HELP!! 100s the day dose was increased, now back in the 400s and 500s. too much insulin?

charliesmom1

Member Since 2019
hi, we increased Charlie's dose on 7/1 to 0.75 from 0.5 based on this forums' advice. That first day we caught some great numbers from +3 to +5 and were optimistic. But by evening he was back in the mid four hundreds. Since then he hasn't had any nadirs nearly as low, and tonight PMPS was 575 (his second worse number ever). Looking at his SS (and I know it is lacking on data in the beginning), it seems like he was doing better on 0.25 than he has on any other dose. Based on the 100s we caught on 7/1, it really seems like he could be bouncing wildly. Any advice? we're going on vacation tomorrow for a week and our teen son is handling his care while we're gone so we're hesitant to mess with his dose in the meantime unless we have a good reason. We're just stumped.

Edit: we haven't totally chosen a regulation method but are loosely following SLGS at this point. also he is being switched over to Dr. Elsey's (thank you for the recommendation) and has FF pates so his diet is actually lower in carbs than it was at the 0.25 dose
 
Last edited:
I’ve heard it said that cats can have lower bs at night. Maybe check his nighttime numbers?
we'd like to start checking after our trip, but even if they are lower at night he's still got issues during the day. would night numbers affect our decision making? we know the protocol is to keep increasing his dose but it's disheartening when it appears he's getting worse instead of better at higher doses
 
Charlie isn’t used to blues. After that nice stretch of them on the 1st, he bounced. Bounces can take six cycles to resolve, today was cycle four. Sometimes you will see a high number before the bounce breaks. Bounces aren’t a negative thing, they are perfectly normal. It tells you his self preservation system is working.

And absolutely, no time like the present to get used to night time tests. Don’t know how long after the shot you go to bed, but a before bed tests, even if it’s +3 at night, will give you a clue what is happening then. Many cats go lower at night. We base our dosing decisions on how low the dose takes the cat, hence the need to spot those night time lows.
 
One more thing, your signature says you are still feeding high carb kibble. Any progress in changing to low carb? That’s the biggest thing you can do to help his blood sugar numbers.
 
Back
Top