Help - 95 BG this morning!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

smiley747

Member Since 2015
So, we've moved Brandy up to 2 units morning and 2 units p.m. the last few days now.
Last night at 7:30 p.m. her BG was 252 This morning at 7:30 (she only let me poke her ear because I had help lol) it was only 95 !

I fed her her breakfast.

I know that is a good number to see and it's her FIRST time in the "green" but I didn't inject her because I was going to work and didn't know what to do. That is a huge drop overnight. This is stressful. My husband will probably be able to take her blood and inject her this morning, at around 9:15. Not sure at this early stage what to do
 
Last edited:
Brandy is still too low to shoot with a 166. We suggest that new insulin users do not shoot under 200. Looks like you will skip a shot this morning unless you can continue to stall however that will probably really mess up your schedule (especially since you stalled 2 hours). I would skip this morning and see what your PMPS numbers are tonight. Can you get some mid-cycle tests not just today but at night and during the day? With Prozinc, the dose you give is based on the pre-shot numbers and the nadir (mid cycle which is between +5-+7). You will probably want to reduce your dose tonight but will see what PMPS number Brandy gives you.
 
Brandy is still too low to shoot with a 166. We suggest that new insulin users do not shoot under 200. Looks like you will skip a shot this morning unless you can continue to stall however that will probably really mess up your schedule (especially since you stalled 2 hours). I would skip this morning and see what your PMPS numbers are tonight. Can you get some mid-cycle tests not just today but at night and during the day? With Prozinc, the dose you give is based on the pre-shot numbers and the nadir (mid cycle which is between +5-+7). You will probably want to reduce your dose tonight but will see what PMPS number Brandy gives you.

Ughhh. Thanks, but too late. Husb just told me he gave her 1 unit - not two. I hope she will be okay. He has to work and can't check her constantly.
 
Without knowing her nadirs, I don't know how she is going to react to this dose, but I am afraid that she is going to go very low. Any chance he could test in a couple of hours? Do you have your hypo kit ready and is familiar what to do if she goes low?
 
Is anyone at home with her, or are you both out of the house for the next couple of hours? If you are both out, is there any way that one of you could be home?
 
He's home, but working. He might be able to check her in a couple hours. She already ate some of the other cats dry food though. I can not go home. I'm at work.
 
I don't know. He is working. maybe a few hours. I work full time also
@smiley747 - Please post the BG# here when your hubby can manage another test*. Thanks. We're just wanting to make sure Brandy stays safe (not trying to alarm you).

*highly recommended, due to shooting at that low #.
 
@smiley747 - Please post the BG# here when your hubby can manage another test*. Thanks. We're just wanting to make sure Brandy stays safe (not trying to alarm you).

*highly recommended, due to shooting at that low #.

I told him to check in an hour or two. I hope he will be able to. I understand. I appreciate the info!! She did eat the other cats dry food, so that should help I'm assuming
 
Grateful he's home! If he can't test right now, would it be possible for him to keep Brandy in the room with him? That way, he can watch her too and if he sees any signs of a hypo, he can test?
 
Grateful he's home! If he can't test right now, would it be possible for him to keep Brandy in the room with him? That way, he can watch her too and if he sees any signs of a hypo, he can test?

I will ask him. I think this whole thing is stressing him out too.
 
She did eat the other cats dry food, so that should help I'm assuming
That should help some ... just now read your post to me in your "wight gain" thread re: how mush she's been resisting BG tests, so I understand how difficult it may be for your hubby to get one. So I guess I'd say, for future reference: Skip the shot if you don't get to 200 at preshot test time. As it's not the end of the world to skip a dose, and when monitoring @ mid-cycle is not doable, that's the safest course to take.:):bighug:
 
That should help some ... just now read your post to me in your "wight gain" thread re: how mush she's been resisting BG tests, so I understand how difficult it may be for your hubby to get one. So I guess I'd say, for future reference: Skip the shot if you don't get to 200 at preshot test time. As it's not the end of the world to skip a dose, and when monitoring @ mid-cycle is not doable, that's the safest course to take.:):bighug:

well, he is not too thrilled with the fact that I have to do all this in the first place and the expense. He worries it's stressing the family too much and it kinda is at times. In the future, I will skip a shot if under 200 like you said.
 
