Hello to a club I never wanted to join (but extremely grateful that exists)

Blanche

Member Since 2026
Hello everyone!



This is indeed a group I never want to join! :)

First of all, please take note that I am not an English speaker and please forgive any errors in my posts and comments. Also feel free to correct them.



As you can guess I’m here because one of my five little furrballs, Blanche, 9y old, at February 4th has been diagnosed with diabetes. More than 600. I take her to the vet after I noticed extreme thirst and pee and general agitation for about a month. Maybe little more. She was sudden always hungry and very vocal at night.

Just a pause to note that all five take yearly vet visits and blood tests, and Blanche’s BG from last May was perfect! (114). She has a chronic allergic asthma and she took for more than 3 years ¼ tab of prednisolone 5mg every night before sleep.

So, when I phone the vet with the early symptoms, she thought that it was due to cortisone side effect. But during the month I noticed that her condition was worsening and here we are…

Even if all my cats – except one who is on prescribed diet for liver deficiency eat high protein dry food, I immediately changed her food to can food for the first two days – before the insulin – and the to the Royal Canin prescribed diabetic diet (mostly) dry and wet.

At February 7th we start with 1U/12h Caninsulin but it was impossible to measure her at home, not because she didn’t cooperate but because I couldn’t draw a single drop of blood!

We went on 1U/12 until February 11th when we run a blood test at the vet’s and her BG was 328,24 three hours after the morning injection and meal.

The vet told me that we will keep the dosage until the end of month and we will run again another test to assert the situation.

Yesterday we run the test, also three hours after the morning injection and meal and her BG was 300. The vet decides to up the dosage 1U per 12/h and run another blood test at 15 days. The same night I notice that her stools were abnormally soft and I start to goggle “diabetic cat and diarrhea” and I stumble at felinediabetes.org!

I’m so very grateful because among other things I found those videos about how to draw blood from the ear and thanks to all that is holly I did it! So, three days now I take measurements just before every shot and after 2, 3, 4 and 6h.

The measurements are always high except 2-3h after each shot.

Today I measure for ketones in the blood with human meter and I found 1.4.

In the urine I have the sticks but until now I couldn’t collect any urine. How often I need to check?



I am alone, overwhelmed and afraid. I don’t know if I will wake up and find Blanche blind or dead. But most of all I don’t know what else I can do. Can I change the dosage more than once in every week? When to make a curve? And can I do it by measurements at home? I feel that my vet, my very beloved vet, she is overwhelmed as well and she prefers to go slow than to try to regulate tight. Because of my work, I’m absent for long hours and she is afraid that if we increase the dosage aggressively Blanche may experience hypoglycemia when I will be away. I want to put her the FurCarer CGM but the vet is not convinced because of the cost and the high probability for the device to be dislocated by the other cats in the household. Has anyone use it and care to share the experience?



All of this said, I’m very grateful that you exist!

Thank you again for all the information and support.

Immortalite




IMG_7071 2.jpg
 
What a cute kitty! Hello and welcome to both of you. What country are you in?

We believe in three important things for diabetes management. One of those is home testing, so good for you on starting that. Most of us use human blood glucose meters because they are much better price both for the meters and the test strips. I haven't heard of the FurCarer CGM, but the Libre might be an option. If she is OK wearing a scarf, you might be able to get a Freestyle Libre reader on here. More details here: Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats

The second thing for managing diabetes is a good insulin for cats, and either Prozinc or Lantus/glargine (a human insulin) are the top choices. Caninsulin is good for dogs, but not for cats. It doesn't last long enough in cats. The answers to your questions on dosing and curves for Caninsulin are in the Yellow Starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum: Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH. Increasing by 1 unit at a time is too much, we use much smaller increases. Tight regulation is something we only use if people are using the Lantus insulin and feeding 100% low carb wet or raw food.

The third important thing is what you are feeding her. The vet food isn't anything special and the Royal Canin one, both the wet and dry versions, are too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. We like to feed foods that are 10%carbs or less. If you let us know the country, we might be able to suggest some foods for you. Be careful that changing food types quickly can cause tummy upset, such as diarrhea.

1.4 in ketones is OK, though we'd like to see a bit lower. You should test regularly/daily, when she's in high blood sugar numbers.
 
What a cute kitty! Hello and welcome to both of you. What country are you in?

