Help? AMPS 355 +11 @152 don't shoot in an hour?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Test in an hour. He could go up a lot by then. Can you monitor for the first half of the cycle? Do you have plenty of test strips, karo or honey, and hc food if needed. Be thinking about that until yountest again.
 
I just tested again 30 minutes later and he is at 187.

Yes I have those supplies if needed :)

I can test him for about the first 4 hours then I would need to go to bed for work in the morning. Thank you!

Lisa
 
Last edited:
Test in an hour. He could go up a lot by then. Can you monitor for the first half of the cycle? Do you have plenty of test strips, karo or honey, and hc food if needed. Be thinking about that until yountest again.

Should I wait another half hour before giving insulin? This is first time he has dropped into that range. I switched him to 1.25u today from 1u of Lantus. He has only gotten one dose of 1.25u this morning
 
Test in an hour. He could go up a lot by then. Can you monitor for the first half of the cycle? Do you have plenty of test strips, karo or honey, and hc food if needed. Be thinking about that until yountest again.

Also should I hold off on feeding yet also?
 
Get the test and post the number. Don't feed in case you need to stall . He's coming up so let's see where he is in a half hour. If he's dropping at +4 would you be able to set an alarm to test later? Do you have an auto feeder? I can't promise you won't need to stay up longer.
 
Get the test and post the number. Don't feed in case you need to stall.hes coming up so let's see where he is in a half hour. If he's dropping at +4 would you be able to set an alarm to test later? Do you have an auto feeder?

Yes I can set an alarm - I do not have an automatic feeder just feeding the wet food and if I put it down he will gobble it up like a dog haha
 
Did you test again? Provided you are comfortable and able to monitor and as long as he hasn't dropped I think you should feed and shoot.

If younshoot get a +1 and +2 and post.
 
Last edited:
Did you test again? Provided you are comfortable and able to monitor and as long as he hasn't dropped I think you should feed and shoot.

If younshoot get a +1 and +2 and post.

Just re tested - he is at 205 - I am feeding now and going to give a shot of 1.25u then monitor the next few hours on the hour you suggest? Thanks!!
 
I would get a +1 and +2 since this is a low preshot for him. I'd also feed a little at each test. The +2 will likely give an indication about tonight.
 
I would get a +1 and +2 since this is a low preshot for him. I'd also feed a little at each test. The +2 will likely give an indication about tonight.

Thank you! Will do!

I wonder why his number all of a sudden dropped - is that common? Since he has pretty much been between 250-350 recently
 
I wonder why his number all of a sudden dropped - is that common?
You've increased his dose - and even a small increase can make a big difference when you're at the right dose. Congratulations - it's good to see blue on his spreadsheet! Next stop - green numbers!

It looks to me like he's beginning to bounce. If your next test is higher than the 229, take the night off and give him a break. A bounce can last for as long as 3 days. There's a user-friendly explanation of a bounce in the 2nd post in this thread.
 
You've increased his dose - and even a small increase can make a big difference when you're at the right dose. Congratulations - it's good to see blue on his spreadsheet! Next stop - green numbers!

It looks to me like he's beginning to bounce. If your next test is higher than the 229, take the night off and give him a break. A bounce can last for as long as 3 days. There's a user-friendly explanation of a bounce in the 2nd post in this thread.

Thank you! I was excited and scared at the same time when I saw 152! I was like wait what?! Because I am so used to the level being mid 250-350 over the last few weeks. Pretty excited though! Just nervous don't want his level to go too low fast or hurt my Nacho :)
 
He'll get used to being in a lower range - just remind yourself that you want this. Getting his body under renal threshold - the point where his kidneys can't process the glucose - is so important to protect his kidneys. And before you ask what that point is, it varies from cat to cat. Could be anywhere from 145 or so up - most vets suggest 200-250ish. You can test Nacho's urine if you really want to know.

As long as you are testing when you need to, you'll be able to keep him safe.
 
You've increased his dose - and even a small increase can make a big difference when you're at the right dose. Congratulations - it's good to see blue on his spreadsheet! Next stop - green numbers!

It looks to me like he's beginning to bounce. If your next test is higher than the 229, take the night off and give him a break. A bounce can last for as long as 3 days. There's a user-friendly explanation of a bounce in the 2nd post in this thread.

Just tested him and he is at 207 - do you recommend I wait for a +3? Or set an alarm for a +4? :)
 
I'd set an alarm for +4. That's not significantly different from the 229, but I'd probably feel best with one more test before going to bed.

