paws. The name means 'wise child' and 'gift of God', is that what you think of when you're doing the litter? :banghead:
Her face is definitely unique (I love her stripe) her front paws look that way from being shaved. She was in the ICU for 3 days. Her fur has since grown back
 
Ok, her preshot number per Relion is 380
And 500 Per Libre.
Still not reading right, so frustrating!!
I'll still give her the same insulin...
Trust the relion correct?

I just used relion again.. 457. What do I believe??
All meter variance! Remember 20% meter variance. Realistically it's probably split right down the middle around 440
 
All meter variance! Remember 20% meter variance. Realistically it's probably split right down the middle around 440

Would her glucose go up from 380 to 457 in 25 minutes Normally? Or is my meter really off? Too much blood? Not enough? Does it make a difference?
 
Would her glucose go up from 380 to 457 in 25 minutes Normally? Or is my meter really off? Too much blood? Not enough? Does it make a difference?
No way of knowing, unfortunately it's just the way the meters are. I consider it flat. I wouldn't give it too much thought - high is high. The meter variance doesn't really matter at those numbers (and anything is better than the HI!).

Good on the snacks, I thought you might have when I saw the 221. That's perfect, a nice slower curve and hopefully she doesn't bounce. It will also allow you to raise the dose eventually and hopefully start getting her overall numbers down.
 
Here is a chart showing where you can give the insulin shots.
Are you still testing for ketones? If there have been none so far, I would still be checking a couple of times a week and can you put the results into the remarks column of the SS please?

Yes, please feed more than just twice a day. It is better for diabetic cats, but especially post DKA cats

upload_2022-1-27_15-21-3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-1-27_15-21-3.jpeg
    upload_2022-1-27_15-21-3.jpeg
    52.3 KB · Views: 202
It's unusual for that to cause diarrhea, but give it a few days. Are you giving any probiotics? Any vomiting?
 
Most of us use s. boulardii and start with 1/4 capsule a day. It won't work if her B12 levels are low, if she has EPI, or hyperthyroidism...but chances are you'd know if she had any of those), and no harm in trying it anyway.

This is what I use, but I know some use Visbiome or Kibow as well
https://www.vitaminshoppe.com/p/jar...A45gR21ljVkUKq3NWW3rLy3_YpvA3b0kaAqYbEALw_wcB

If you get another one, just check the ingredients for anything that would exacerbate the diabetes.
 
What about FortiFlora?
This is what my vet gives my other kitty
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top