**HELP* 11/15 Toby AMPS 500 PMPS 86 +12.5 157, +1 218, +2 227

Kate & Toby

Member Since 2019
Hey all,

I've had a long day out today and have just made it home in time to do Toby's pmps and it was GREEN, yay, hes starving and going mad so ive had to give him LC food and couldn't stall. Am I Ok to shoot? I can test all night and all weekend.

I'm so excited about a green PMPS, but also nervous.

Thanking you all in advance and wishing you all a happy Friyay :-)
 
WOW! Look at Toby! What a surprise for you Kate!

It seems you already know it would have been a good idea to stall and retest Toby but I get why you fed him. Been there done that!

I think he's a bit low for a full shot right now. How about holding off for 30 minutes, retesting and see if/how much he's gone up? Then we can decide your best course of action. I'll watch for an update on BG.
 
WOW! Look at Toby! What a surprise for you Kate!

It seems you already know it would have been a good idea to stall and retest Toby but I get why you fed him. Been there done that!

I think he's a bit low for a full shot right now. How about holding off for 30 minutes, retesting and see if/how much he's gone up? Then we can decide your best course of action. I'll watch for an update on BG.
Thanks Linda. Hes doing amazing on Lev. He is like a different cat, playing again, wanting to spend time outside, being mischievous, it's a joy!

Where I had been out all day he hadn't eaten and so was literally climbing up my leg! I just fed half a pouch of LC to keep the wolf from the door lol

I'll test again in 30 mins and this wont affect my schedule.
 
While 86 is a safe number to shoot, you've never shot anything even close to that pre-shot so there is no telling how much testing or for how long and whether Toby would just surf along nicely or make you work to keep his BG up.
 
Have you decided yet if you are following TR or SLGS for dosing. If so, please put the acronym in your signature. With SLGS a reduction has been earned, if a true test.

One other thing, hard as it is, you have learn learn to ignore the wolf. :p Typically you can retest in 15-20, you don’t have to wait the full 30. If fact, it is better to test sooner as the food you gave will be impacting his BG by 30 minutes. Earlier testing might not yet be influenced by carbs so you get a better idea where he is trending without food.
 
Ok, I have retested and he is 157

This has got to be food influenced?

Re SLGS or TR.... I think I can test enough for TR... I have trained my mum and dad to pop in and test. My mum has done all the mid cycle daytime tests this week, she has been brilliant despite her nerves.
 
Unfortunately, that is food influenced now, but not too low. You have shot 198 before, how do you feel about this one? Knowing it might be lower if you hadn’t fed? Plenty of test strips and high carb food if necessary?
 
Under TR, you would go for it. And get a +1 and a +2 to see how the cycle is trending. Always a good practise when shooting your lowest yet.
 
No your new dose is 1.5u

Just curious....you reduced Toby's dose after the lows on the 7th and only held that reduced dose of 1.5u for 4 cycles and then upped the dose again to 1.75u. Looks like it was a reaction to the high PMPS. The reduction to 1.5 was earned days ago.
 
No your new dose is 1.5u

Just curious....you reduced Toby's dose after the lows on the 7th and only held that reduced dose of 1.5u for 4 cycles and then upped the dose again to 1.75u. Looks like it was a reaction to the high PMPS. The reduction to 1.5 was earned days ago.
I reduced to 1.5iu as I was just going by syringes, I went back up to 1.75iu when I started using the calipers (as 1.75iu using the calipers was more like F1.5 /1 using the syringes)
 
So if I am understanding, you have only been giving 1.5u but it looks like 1.75u on the syringe?
1.75iu on the syringe is 2iu or above, that's when he went too low. So I got calipers and reduced to 1.5iu, but that was about 1iu on the syringe, so I quickly went back up to 1.75iu but using the calipers.
 
So your SS is then indicating what you are seeing on the syringe rather than what you are dosing in units? I'm still confused and worried the dose should still be 1.5u NOT 1.75u but that may just be in how I am interpreting all this.
 