We believe in three important things for diabetes management. One of those is home testing, so good for you on starting that. Most of us use human blood glucose meters because they are much better price both for the meters and the test strips. I haven't heard of the FurCarer CGM, but the Libre might be an option. If she is OK wearing a scarf, you might be able to get a Freestyle Libre reader on here. More details here: Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats

The second thing for managing diabetes is a good insulin for cats, and either Prozinc or Lantus/glargine (a human insulin) are the top choices. Caninsulin is good for dogs, but not for cats. It doesn't last long enough in cats. The answers to your questions on dosing and curves for Caninsulin are in the Yellow Starred Sticky Notes at the top of this forum: Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH. Increasing by 1 unit at a time is too much, we use much smaller increases. Tight regulation is something we only use if people are using the Lantus insulin and feeding 100% low carb wet or raw food.

The third important thing is what you are feeding her. The vet food isn't anything special and the Royal Canin one, both the wet and dry versions, are too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. We like to feed foods that are 10%carbs or less. If you let us know the country, we might be able to suggest some foods for you. Be careful that changing food types quickly can cause tummy upset, such as diarrhea.

1.4 in ketones is OK, though we'd like to see a bit lower. You should test regularly/daily, when she's in high blood sugar numbers.
Wendy&Neco I m' so grateful for your answer! I'm from Crete,an island in Greece ( how in earth I omit mentioning, I don't know ). Any help with the foods will be much appreciated!

Last night, after I post I find the article for Caninsulin and I understand much more about dosing. I'm wondering when I can change insulin type and what is the appropriate protocol. My vet allready told me that there is a human insulin that may work but I understand that the vast majority of vets work with Caninsulin.

After the diagnosis we dident start immediately the treatemet because the vet sent blood sample to an other laboratory in Athens to test for thryroides, so we wait 3 days for the results. But I immediately bough caned food a Wellfed Diabetic Diet and for three days she eat only this while I waiting for my order of Royal Canin to arrive.
My vet gifted me the glucose meter (she bought it a while back and never used it ) and thought wile wating for the strips to arrive from the specialised diabetic shop in Athens to arrive, to use my mother's spare meter (FreeStyle Precison Neo). Long story short, when I finaly start to testing I used both in the same time in order to undestant the difference in the mesurements. I'm a bit confused because I read that the human meter shows lower mesurents but the last two testings the human gave me higher indication. Fortunately the human tests also for ketones because with the urine strips I havent (for the moment) any chance. An other issue is that some times the vet meter give me a very low indication and if I use an other strip seconds later I have the correct (?) one. I dont know what to do. Stick to the vet meter or after I use the test strips change to the human one?

Thanks again for everything!
Screenshot 2026-03-04 at 10.18.14.pngScreenshot 2026-03-04 at 10.19.32.pngScreenshot 2026-03-04 at 10.20.56.png
 
Here is a food list that some people in Europe use. UK Cat Food List It is for the UK, but many brands are available in Europe too.

One feature we have here is a members map. You can look up other members in Greece and look for ones that are currently active and contact them if you wish. I've tagged a few for you @hellen_maggie @Anna1 @Daphne and Aida @Yanna. They might have ideas on testing supplies and food. A number of members have switched from Caninsulin to Lantus. I had to do the same with Neko. Back when she was diagnosed, a lot of the Canadian vets suggested Caninsulin. I got my dosing help from here.

Regarding meter differences, there is a manufacturing difference allowed, depending on country, it could be up to 20%. I'd say the two meters are very close. I have heard of others using the Freestyle Neo with their cats. Whatever has the cheaper test strips and is easier to use on your cat.

If those images of 47 and 50 are accurate readings, that insulin dose is too high and you need to reduce the dose. We determine how to change dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. And you don't want a cat on Caninsulin to get below 90.
 
Popping in to say hello and welcome!

I am one of the people that uses a libre sensor for my cat. I looked up the furcarer and I didn't know that existed! It looks like it is calibrated for pets specifically so the numbers wouldn't line up well with things on this forum because everything is done with human glycometers/cgms in mind.

Your kitty is adorable! Good luck!
 
Hi Blanche! Welcome!
I'm from another island in Greece, Evia, Halkida.
I'm glad you found this forum so soon after the diagnosis. I would suggest you follow their advice,they really know about feline diabetes.