It's always toughest at the beginning. But it gets easier. It becomes a routine. And the expense went down for me once I started testing regularly at home. I only went to the vet to pick up syringes or insulin until other health concerns arrived. The expense is more at the beginning, but home testing and learning your kitty's patterns will help. It gets to the point where you are not so stressed I promise!

Looking at Brandy's spreadsheet, I think your dose is too high. You've been getting some sporadically really good numbers. 2 units seems to throw you some low numbers.

Can I ask about the times you listed? It looks like your AMPS seems to vary from 7:30 to 9...is that because some days you are stalling due to low numbers? I noticed you don't have preshots listed for those days and I'm not sure if that was because you couldn't get a test or becuase you had to stall and retest giving you too many numbers to enter.
 
It definitely is stressful at first but things seem to calm down and becomes routine after a while. Merlin is my daughter's cat. She was with him and took care of him for the first 4-5 months of his diagnosis. I really didn't want to get too involved at first. But then, she moved to Hawaii and guess what? So luckily, I decided that many people live with this successfully and there has got to be a place to find information; hence finding this place. I had no idea, no clue how much work it was going to be and it was so overwhelming. But then after about a week, I decided that I need to figure this out and know as much as I can to learn about Merlin and how it is affecting him. I found that the more that you can get involved, the quicker the stress goes away. I kind of looked at it as a quest. I knew that Alex, my daughter was going to move back to the mainland in 2-3 years, so I wanted Merlin to be around so he could be back with her. Anyway, just wanted to let you know it gets better...each day, each week. The positive note is that you are seeing some pretty good pre-shot numbers and a few blues. I just bet Brandy is trying to tell you something by sending you this green. Just need to figure it out.
 
It's always toughest at the beginning. But it gets easier. It becomes a routine. And the expense went down for me once I started testing regularly at home. I only went to the vet to pick up syringes or insulin until other health concerns arrived. The expense is more at the beginning, but home testing and learning your kitty's patterns will help. It gets to the point where you are not so stressed I promise!

Looking at Brandy's spreadsheet, I think your dose is too high. You've been getting some sporadically really good numbers. 2 units seems to throw you some low numbers.

Can I ask about the times you listed? It looks like your AMPS seems to vary from 7:30 to 9...is that because some days you are stalling due to low numbers? I noticed you don't have preshots listed for those days and I'm not sure if that was because you couldn't get a test or becuase you had to stall and retest giving you too many numbers to enter.

that's because during the week i can do it at 7:30 and not on weekends. Sometimes I run out of time in the morning with a step daughter to take care of as well. I am not always able to test her in the morning due to time and how difficult she makes it too.
 
It definitely is stressful at first but things seem to calm down and becomes routine after a while. Merlin is my daughter's cat. She was with him and took care of him for the first 4-5 months of his diagnosis. I really didn't want to get too involved at first. But then, she moved to Hawaii and guess what? So luckily, I decided that many people live with this successfully and there has got to be a place to find information; hence finding this place. I had no idea, no clue how much work it was going to be and it was so overwhelming. But then after about a week, I decided that I need to figure this out and know as much as I can to learn about Merlin and how it is affecting him. I found that the more that you can get involved, the quicker the stress goes away. I kind of looked at it as a quest. I knew that Alex, my daughter was going to move back to the mainland in 2-3 years, so I wanted Merlin to be around so he could be back with her. Anyway, just wanted to let you know it gets better...each day, each week. The positive note is that you are seeing some pretty good pre-shot numbers and a few blues. I just bet Brandy is trying to tell you something by sending you this green. Just need to figure it out.

Thanks!!! Well, i think the sporadic good numbers are because her glucose was never that high to begin with - even not on insulin. She was usually 280 or so. I know that is too high, but I mean it wasn't super drastic high. I have other pets to take care of and a terminal pet in the house too so this is really becoming a lot, but we try.
 
