Jill & Jade
Member Since 2018
giving gravy!!! Now what!!!
I thought 68 is the take action number? I gave her Frisjies gravy and a couple Greenies...gravy is 14 on the carb list. Thank you. I’m shaking!!Breathe
67 is a safe number. Wait 20 mins and re check. I'll hang out with you![]()
And thank you!I thought 68 is the take action number? I gave her Frisjies gravy and a couple Greenies...gravy is 14 on the carb list. Thank you. I’m shaking!!
20 minutes... up to 85 after a nice serving of gravy! Now what?Breathe
67 is a safe number. Wait 20 mins and re check. I'll hang out with you![]()
Does that last awhile?20 minutes... up to 85 after a nice serving of gravy! Now what?
It is indeed a take action number. The first action is not to panic - a 67 is not life threatening.I thought 68 is the take action number?
It is an ECID thing. Check again in another 20-30 mins.Does that last awhile?
Ok...will you be up for awhile? Should she be rising still?It is indeed a take action number. The first action is not to panic - a 67 is not life threatening.
It is however indicative that a dose reduction is in order - congratulations!
New dose will be 0.75u
85 is great. Go ahead and take down the 911.
It is an ECID thing. Check again in another 20-30 mins.
Up to 180 now! Man that gravy works!! Now what? I’ll stay up if need be but I’ve only had 2 hours of sleep ( if that)Ok...will you be up for awhile? Should she be rising still?
She’s playful.Up to 180 now! Man that gravy works!! Now what? I’ll stay up if need be but I’ve only had 2 hours of sleep ( if that)
I really don't know what to do next.....is she out of the woods??She’s playful.
Good data for the future.Up to 180 now! Man that gravy works!!
Update your ss so that folks know exactly whats transpired and where Jade is at now. Indicate what you fed and when, either in the cell corresponding to the +hour or the remarks column. Personally I prefer to see it in the cell (example from BKs ss):Now what? I’ll stay up if need be but I’ve only had 2 hours of sleep ( if that)
I did a few minutes ago and I'd say almost an hour ago? Just before I got on here. So....3:25,I'd say.Good data for the future.
Update your ss so that folks know exactly whats transpired and where Jade is at now. Indicate what you fed and when, either in the cell corresponding to the +hour or the remarks column. Personally I prefer to see it in the cell (example from BKs ss):
View attachment 37106
How long has it been since you fed the gravy and greenies?
Up to 220! Thank you sooooooooooo much!! Going to try to sleep! Her usual shoot time is 11:00am and I'm more than a little apprehensive about doing it. I don't know why this crash happened?Grab one more test for good measure. If its stable or rising you can call it a night.![]()
It's not really a crash. Just a dip into lower numbers - he was perfectly safe the whole time. I know it's scary the first few times they go into green, but you were there watching over him, and green numbers are good! He's telling you 1.0 is too much insulin. As Sandy said, he's ready to go to .75. Congrats on the reducie!I don't know why this crash happened?
Thank you so much, and YES it is like a roller coaster ride (hate them in real life also)I hope YOU"RE feeling better and that your sweet Raven stabilizes as well. Yes, the things we do for love.Good morning Jill. Sorry you're having a difficult time today. Just remember, the numbers you're seeing are what all of us are hoping for! For our kitties to be regulated & maybe go into remission, their BG (blood Glucose) needs to be down in the green & maybe a bit of blue #'s .
So even though it's scary & frustrating Jade is doing really good! I'm up tonight because my kitty,Ravan's BG is up in the High 400's for the last 12 hrs. He was doing so good in the green & now he's back too high for too long.
I'm 71 yrs old & had pneumonia a few weeks ago, going without sleep is just part of what we do to take care of our much loved kitties. It's a bit like a roller coaster ride.Up & then down again. Until gradually it all even out.
Maybe if you look at some the SS (spread Sheets) for the other cats you'll understand what i mean better. And it will also help if you read the sticky notes about how the insulin works & other important information.
You're doing great. Just listen to the advice of the people that have been through this before. They are donating their time to help you just like someone else did for them. Paying it back!
Hope you have a great Day. Hang in there.![]()

