Hello!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yit Leng

Member Since 2022
Hi all sugar pawrents and experts,

This is Ling and Bui Bui, my sugar-boy.
We are here to officially say Hi as we just realized that are multiple FB groups out there which do not represent this forum.

A little background on my boy, he is a 12 years old sterilized male tabby who was found not drinking, eating and hiding for about a week before he was brought in to the vet and further diagnosed with DKA, Pancreatitis and Diabetes in late June 2022.
Discharged in early July 2022 and we were advised by the vet to dose 1.5U of Lantus that got him super hypo, struggling to walk etc.
He was still struggling to eat due to his pancreatitis and we have to reduced his dose to 0.15U.

He got better each day, upping his appetite, teasing his siblings, sleeping tummy up and putting on weight.
but as his appetite got better, we realized the 0.15U doesn't seems to support his BG anymore.

Vet suggested to stop insulin for a day and we resumed insulin after confirming that he indeed do need insulin support with his high numbers.

As of today, we have increased his dose to 0.75U and hopefully we are able to catch him in time to prevent him from going DKA again.

PS:- He is my parent's cat and currently staying with them, so instead of doing self testing via blood sample, we installed a libre sensor on him.
And i couldn't afford to travel twice a day for his jab, i will be at my parent's home every morning for his AM jab. thereafter my parent will administer the PM jab after confirming his BG via the sensor reading on video call.

He is on FF Pate, Tiki Cat, Aristo Cat Premium as well as Young Again Mature Zero.

Anyone has any advice, please please voice out as I really felt like im failing him.

THANK YOU.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...V42WPN7q3ppKhWGasdM6x0mmpaOOj8YmTqxVihs#gid=0
 
Welcome. I noticed that you use "GA" in the title to your post. GA stand for Guardian Angel or Gone Ahead which means that the cat has passed. To edit the title go to your initial post and left click on "thread tools on the right side and select edit title and then delete GA and click on Save changes.
Screen Shot 2022-08-23 at 3.59.05 AM.png
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-08-23 at 3.59.05 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-08-23 at 3.59.05 AM.png
    41.1 KB · Views: 316
Welcome. I noticed that you use "GA" in the title to your post. GA stand for Guardian Angel or Gone Ahead which means that the cat has passed. To edit the title go to your initial post and left click on "thread tools on the right side and select edit title and then delete GA and click on Save changes.
View attachment 65282

Gosh! Thank You, He is still alive and chasing birds!
Changed and Thank U!
 
Welcome Yit Leng and Bui Bui if you can set up what we call our signature it's information we need
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
We also use what's called a spreadsheet which I see you have already set up which is great
Can you link your spreadsheet to your signature when you complete it , do you see how mine and other members spreadsheet is linked with their signature?


Just some info about it look at mine at the end of my signature it says Tyler's spreadsheet to get a look at it, you can look at anyone's spreadsheet


You need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced and then can feed small snacks during each 12 hour cycle
We try no to feed past +6
We also adjust doses by 0.25 units at a time so we don't skip over a good dose
We use U-100 syringes with half unit markings
Lantus is a good insulin

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers

We also have 2 dosing methods when on Lantus I will give you the link to read about them but since he's eating any dry food at all you will have to follow the SLGS method
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
Hi all sugar pawrents and experts,

This is Ling and Bui Bui, my sugar-boy.
We are here to officially say Hi as we just realized that are multiple FB groups out there which do not represent this forum.

A little background on my boy, he is a 12 years old sterilized male tabby who was found not drinking, eating and hiding for about a week before he was brought in to the vet and further diagnosed with DKA, Pancreatitis and Diabetes in late June 2022.
Discharged in early July 2022 and we were advised by the vet to dose 1.5U of Lantus that got him super hypo, struggling to walk etc.
He was still struggling to eat due to his pancreatitis and we have to reduced his dose to 0.15U.

He got better each day, upping his appetite, teasing his siblings, sleeping tummy up and putting on weight.
but as his appetite got better, we realized the 0.15U doesn't seems to support his BG anymore.

Vet suggested to stop insulin for a day and we resumed insulin after confirming that he indeed do need insulin support with his high numbers.

As of today, we have increased his dose to 0.75U and hopefully we are able to catch him in time to prevent him from going DKA again.

PS:- He is my parent's cat and currently staying with them, so instead of doing self testing via blood sample, we installed a libre sensor on him.
And i couldn't afford to travel twice a day for his jab, i will be at my parent's home every morning for his AM jab. thereafter my parent will administer the PM jab after confirming his BG via the sensor reading on video call.

He is on FF Pate, Tiki Cat, Aristo Cat Premium as well as Young Again Mature Zero.

Anyone has any advice, please please voice out as I really felt like im failing him.