Yea I hear ya. I sometimes think that I am running a hospital too. I have one cat that has Valley Fever, a horse that has cancer and glaucoma, a dog that has Pannes Disease and then, of course, Merlin who has Stage 3 kidney disease and diabetes. It seems that all that I am doing is treating, monitoring, cleaning up and nurturing here. Ok - so I have to run out for now but you have a lot of friends with you now. I have to go and take care of some raptors...when will this stop???? Anyway, keep a sense of humor and I will check in when I get back! :)
 
It's tough, I know! And having several other pets to care for can make it harder. In good news, it looks like Brandy's numbers are really good (280 not on insulin..and I assume that was at the vet? Wow!).

Do you know if your husband can grab another test sometime soon? If so, will you or he post the number and how many hours from the insulin shot it was? That'll help us to just be sure that she isn't going too low. :)
 
Yea I hear ya. I sometimes think that I am running a hospital too. I have one cat that has Valley Fever, a horse that has cancer and glaucoma, a dog that has Pannes Disease and then, of course, Merlin who has Stage 3 kidney disease and diabetes. It seems that all that I am doing is treating, monitoring, cleaning up and nurturing here. Ok - so I have to run out for now but you have a lot of friends with you now. I have to go and take care of some raptors...when will this stop???? Anyway, keep a sense of humor and I will check in when I get back! :)
lol @ running a vet hospital. Yes, exactly!! Have a great day!!! thanks
 
It's tough, I know! And having several other pets to care for can make it harder. In good news, it looks like Brandy's numbers are really good (280 not on insulin..and I assume that was at the vet? Wow!).

Do you know if your husband can grab another test sometime soon? If so, will you or he post the number and how many hours from the insulin shot it was? That'll help us to just be sure that she isn't going too low. :)

No the 280 was at home. Last test at hospital was 343. I asked him too - we'll see. If he does, I will definitely post the numbers. :) Thanks
 
Okay so to recap: at 7:30 a.m. BG was 95 - She was 166 at 9:30 a.m. and was injected ONE unit at that time (2 hours late)


Just now at 12:30 (+3) she is 239 - so she is fine. Guess I'll have to see what her # is this evening to determine dose.
 
If you want to try to post her number tonight, we'd be happy to help figure out a dose. Maybe post in the PZI forum? We're all experienced at using your insulin, so we can help you figure out what's going on. :)
 
Just now at 12:30 (+3) she is 239 - so she is fine. Guess I'll have to see what her # is this evening to determine dose.
I won't be able to get any more testing done today until this evening before her food
Sounds like she's doing just fine - good job that your DH did, getting that test in!:)
What time zone are you in - and what time will that be that you're testing for PMPS?
 
Eastern time zone in Florida. well, her normal test time would be 7:30 p.m. but I guess I have to wait to inject until 9:30 since it was 2 hours late this morning.
 
question - IF a change insulin is going to happen, is it best to do it early in treatment?? The reason I ask is that I'm not sure that it's reasonable to keep buying prozinc with a terminally ill pet in the house and other things. I'm considering switching to Novolin because it's only $25 for 1000 units. (I was already advised it is not ideal, but I MIGHT have to)
 
but I guess I have to wait to inject until 9:30 since it was 2 hours late this morning.
Not necessarily ... I'd recommend checking Brandy @ 8:30 pm your local time, too - as there's a fair enough chance she could show you a BG of 200 by then. If so, I think you might be okay to go ahead & feed, then shoot (by then, you'd probably only be dosing her about 45 minutes early) - HOWEVER, even if you elect to wait until 9:30 (which again, may not be necessary) I would highly recommend you reduce the dose tonight: If Brandy were mine, I'd go for 1.5U (a reduction of a 1/2 unit). As that low AMPS you got today means she was hanging onto that 2.0 dose too long; a pretty clear indicator that a reduction is warranted. Your goal is to have two shootable numbers: both AMPS & PMPS. Would also highly recommend you get a mid-cycle BG check in tonight (ugh, I know it's a drag setting an alarm when you have to get up & work in the a.m.:rolleyes:). But that might help ease your mind a bit - to know where she ends up around nadir time after a dose of 1.5U. And in any event, I'd not increase that dose tomorrow morning, even if she spikes you a higher AMPS. Often by holding that reduced dose for several cycles, you'll see your kitty even out.:)

Sorry about all the stress this has caused you and your hubby today. (It WILL get better for you, I know it will.:bighug:)
 
question - IF a change insulin is going to happen, is it best to do it early in treatment??
That's another "not necessarily" answer I have for you. I would assume you're not anywhere near being out of ProZinc just yet, are you?
 
