stacia
Member Since 2014
First, I have to thank dirtybirdsoaps for giving me the reassurance I needed yesterday to decrease the vet's prescribed dose. I think I could have a very sick/dead cat this morning otherwise.
Her spreadsheet is below w/ all numbers.
Tasha just started insulin yesterday. The vet prescribed 2u of PZI based on a BG of 427 taken a week previously on a dry food diet. This despite me changing Tasha to 100% Friskies pate in the meantime. (Yes, I know. Grr.) I'll skip other GRR except to say her plan was "go home, inject 2u every 12 hours, come back in a week for an in-office curve."
Based on BG numbers throughout the day and the experience of the aforementioned dirtybirdsoaps, I gave her 1u at 9:30p (BG 222). At 2:30a, she was 107 and I gave her half a can of food. Now at 9:30a, her PMPS was only 181 so I don't want to shoot.
So two questions.
1. "Don't shoot under 200." So I wait an hour and retest. Then shoot what? Another 1u? My syringes don't go lower than that.
2. My girl is HUNGRY. She's telling me all about it, singing me the (angry) songs of her people. But I shouldn't feed her until she's had her insulin, right?
Thanks, this stuff seems complicated. Is it always going to be so complicated?
Her spreadsheet is below w/ all numbers.
Tasha just started insulin yesterday. The vet prescribed 2u of PZI based on a BG of 427 taken a week previously on a dry food diet. This despite me changing Tasha to 100% Friskies pate in the meantime. (Yes, I know. Grr.) I'll skip other GRR except to say her plan was "go home, inject 2u every 12 hours, come back in a week for an in-office curve."
Based on BG numbers throughout the day and the experience of the aforementioned dirtybirdsoaps, I gave her 1u at 9:30p (BG 222). At 2:30a, she was 107 and I gave her half a can of food. Now at 9:30a, her PMPS was only 181 so I don't want to shoot.
So two questions.
1. "Don't shoot under 200." So I wait an hour and retest. Then shoot what? Another 1u? My syringes don't go lower than that.
2. My girl is HUNGRY. She's telling me all about it, singing me the (angry) songs of her people. But I shouldn't feed her until she's had her insulin, right?
Thanks, this stuff seems complicated. Is it always going to be so complicated?