You may have gone a bit overboard, however it doesn't hurt to err on the side of caution. Guiding a cycle with food takes practice.@220 now which is 27 minutes after the last test....hope I didn't give her too much gravy.Yikes.
Going from PS 188 to 67 over 4.5 hours is not a crash. Jade is just done with the 1u dose right now. Its a good thing.Her usual shoot time is 11:00am and I'm more than a little apprehensive about doing it. I don't know why this crash happened?
She went into the ugly color green.It's not really a crash. Just a dip into lower numbers - he was perfectly safe the whole time. I know it's scary the first few times they go into green, but you were there watching over him, and green numbers are good! He's telling you 1.0 is too much insulin. As Sandy said, he's ready to go to .75. Congrats on the reducie!
Ok. I will drill that into my head!! Promise!!You may have gone a bit overboard, however it doesn't hurt to err on the side of caution. Guiding a cycle with food takes practice.
You will have plenty of opportunities to find what works best.
Going from PS 188 to 67 over 4.5 hours is not a crash. Jade is just done with the 1u dose right now. Its a good thing.
And thank you!!She went into the ugly color green.That gravy worked well and FAST!! I think I'm going to attempt to sleep. I feel like someone put sand in my eyes.
Jade is just hanging out in the window, seemingly oblivious except for the cringing when she knows I'm coming at her for a test...poor baby.



Oh they always do that right after scaring the you-know-what out of us! Typical cat!Jade is just hanging out in the window, seemingly oblivious
I will read and reread and reread. Thank you.Hope this Helps to understand what's going on.
Skipping doses when your cat is low can create a significantly higher reading later on. Giving too much insulin can cause these spikes as well. What happens in this case is that your cat’s glucose gets too low, and it causes rebound effect, creating a skyrocketing blood glucose level later in the day.
Regulating a diabetic cat can be quite overwhelming and time consuming, but there is a possibility that your cat will go into remission with his feline diabetes. My best suggestion is to read all you can and to join some forums for support and to learn you are not alone!
No... the dark green is lovely!! On my chart once you get under 68, the green changes to a chartreuse color! That’s the one I no likey....The Green color is NOT ugly! It's the color we all want our kitties to have! You'll see, someday (hopefully soon) you'll be so happy to see that Green.![]()
The Green color is NOT ugly! It's the color we all want our kitties to have! You'll see, someday (hopefully soon) you'll be so happy to see that Green.![]()
Just teststed her and she’s at 171 @ +9.5Hi! So... if her amps is a good number, do I shoot as normal (.75) there’s no need to skip or anything different after our mini crisis?
can you possible update the SS with all # you have so far?Just teststed her and she’s at 171 @ +9.5
My guess is she’s going down, not up. I really don’t want to shoot if she’s low. I have to work this afternoon and am now super worried about what could happen when I’m not here.
Yep... everything is on the SS except for the one I just took. I shoot at 11:00 and leave at 2:30.can you possible update the SS with all # you have so far?
How soon after the shot (if you going to give it @regular time) do you have to leave?
Are there any med carbs/ high carbs food in the house?
sorry, I am no techy at all...I cannot see any data for today Jun 28th AM cycle...Yep... everything is on the SS except for the one I just took. I shoot at 11:00 and leave at 2:30.
Sorry I did n't see the 171 @+9.everything is on the SS except for the one I just took. I shoot at 11:00 and leave at 2:30.
I got it now...I have not started today's because I start at 11:00am, but everything from last night (dawns crack this am) is on there..

sorry, I am no techy at all...I cannot see any data for today Jun 28th AM cycle...
could it be that you didn't save the changes/ updates you 'v made to the SS.>?
I reload the page but nothing - still blank![]()
Boy do I get THAT!!! Her +9 is actually +10.5 ...talk about needing coffee!! Her routine begins in 40 minutes, I will reach out before I do anything, if thats'ok?I got it now...
Just needed another![]()
I just updated it....Boy do I get THAT!!! Her +9 is actually +10.5 ...talk about needing coffee!! Her routine begins in 40 minutes, I will reach out before I do anything, if thats'ok?
I'll hang in here until then.Her routine begins in 40 minutes, I will reach out before I do anything, if thats'ok?
sorry, I am no techy at all...I cannot see any data for today Jun 28th AM cycle...
could it be that you didn't save the changes/ updates you 'v made to the SS.>?
I reload the page but nothing - still blank![]()
not that I know of and yes, eating has never been an issue with this little fatso!I'll hang in here until then.
Quick question: she never had ketones, is that right?
She is eating ok, yes?
Do they make syringes for quarter dosing? Or only half? Thses are half and teeeeennny tiny markings. Gonna test her in 10 minutes by the way.not that I know of and yes, eating has never been an issue with this little fatso!
they make only half.Do they make syringes for quarter dosing? Or only half? Thses are half and teeeeennny tiny markings. Gonna test her in 10 minutes by the way.
, I was doing it for quiet a while now.Thanks...going to test now. Be right back!they make only half.
It is pain to adjust micro dosing, I was doing it for quiet a while now.
Just aim between 0.5 and 1 as best as you can. I use magnifier in add to readers. Does accuracy is not as important as dose consistency - something you can give safely.
146. I'm going to skip....too risky and she's heading down. Just food, is that ok? I hope.Thanks...going to test now. Be right back!