Help (again) Re: Yoko, can't stall today- Dose Suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gabrielle

Member Since 2014
HI Yoko's SS is in the signature. I just did her AMPS and it's 198, I need to go out in an hour for a few hours. I had to stall last night. Can someone look at her numbers and suggest a reduced dose. Last night I dropped it to .75 and it seemed ok. Should I do that again?
Many thanks,
Gab
 
Re: Help (again) Re: Yoko, can't stall today- Dose Suggestio

Hi Gabrielle,

I don't know if you've given the shot yet but a reduced dose certainly sounds like a good idea to me.
I'd suggest you post on the Lantus TR forum for further advice if possible before shooting, as you will catch the attention of more 'Lantus eyes' that way.

Eliz

Edited to add: Gabrielle, I've posted a link to this thread in the Lantus TR forum to direct attention here.
 
Re: Help (again) Re: Yoko, can't stall today- Dose Suggestio

No dosing advice from me but I will share my experience from this weekend. Max was getting 2.5 units and I knew I would be away all day Saturday. I gave a reduced dose of 1.75 Friday night and Saturday morning. I don't know if one reduced shot will drain the depot. Are you new to insulin or just new to home testing. The tell newbies not to shoot under 200.
 
Re: Help (again) Re: Yoko, can't stall today- Dose Suggestio

Hi Gabrielle!

I'm not sure what you ended up doing today, but your kitty is doing really well on a very tiny dose. I see you joined back in May, so perhaps Yoko has been diabetic since then - is that right?

I am wondering if you're aware that cats have the ability to have their pancreas heal and go off of insulin? They then become diet-controlled. Since Yoko is still newly diagnosed (less than 1 year) if you are interested in having her become diet-controlled, I'd encourage you to look around on the Tight Regulation Insulin Support Group. The premise of Tight Regulation is that if you keep a cat's blood sugar "tightly regulated", meaning as much as possible to keep their blood sugar in normal numbers (50-120), their pancreas can heal and the cat can work off of insulin. The chances are best in a cat soon after diagnosis (within the first year) but we've had cats go off even after several years.

Take a peek at the yellow starred stickies above where people are posting and see what questions it raises for you. It just looks to me like you have a kitty doing well who might be able to become diet-controlled. People do work full time and still can follow TR - there are some "tricks" people use to help manage that.
 
Re: Help (again) Re: Yoko, can't stall today- Dose Suggestio

Hi all, and thank you Julie for the tight regulation info. I ended up giving her .75 Units and just got home and did a +3.75 and she is at 217 (higher than the AMPS of 196...? Someone reached out to me from my first post on Saturday night and suggested that and I am going to implement it as best I can as I would like my girl to be OTJ :)

Yoko was diagnosed late March and I found the forum in May. My vet did tell me that some kitties can get healthy again, and I think that is what led me to look up more info. He is fairly laid back and has a diabetic cat himself, so I didn't make a big deal out of the dx. However, when Yoko's #'s were low at a couple of curves I decided that I needed to step up and get a good picture of what's going on with her and started home testing 3 days ago. I am so glad I did and for all of you to help us do what is best for her!

She switched to canned food about 3 weeks ago and I am currently trying out varieties of LC canned food to see what she will eat. I always have Friskies pates as a fall back.
 
Re: Help (again) Re: Yoko, can't stall today- Dose Suggestio

sounds like you are on the right track with everything! the switch to low carb canned food, instead of dry, can make a huge difference in the amount of insulin needed.

i want to point out the document with the most recent information on the protocol. If you look at the Tight Regulation Protocol post, go about 5 paragraphs down from the top and look for the PDF that has to be downloaded. It's called "Management of Diabetic Cats Using Long-Lasting Insulins." That's the protocol that is the only one for treating a diabetic cat that has been published in a professional veterinary journal. Even if it's difficult to read, you can plod through and get the gist of it.

My vet also had 2 diabetic cats, didn't test at home and didn't follow the TR protocol. Her cats were life-long maintained on insulin. that's fine if that's what you want, but with the stats for the success rate of newly diagnosed cats going off of insulin, i'd sure want the information so i could try with my cat. becoming diet-controlled is pretty awesome.

On the TR support group page we have 4 cats on the 2 week trial of no insulin to see if they are ready to be called diet-controlled. It's a really successful protocol.

If you want to learn more about it, just post over there and we'll teach you what you need to know to keep Yoko safe in the process. :-D
 
Re: Help (again) Re: Yoko, can't stall today- Dose Suggestio

Just my two cents....

But if you can at least try it, the TR Protocol is the way to go....they have helped me get my cat Skooter from a full dry diet and 5u of insulin to an all wet diet (which was scary as he has IBD) and currently on .75u of insulin.....

I never thought Skooter would be OTJ, but now it seems like it could maybe happen!

Whichever route you take, Skooter and I wish you the best of luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top