There is a variety of low carb wet food you can find.
Animonda carny, Bozita, Animonda Integra diabetes, Purina pro plan diabetes.
Wellfed, most varieties are low carb. I think the diabetic one is more than 10% carbs. I'll check that tomorrow. I'm sure there is more low carb food you can find, i'll check the list and get back to you with more options.
 
Hi Blanche, and welcome!
She's so cute!
I'm in Athens with Aida and Feloro.
Congrats on home monitoring! It should get easier with time, you both will fall into a routine and Blanche won't mind at all.
Regarding food supplies, I'm afraid I cannot help you since I prioritise my cats' renal health, that is, I prefer giving higher-carb foods and more insulin. They are seniors, so I tend to look after their kidneys.
You can really follow the advice from people here; they are super experienced. You can suggest changing insulin by mentioning a "friend" who had a super good result with Lantus/glargine to your vet.
If there's anything else, don't hesitate!
 
Hello everyone!



This is indeed a group I never want to join! :)

First of all, please take note that I am not an English speaker and please forgive any errors in my posts and comments. Also feel free to correct them.



As you can guess I’m here because one of my five little furrballs, Blanche, 9y old, at February 4th has been diagnosed with diabetes. More than 600. I take her to the vet after I noticed extreme thirst and pee and general agitation for about a month. Maybe little more. She was sudden always hungry and very vocal at night.

Just a pause to note that all five take yearly vet visits and blood tests, and Blanche’s BG from last May was perfect! (114). She has a chronic allergic asthma and she took for more than 3 years ¼ tab of prednisolone 5mg every night before sleep.

So, when I phone the vet with the early symptoms, she thought that it was due to cortisone side effect. But during the month I noticed that her condition was worsening and here we are…

Even if all my cats – except one who is on prescribed diet for liver deficiency eat high protein dry food, I immediately changed her food to can food for the first two days – before the insulin – and the to the Royal Canin prescribed diabetic diet (mostly) dry and wet.

At February 7th we start with 1U/12h Caninsulin but it was impossible to measure her at home, not because she didn’t cooperate but because I couldn’t draw a single drop of blood!

We went on 1U/12 until February 11th when we run a blood test at the vet’s and her BG was 328,24 three hours after the morning injection and meal.

The vet told me that we will keep the dosage until the end of month and we will run again another test to assert the situation.

Yesterday we run the test, also three hours after the morning injection and meal and her BG was 300. The vet decides to up the dosage 1U per 12/h and run another blood test at 15 days. The same night I notice that her stools were abnormally soft and I start to goggle “diabetic cat and diarrhea” and I stumble at felinediabetes.org!

I’m so very grateful because among other things I found those videos about how to draw blood from the ear and thanks to all that is holly I did it! So, three days now I take measurements just before every shot and after 2, 3, 4 and 6h.

The measurements are always high except 2-3h after each shot.

Today I measure for ketones in the blood with human meter and I found 1.4.

In the urine I have the sticks but until now I couldn’t collect any urine. How often I need to check?



I am alone, overwhelmed and afraid. I don’t know if I will wake up and find Blanche blind or dead. But most of all I don’t know what else I can do. Can I change the dosage more than once in every week? When to make a curve? And can I do it by measurements at home? I feel that my vet, my very beloved vet, she is overwhelmed as well and she prefers to go slow than to try to regulate tight. Because of my work, I’m absent for long hours and she is afraid that if we increase the dosage aggressively Blanche may experience hypoglycemia when I will be away. I want to put her the FurCarer CGM but the vet is not convinced because of the cost and the high probability for the device to be dislocated by the other cats in the household. Has anyone use it and care to share the experience?



All of this said, I’m very grateful that you exist!

Thank you again for all the information and support.