THANK YOU.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...V42WPN7q3ppKhWGasdM6x0mmpaOOj8YmTqxVihs#gid=0


@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
The one thing I do know about dka cats is that they need food and insulin so I wouldn’t stop the insulin again if I were you. Are you testing for ketones at home?

correct it is recommended to feed kitty about 150% of their normal caloric need to help keep DKA away, make sure they have plenty of fresh water sources available to help flush ketones out of their system, and insulin, insulin, insulin. DKA happens when the ketones build up to a point where they are toxic to the kitty, insulin helps prevent all those ketones.

Agreed that checking for ketones is a good idea so if you see them increasing you are aware and can monitor closely for any signs of DKA symptoms creeping up.
 
Hi and welcome. I am on my phone and not iPad so can’t copy and paste some of the information for you. I’ll do that later.
I’m glad you increased the dose. He was not getting enough insulin. Insulin is very important after DKA so please do not skip any doses. Always post and ask if you are unsure.
Are you testing for ketones in the urine? This is really important as this is an early warning sign of DKA and that the insulin may need increasing and more food given. You will
Need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and follow the directions on the bottle.
Have a look at the two dosing methods we have. It is important you choose one to follow especially after DKA. I would recommend the tight regulation. I will post the link at the bottom. Oh I see you are feeding dry food so you will need to follow SLGS method.
Feed before every dose and give frequent small snacks during all cycles, except for the two hours preshot. We want him to eat 1 and a half times as much food as he normally does.
 
Welcome Yit Leng and Bui Bui if you can set up what we call our signature it's information we need
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
We also use what's called a spreadsheet which I see you have already set up which is great
Can you link your spreadsheet to your signature when you complete it , do you see how mine and other members spreadsheet is linked with their signature?


Just some info about it look at mine at the end of my signature it says Tyler's spreadsheet to get a look at it, you can look at anyone's spreadsheet


You need to withhold food 2 hours before testing so it's not food influenced and then can feed small snacks during each 12 hour cycle
We try no to feed past +6
We also adjust doses by 0.25 units at a time so we don't skip over a good dose
We use U-100 syringes with half unit markings
Lantus is a good insulin

We don't give times because we are all in different time zones that's why we use the + numbers

We also have 2 dosing methods when on Lantus I will give you the link to read about them but since he's eating any dry food at all you will have to follow the SLGS method
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Hi, so sorry i was really busy on work. I have updated my signature!
 
Hi and welcome. I am on my phone and not iPad so can’t copy and paste some of the information for you. I’ll do that later.
I’m glad you increased the dose. He was not getting enough insulin. Insulin is very important after DKA so please do not skip any doses. Always post and ask if you are unsure.
Are you testing for ketones in the urine? This is really important as this is an early warning sign of DKA and that the insulin may need increasing and more food given. You will
Need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and follow the directions on the bottle.
Have a look at the two dosing methods we have. It is important you choose one to follow especially after DKA. I would recommend the tight regulation. I will post the link at the bottom. Oh I see you are feeding dry food so you will need to follow SLGS method.
Feed before every dose and give frequent small snacks during all cycles, except for the two hours preshot. We want him to eat 1 and a half times as much food as he normally does.
Yes, and because he is staying with my parent, i am cautious on the TR method because i wont be able to check regularly on him. His BG is still high after an 0.25u increase at 0.75u now but i suspect my mum could have secreetly gave him some really high carb treats which i have discvered today and discarded :(
 
Hi, how do i post daily? by replying to this thread? As mentioned earlier, His BG is still high after an 0.25u increase at 0.75u now but i suspect my mum could have secreetly gave him some really high carb treats which i have discvered today and discarded :(
Hi Yi Leng
I would advise that you start posting on the Lantus Forum , there are a lot more eyes on that board and a lot of experienced Lantus users
I will give you the link at the end of my post for the Lantus Forum


Just introduce yourself and say it's your first post on the Lantus board , that you were posting on the Main Forum before

, if you want to start posting on n Lantus board soon
Here is how you would do it
So if you start tomorrow morning or when ever you put the
Date, Bui Bui his AMPS # and any other tests you do after that like the BG number @+2 ,etc
To go back and add those tests to your title look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Title , add those tests and tap save
You can continue with his PMPS numbers on the same title :cat:
We also link your previous days post to the new one
So when you do start posting on the Lantus you would link this thread to your new one.
Everyday you do a new post you will always link your previous days post where you would begin to write


To link the previous days post here's the best I can do to explain it

To link this thread to the new one you will start the next time you post something , look up top where you see the pic of the cat left hand side ,above that is your previous days post in that long line , it starts with https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hello etc. Do you see it ? Tap on that copy and then paste it on your new thread for tomorrow where you would start to write


Here is the link for the Lantus Forum
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
To the right it says Post New Thread
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top