Not necessarily ... I'd recommend checking Brandy @ 8:30 pm your local time, too - as there's a fair enough chance she could show you a BG of 200 by then. If so, I think you might be okay to go ahead & feed, then shoot (by then, you'd probably only be dosing her about 45 minutes early - HOWEVER, even if you elect to wait until 9:30 (which again, may not be necessary) I would highly recommend you reduce the dose tonight: If Brandy were mine, I'd go for 1.5U (a reduction of a 1/2 unit). As that low AMPS you got today means she was hanging onto that 2.0 dose too long; a pretty clear indicator that a reduction is warranted. Your goal is to have two shootable numbers: both AMPS & PMPS. Would also highly recommend you get a mid-cycle BG check in tonight (ugh, I know it's a drag setting an alarm when you have to get up & work in the a.m.:rolleyes:). But that might help ease your mind a bit - to know where she ends up around nadir time after a dose of 1.5U. And in any event, I'd not increase that dose tomorrow morning, even if she spikes you a higher AMPS. Often by holding that reduced dose for several cycles, you'll see your kitty even out.:)

Sorry about all the stress this has caused you and your hubby today. (It WILL get better for you, I know it will.:bighug:)

Thanks! We had decided to try her on 1.5 units also! We have not yet tried that dose. Maybe 2 units is too much and 1 is not enough, so that sounds like a good plan! thanks
 
That's another "not necessarily" answer I have for you. I would assume you're not anywhere near being out of ProZinc just yet, are you?
no about a 1/2 bottle left but I'd rather switch her now than later IF it would be better for her than keep on the prozinc another month or whatever
 
If she was mine, I would stick with ProZinc for now. Since you still have half a bottle, I'd keep going with it (after all you already paid for it). With luck, maybe she can get OTJ on that since she already has low numbers. And if not, hopefully at least you get her regulated. When you are low on insulin is a good time to decide if you want to switch.

I'd also recommend waiting since that way you can read up about Novolin. It's true that it is a much harsher insulin that ProZinc or the L insulins. I believe it lasts roughly 8 to 10 hours in cats, so you may have to dose 3 times a day (every 8 hours) if you switch to ensure that you keep her regulated. I don't have any experience with N (most people here don't) so you may want to do a search or start a thread to get input so you can be fully informed on how to dose and what to do if you do switch ahead of time. :)
 
velociraptors
I had to look up that one...you all sure know your dinosaurs.

So glad to hear Brandy is ok. Sorry for the four alarm but it looks like she went the opposite route of going high than rather go low. I am so happy and am so glad your husband was able to check on her. Well looking forward to her numbers tonight.
 
I'd also recommend waiting since that way you can read up about Novolin. It's true that it is a much harsher insulin that ProZinc or the L insulins. I believe it lasts roughly 8 to 10 hours in cats
Here's the link for the sticky we have on that type of insulin (Humulin N is the same stuff - Novolin is just the other brand name for it):
Humulin N Primer
 
Yes i know Its not great. But i have had two vets locally say they only use it..i guess lack of info but One said most of his clients can't afford anything else. Pros n con's i guess
 
Ye
Which is actually lower than the PMPS you got 2 nights back after you'd shot 1.0U that morning. So will be interesting to see how that 1.5U works out after several cycles ... (Good job!):)

Thanks. Well maybe 1.5 is her magic dose lol we shall see. Thanks for all your help :)
 
Annd. Bonus. She didn't scratch my face off yet ;) she did look at me like reaaallly wtf againn?!
Ha! That's really good news!
(I got a whole bunch of those "oh no - not again!:(" looks from Bat-Bat today because I had to do a mini-curve.)
 
Heres a pic of her just now playing with the kittens toy! She stayed lying down but that's ok lol she playing like a kitten earlier too
20151012_204943.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20151012_204958~2.jpg
    20151012_204958~2.jpg
    29.5 KB · Views: 60
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top