Just a tip - I found that I had to snooze on the sofa with a light on, rather than relying on waking up in my nice warm bed, in a lovely dark room, even with a loud alarm. I slept through several times with punkin til I realized that I just couldn't go to bed and expect I'd wake up again.
 
I'd set an alarm for +4. That's not significantly different from the 229, but I'd probably feel best with one more test before going to bed.

Just a tip - I found that I had to snooze on the sofa with a light on, rather than relying on waking up in my nice warm bed, in a lovely dark room, even with a loud alarm. I slept through several times with punkin til I realized that I just couldn't go to bed and expect I'd wake up again.

Will do!

Question for when I work tomorrow and this week - is there a pre shot number that I would decide not to give insulin before I leave for work for 8 hours?

Thank you!
 
It's a gradual process - you want to shoot lower and lower numbers until you're shooting everything over 90 (since you're following SLGS.) Shooting lower will help you lower his entire range of blood sugar and help it flatten out. However, each time you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, do it when you can monitor afterwards. If you're going to be off to work and he's starting lower than usual, either figure out how to come home and test him, figure out how to get food to him on your schedule, or be conservative in your dosing.

Here is a post I wrote someone else about this - there are links to spreadsheets and other information that is worth reading.

There isn't any way any of us can give a specific number that is safe to shoot and go to work. We've had cats here that can go from 400 to 40 in a couple of hours (Sienne's Gabby and Dyana's JD are 2 examples). You take what you've learned about Nacho and make the best decision you can. Punkin never dove fast, so I didn't worry about that particular scenario. I had a timed feeder - and Punkin was trained to eat from it when it opened. So if his preshot was lower than typical, I loaded up the timed feeder and had it go off several times. Someone later told me that they had 2 timed feeders, so they could schedule 8 openings of the feeder. I thought that was brilliant. There are lots of tips like that in the sticky at the top of this group about how to follow Tight Regulation while working full-time.

It's possible - just takes some thought.
 
It's a gradual process - you want to shoot lower and lower numbers until you're shooting everything over 90 (since you're following SLGS.) Shooting lower will help you lower his entire range of blood sugar and help it flatten out. However, each time you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, do it when you can monitor afterwards. If you're going to be off to work and he's starting lower than usual, either figure out how to come home and test him, figure out how to get food to him on your schedule, or be conservative in your dosing.

Here is a post I wrote someone else about this - there are links to spreadsheets and other information that is worth reading.

There isn't any way any of us can give a specific number that is safe to shoot and go to work. We've had cats here that can go from 400 to 40 in a couple of hours (Sienne's Gabby and Dyana's JD are 2 examples). You take what you've learned about Nacho and make the best decision you can. Punkin never dove fast, so I didn't worry about that particular scenario. I had a timed feeder - and Punkin was trained to eat from it when it opened. So if his preshot was lower than typical, I loaded up the timed feeder and had it go off several times. Someone later told me that they had 2 timed feeders, so they could schedule 8 openings of the feeder. I thought that was brilliant. There are lots of tips like that in the sticky at the top of this group about how to follow Tight Regulation while working full-time.

It's possible - just takes some thought.

Thank you! I did a +5 and he was at 204 last night
 
You've increased his dose - and even a small increase can make a big difference when you're at the right dose. Congratulations - it's good to see blue on his spreadsheet! Next stop - green numbers!

It looks to me like he's beginning to bounce. If your next test is higher than the 229, take the night off and give him a break. A bounce can last for as long as 3 days. There's a user-friendly explanation of a bounce in the 2nd post in this thread.

Tested him this morning - and he was back in the 350s.... guess it was a sporadic low test?! Will keep monitoring to see how he does over the next few days :) hoping to see more blue tests again soon!
 
He's bouncing from the blue numbers he saw. It's not really a sporadic low test. The lowest numbers tell you how low this dose can cause his blood sugar to go - and those lows are the numbers that help you make decisions about what to do with his dose.

For right now, I'd guess that he'll probably bounce for the entire 3 days since he isn't at all used to blue numbers - which would mean I'd be looking for him to begin to resolve the bounce perhaps Tuesday evening to Wednesday afternoon. The more he gets used to lower numbers the shorter the bounces will last, but since that was his first blue, I'd bet on 3 days for this bounce.

By the way, go ahead and start a new thread each day. It helps keep this busy group manageable! There's more on that in the "Basics: New to the Group?" sticky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top