Clarice & Mami Cat
Member Since 2026
Hello everyone 
My name is Clarice, and I'm new here. I discovered the FDMB on July 26, 2026, and I was so happy and grateful to find this community. I only wish I had found you much sooner.
I would truly appreciate your help. I'm feeling worried about my cat's AMPS numbers and her morning cycle.
My cat, Mami Cat, developed high blood glucose after being treated with corticosteroids for less than a month. Everything started in March 2026.
We've been through many stages and many challenges, as I'm sure many of you have. And here we are... now down to a one-drop dose of insulin.
I have read both the Tilly Protocol and Dr. Rand's article, and we've reached the stage where we're using a drop dose because of her nadirs and the progress she has made toward remission.
I would be incredibly grateful for your thoughts and experience, because I'm feeling a bit lost at this point.
Here is an overview of what has been happening:
Has anyone here experienced something similar, especially what I think may be the dawn phenomenon? Perhaps that's not what it is, but I'm genuinely trying to understand what's happening.
Thank you all so much in advance for your time, your experience, and any guidance you may be able to offer.
@Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko Should I post this question in another folder of the Forum? Or... if you have any insights or people I could DM directly about it, I would be very happy to read from you. Many many thanks!
Clarice & Mami Cat
My name is Clarice, and I'm new here. I discovered the FDMB on July 26, 2026, and I was so happy and grateful to find this community. I only wish I had found you much sooner.
I would truly appreciate your help. I'm feeling worried about my cat's AMPS numbers and her morning cycle.
My cat, Mami Cat, developed high blood glucose after being treated with corticosteroids for less than a month. Everything started in March 2026.
We've been through many stages and many challenges, as I'm sure many of you have. And here we are... now down to a one-drop dose of insulin.
I have read both the Tilly Protocol and Dr. Rand's article, and we've reached the stage where we're using a drop dose because of her nadirs and the progress she has made toward remission.
I would be incredibly grateful for your thoughts and experience, because I'm feeling a bit lost at this point.
Here is an overview of what has been happening:
- Her nighttime numbers are currently very good. After her PM shot, she generally stays between 50 and 100 mg/dL throughout most of the night. Her PMPS is usually around 130-140 mg/dL. Once the insulin starts working, she spends most of the night very close to 50 mg/dL.
- However, between about 4:00 and 6:00 a.m., her blood glucose rises very quickly, reaching around 220-250 mg/dL. It used to rise even higher. Previously, my morning dose (approximately 0.1 U, measured by eye) became too strong, so I reduced it to a one-drop dose. Even so, yesterday and today, despite receiving only one drop at AMPS, her glucose dropped below 40 mg/dL.
Here, in the pic, what I am calling her "dawn phenomenon" - could be it some sort of bounce? It has always been like this... since many many weeks. Later, it reaches 250. Less than before.
- Her drops in the morning are quite big. As soon as I give the morning insulin, her glucose begins to fall almost immediately. There doesn't seem to be any noticeable onset time in the morning. Her glucose starts dropping right away. By about +2:40, I already have to watch her very carefully because she is entering her nadir, and she usually drops a little further around +3.5 to +4.
- For a long time now, her morning cycles have always dropped faster and more aggressively than her nighttime cycles.
- Because of this, her nighttime dose has consistently been stronger than her daytime dose. I have had to keep the morning dose smaller because of both the depth of the nadir and the speed of the drop. That has been the only approach that seemed to fit my particular cat.
- In the past, her nighttime curve seemed almost "stuck" (possibly due to counter-regulatory hormones?), and she would not really come down until after what I call the dawn phenomenon the following morning. More recently, however, she has started dropping during the night at what seems like a more typical time. Even so, the pattern is similar: by about +2.5 she is already below 100 mg/dL, then continues to drop before eventually leveling off.
- Yesterday (July 7, 2026), for the first time, even her nighttime dose appeared to be too strong. Within a very short time, she reached 42 mg/dL and was still dropping. During the rest of the night, however, her glucose kept going up and then back down again, almost like a seesaw, as though her body was trying to find its balance. I treated the low with food and a small amount of oral glucose, which works well for her. I also gave her some malt paste afterward to help bring her glucose up more quickly. It worked, but later on she dropped back to 53 mg/dL and then spent most of the night in the 50s, with several noticeable ups and downs. Something is clearly changing in her body... improvements... But not so flat ones.
- So this is the overall pattern: early in the morning, during what I think may be the dawn phenomenon, her glucose rises very quickly. This is the only time of day when she leaves the 100-115 mg/dL range and climbs to around 230-250 mg/dL. Because of that, I continue giving the one-drop dose at AMPS, but even that seems too much, and she drops below 40 mg/dL fairly early in the cycle.
- This is my current dilemma with her morning cycle. Her AMPS numbers suggest that she still needs insulin because they are around 230-250 mg/dL. However, even a single drop appears to be too much, bringing her below 40 mg/dL. I feed her and give a small amount of oral glucose, and she does well afterward. She then spends the rest of the day between 50 and 100 mg/dL, only rising to around 130 mg/dL shortly before her evening shot.
- Should I stop giving the morning dose altogether and see whether her body can bring that AMPS of 230-250 mg/dL down on its own?
- Should I continue giving the one-drop dose and simply steer the curve with food so that she doesn't fall below 40 mg/dL? She is a thin cat who eats a high-quality wet food containing about 12% carb, but she has virtually no food spike. The insulin seems to "go right through" the meal without any noticeable rise in glucose. I really don't want to go back to feeding dry food, but at the same time, I don't feel comfortable having to repeatedly use oral glucose to manage her morning cycle.
- Should I try giving insulin only once a day? One of Dr. Rand's articles mentions once-daily dosing in some cats receiving around 0.5 U, but we are already down to a one-drop dose.
- Should I try once-daily dosing and perhaps change the timing of that single dose to see how her body responds?
- I am not comfortable seeing my cat below 40 mg/dL. She becomes quieter and sleepier, although she has never shown severe hypoglycemia symptoms. My glucose meter simply reads "LOW" below 40 mg/dL, so I don't actually know whether she is at 35, 30, or even lower.
- It took me a great deal of emotional adjustment to become comfortable with numbers below 50 mg/dL. Previously, even seeing values between 50 and 60 made me very anxious.
Has anyone here experienced something similar, especially what I think may be the dawn phenomenon? Perhaps that's not what it is, but I'm genuinely trying to understand what's happening.
Thank you all so much in advance for your time, your experience, and any guidance you may be able to offer.
@Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko Should I post this question in another folder of the Forum? Or... if you have any insights or people I could DM directly about it, I would be very happy to read from you. Many many thanks!
Clarice & Mami Cat
Last edited:
