Help/advice on dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like Oswald could use an increase from 1 to 1.25U.

Have you decided on TR (Tight Regulation) or SLGS (Start Low, Go Slow) dosing protocol?

If SLGS, then since the nadirs are >150 mg/dL, you should increase the dose by 0.25U.

You can put the SS into your signature.That way it's there permanently, view only for us to see it. You then would not have to keep linking the SS with every post.

Do you need directions on how to do that?
 
Hello there!

Hmm, yeah Oswald's numbers are up there, but they aren't crazy-high (we've seen a lot worse here, anyway!), and usually with Lantus we recommend that the initial dose is held for 5-7 days, just to see what it looks like after the depot has settled. With the half-dose a couple days ago, I think you've got a couple days to go before evaluating the dose.

Have you had a chance to look at any of the stickies in the Lantus forum? There's a lot of information there, in particular there are two dosing methods used on that forum that provide a systematic way of changing doses.
 
I’m just getting used to navigating this forum. So directions on linking my SS would be extremely helpful. And I will try looking around for those stickies. And I have been doing the SLGL method, I figured that might be easiest for both Oswald and I to get into the hang of things! I’ll do the 1U for a couple more days and then go from there. Thank you so much for the replies!
 
OK, if you are doing SLGS, you are definitely waiting a bit longer-- in that method, you hold a dose for 7 days before doing a curve to evaluate. More details on both methods here: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

As for adding the spreadsheet link to your signature, all you have to do is to edit your signature to add whatever name you want to give for it, like "Oswald's SS". Then, select that name, click the thing that looks like a paper clip in the editing text box, and paste in the link to the SS that you have been putting in your posts.
 
These spreadsheet setup instructions also include directions for getting your SS (spreadsheet) linked into your signature.

FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions
Look about halfway down in the above document link. Where it says
Instructions for pasting the SS link in your FDMB Signature block:
and follow the steps there.

Marje and Gracie are really busy right now, trying to get things behind the scenes working well. So if you are able to do the setup yourself, that would be great!

You're probably going to have to shorten the information you have in your signature now, to fit the SS link. Something like this. The other notes you had in your signature, you could put those types of notes on your SS (spreadsheet). There is a Remarks column on the far right, and you can always add rows for relevant notes. We look at all of that info on the SS, before we comment on the dose and other things.

KD9 and Oswald (male age xx). Dx: 3/17/20. mix of wet friskies/applaws. Kibbles for snacks. Lantus. Relion prime
Oswald's SS
 
These spreadsheet setup instructions also include directions for getting your SS (spreadsheet) linked into your signature.

FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions
Look about halfway down in the above document link. Where it says
Instructions for pasting the SS link in your FDMB Signature block:
and follow the steps there.

Marje and Gracie are really busy right now, trying to get things behind the scenes working well. So if you are able to do the setup yourself, that would be great!

You're probably going to have to shorten the information you have in your signature now, to fit the SS link. Something like this. The other notes you had in your signature, you could put those types of notes on your SS (spreadsheet). There is a Remarks column on the far right, and you can always add rows for relevant notes. We look at all of that info on the SS, before we comment on the dose and other things.

KD9 and Oswald (male age xx). Dx: 3/17/20. mix of wet friskies/applaws. Kibbles for snacks. Lantus. Relion prime
Oswald's SS
Awesome! Thank you that super helpful!
 
Ask and you shall receive.

Have you found the stickies that Nan and Amber mentioned?
Look in this forum, at the top. They are pinned or stuck there permanently, so that is why they are called "Stickies"
Lantus / Basaglar (glargine) and Levemir (detemir)

Anything in blue text is a link, and you can click on it to take you right to that document, forum, whatever.

p.s. Deb, should have been a reference librarian in a former life. ;):):p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top