Immortalite




View attachment 77151
Hi Blanche and welcome, both of you! You are definitely in the right place. This forum helped me a lot and there are many very experienced and knowledgeable people here.
I’ll be very happy to help in any way I can. Unfortunately I have been sick with COVID for the last 5 days and I’m still trying to recover, but I will do my best to respond and support you whenever I can.
I also started with Caninsulin during the first four months after Maggie’s diagnosis. Unfortunately it didn’t work well for her. Because it is primarily designed for dogs it often doesn’t last long enough in many cats. At least in Maggie’s case, a few hours after the injection it was almost like there was no insulin left in her system.
Thankfully I found this forum, and after many difficulties we managed to switch to Lantus about a month ago. So far the results are much better, especially in terms of duration. You can actually see the difference in my spreadsheet.
Unfortunately, many vets in Athens, and I imagine in most parts of Greece, don’t have extensive experience with feline diabetes management, either regarding the most suitable insulin for cats or the appropriate diet.
Regarding food available in Greece, I have spent several months researching options that are appropriate for diabetic cats. I would be happy to help you with wet food choices that are available in our country. Unfortunately Maggie herself could not tolerate wet food because of a very sensitive stomach, but I still gathered a lot of information during my research.
Hopefully tomorrow I will feel a bit better and I can send you several food options so you can choose what might work best for Blanche.

Again, welcome and remember that you are not alone in this ❤️
 
Hi Blanche!
I hope you’re doing well. As I mentioned the day before yesterday, I’m sending you a few wet food options that are available here in Greece and seem suitable for diabetic cats. I hope they’re helpful!

Bozita (chicken) 4,2% of calories from carbs
ND quinoa skin & coat (venison) 6,35% of calories from carbs
Purina Pro Plan (chicken) 4,4% of calories from carbs
Granatapet Delicatessen Pur8 (venison) 7,2% calories from carbs
Lucky Lou (suppermono Lamb) 9% calories from carbs
Animonda carny (many flavors, usually low in carbohydrates depending on the variety)
 
Thank you all so much for your replies! It give me hope that we (Blanche and me ) will see through it. My vet is also a friend and I told her about the forum from the moment I found you. I send her also the link for Blanche's spreadsheet. I understand why she hesitates for the insulin transition, diabetic pets and especially cats, are not a common thing but I will wait till the end of the month. I think she will be persuaded.
 
Hi Blanche!
I hope you’re doing well. As I mentioned the day before yesterday, I’m sending you a few wet food options that are available here in Greece and seem suitable for diabetic cats. I hope they’re helpful!

Bozita (chicken) 4,2% of calories from carbs
ND quinoa skin & coat (venison) 6,35% of calories from carbs
Purina Pro Plan (chicken) 4,4% of calories from carbs
Granatapet Delicatessen Pur8 (venison) 7,2% calories from carbs
Lucky Lou (suppermono Lamb) 9% calories from carbs
Animonda carny (many flavors, usually low in carbohydrates depending on the variety)
Hellen you are a dear! Have a care with Covid, even if it isn't as aggressive as it was at the begging, still is a very tiresome infection.
When you feel better can you explain me how you calculate the percentage of calories from carbs?
Before diagnosis she ate the dry Naturea chicken Unbiased Naturea Cat Food Review - Cats.com but I thing I cannot continue to use it.
I even thought to start making her food with Dr's Pierson recipe but cooked.
Making Cat Food

The problem is that I have two other with liver condition, Pagalio and Belle and Papagalio litteraly came back from death's door and I cannnot know if the food I prepare will benefit her or not.
Thanks again and I hope you feel better very soon!
 
Hellen you are a dear! Have a care with Covid, even if it isn't as aggressive as it was at the begging, still is a very tiresome infection.
When you feel better can you explain me how you calculate the percentage of calories from carbs?
Before diagnosis she ate the dry Naturea chicken Unbiased Naturea Cat Food Review - Cats.com but I thing I cannot continue to use it.
I even thought to start making her food with Dr's Pierson recipe but cooked.
Making Cat Food

The problem is that I have two other with liver condition, Pagalio and Belle and Papagalio litteraly came back from death's door and I cannnot know if the food I prepare will benefit her or not.
Thanks again and I hope you feel better very soon!
Thank you very much for your kind wishes, I really appreciate them!

Regarding homemade food, I must admit that I haven’t personally tried preparing it myself, so I’m probably not the best person to help with that part. Since you also have two cats with liver conditions, it might be safer to discuss any homemade diet with your vet before trying it. For feeding the diabetic kitty, you may find it helpful to feed her separately in another room so you can better control what and how much she eats.

You can find the calculator I use here:
Spreadsheet for calculating food (carb) values from product data
It helps estimate the carbohydrate percentage and calories in cat food by entering the nutrient values from the label.

Please don’t hesitate to ask if there is anything else you would like to discuss. If it’s something I know about, I’ll be very happy to help.
 
Back
Top