Hello! We switched to levemir, she uses 0.50 and today if AMPS was 87. should I wait 1 hour and make

Status
Not open for further replies.
I wouldn't stall for an hour. Generally, if you want to know where numbers are heading when you get a low pre-shot number, you want to stall for about 20 min, re-test and if numbers are rising substantially, then shoot. The idea is to shoot as close to your usual time as possible so you're throwing your schedule off track by as little time as possible.

Whether you shoot also depends on if you are following Tight Regulation or SLGS for dosing.

You might want to take a look at the sticky, Shooting & Handling Low Numbers, as a reference.
 
Their numbers are still down, now it's 80. Do not even shoot your dose

How long after the 87 was the 80? Have you given any food?

really those two numbers are the same.
With Lev, onset is around the +4 marks so remember that you are not shooting the number you are seeing now but rather where Susana will be when Lev onsets. With Levs longer duration you are likely to face lower PS numbers than you experienced with lantus, however, as the last shot 'wears' off , and it will, the numbers will start to rise.

So if you are following TR and are going to be around to monitor, have enough supplies (strips and food), and as long as that 80 is not food influenced, then if it were me I would be shooting, and monitoring the cycle closely, getting ready to steer with food if necessary.

On SLGS the guidelines recommend not shooting numbers below 90.
 
From 87 to 80 step in 1 hour.
I did not give him food to make sure his numbers are really going up.
Now she ate and in 30 minutes I will take their value again.
And has spent an hour and a half of his usual shooting schedule
 
And has spent an hour and a half of his usual shooting schedule
Not sure what you mean by this???
Do you speak spanish? say it in spanish if it's easier. (I think you mean you are 1 hou 30min behind his usual shooting schedule)

Have you given insulin?

What dosing method are you following
Tight Regulation? TR
or
Start Low Go Slow ? SLGS
 
I'm using google translate.
I speak Spanish
I thought so, sometimes google translate is great and other times the translation can be a bit odd.
I live in Spain and I am bilingual, so can help if you run into problems.

Have you given insulin yet?
Ya le has dado la insulina a Susana?

What have you just fed Susana? Does she eat Dry or wet food?
Que le has dado de comer a Susana? Come pienso o comida humeda?

I'm sorry, as I don't 'know' Susana, I am not aware of her history it would be a good idea to add info such as food, DOB, date of diagnosis of FD, other health problems, medication, dosing protocol you are following etc, it will save time and you won't have to be answeroing the same questions all the time, and easier for those that are trying to help.
Lo siento, como no 'conozco' Susana, no se su historia, seria una buena idea anadir datos como comida, fecha de nacimiento, fecha de diagonosis de diabetes, otros problemas de salud, medicamento, protocolo de dosificacion etc a tu firma en el perfil, te ahoraras tiempo ya que no tendras que contestar las mixmas preguntas una y otra vez:) y es mucho mas facil par aquellos que intentan ayudarte.





 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top