So your SS is then indicating what you are seeing on the syringe rather than what you are dosing in units? I'm still confused and worried the dose should still be 1.5u NOT 1.75u but that may just be in how I am interpreting all this.
Linda, since she started on the 1.75u with the caliper, 6 days ago, there has been a significant amount of testing and the first green was today, so on TR all is looking OK.

From what Kate described the 1.75u, prior to the caliper, was just a little more than 2u ((as measured with the caliper) and that higher dose was what got the 29.
She then (before using caliper) reduced the dose to 1.5u
When she started using the caliper she realised, that what she was calling 1.5 was actually 1.75u and what she called 1.75u before caliper was actually 2u with the caliper.

So when you see her change from 1.5 (without caliper) to 1.75 (with caliper) it's actually the same amount of insulin.

Does that make sense?
 
So your SS is then indicating what you are seeing on the syringe rather than what you are dosing in units? I'm still confused and worried the dose should still be 1.5u NOT 1.75u but that may just be in how I am interpreting all this.
Hi Linda,
It turns out that when I was dosing by the Mark's on the syringe I was actually giving more insulin, for example, I shot 1.75u by the syringe markings and he went very very low.
We measured using the calipers and 1.75u by calipers was only 1.25/1.5u by the syringe measurements, meaning that I had been overdosing. So I have been ignoring the syringe markings and just going by calipers, so the 1.5u last weekend was using the syringe measurements and then the change to 1.75u was when we started using the calipers.

Sorry if I'm not explaining this very well.
 
Linda, since she started on the 1.75u with the caliper, 6 days ago, there has been a significant amount of testing and the first green was today, so on TR all is looking OK.

From what Kate described the 1.75u, prior to the caliper, was just a little more than 2u ((as measured with the caliper) and that higher dose was what got the 29.
She then (before using caliper) reduced the dose to 1.5u
When she started using the caliper she realised, that what she was calling 1.5 was actually 1.75u and what she called 1.75u before caliper was actually 2u with the caliper.

So when you see her change from 1.5 (without caliper) to 1.75 (with caliper) it's actually the same amount of insulin.

Does that make sense?
Yes Gill! Thank you!
 
Go to your previous post and copy the URL. Then in the edit box, you will note the chain link icon. If you click on it, you can paste the URL for your previous post.
 
Sorry, but it’s jargon day. Your PMPS or when you shot, is 157. On the spreadsheet, in the +11 cell you can put 86@+12 and out 157@12.5 in the PMPS cell. That tells us how much you delayed. And unfortunately for us mmol/L speakers, the change also has to be done manually on the US tab too, and the cell manually coloured with the paint can icon. Otherwise the US tab shows just unknown value.

Almost +1.
 
Sorry, but it’s jargon day. Your PMPS or when you shot, is 157. On the spreadsheet, in the +11 cell you can put 86@+12 and out 157@12.5 in the PMPS cell. That tells us how much you delayed. And unfortunately for us mmol/L speakers, the change also has to be done manually on the US tab too, and the cell manually coloured with the paint can icon. Otherwise the US tab shows just unknown value.

Almost +1.

Ok, think I'm sorted
 
Linda, since she started on the 1.75u with the caliper, 6 days ago, there has been a significant amount of testing and the first green was today, so on TR all is looking OK.

From what Kate described the 1.75u, prior to the caliper, was just a little more than 2u ((as measured with the caliper) and that higher dose was what got the 29.
She then (before using caliper) reduced the dose to 1.5u
When she started using the caliper she realised, that what she was calling 1.5 was actually 1.75u and what she called 1.75u before caliper was actually 2u with the caliper.

So when you see her change from 1.5 (without caliper) to 1.75 (with caliper) it's actually the same amount of insulin.

Does that make sense?

You explain it so well here, this is exactly what I am dealing with! :)
 
Back
Top