Pasquale's Mom
Member Since 2013
Hello to all,
My real name is Donna. I’m new and so confused / overwhelmed. Sorry about the length of this post, but I’m trying to give the back story best as I can.
Pasquale 9Y, has just been diagnosed with diabetes 9/17. Just a month earlier (8/17) he’d had a whole “senior wellness” profile done and showed a BG of 175. I noticed him drinking / peeing more and brought him in for testing again. Only a month later, it was now up to 442 :cry:
9/17 The vet did not advise home testing, in fact advised against it. He wanted to send me home with ProZinc and start him on it at 4 units 2x a day. Good thing I did some snooping around on the internet- from what I’d read on this board, that number seemed really high to me, especially starting him out not knowing how he'll react to it. On top of practically doing it blind without home testing! I am at work 11 hours a day and do not have the luxury of being home to monitor him. The idea of injecting him with that dose, not knowing how it would affect him and going off to work terrified me. I also had just taken him off Hills wet / dry CD and switched him to canned Purina DM and wanted to wait- since I read here how much lowering carbs in diet can dramatically change insulin requirements. No injections that night.
9/18 - There are 4 vets in this practice, so I voiced my concerns about the dose to another vet who seemed more cautious and understanding of my concerns. I requested that if he be started at any dose, he be monitored just to see how he does at first. Vet took his BG which was 270, much lower than before - I think started to agree with my point about the dosing. I left Pasquale over night to be monitored to determine the dose.
9/19 they monitored him all day, no injections, but just BG levels in the 400’s – 300’s all day.
9/20 still at the vet - first dose of 4 units at 7am brought him down to 68 by 2:30, then he’d only gone back up to 120 by 6:30pm, so they didn’t give the second. Imagine if I had just listened and blindly followed the first instructions at home? I could have killed my baby.
9/21 They gave him 3 units at 7am, and his BG stayed in the 300’s throughout the day. I picked him up and they advised me to inject 3.5 at 7pm. He wasn’t eating though, and I had bought a Relion confirm meter and learned quickly how to use it. His BG said 95 – even if adding 30 = 125, I am so confused with how my reading was so far off from what they said they were getting all day. Anyway, between the not eating and lowish reading I got, I wasn’t about to inject him.
My boy was on Hills CD wet and dry before all this happened, and even before his diagnosis always loved to eat. I was prescribed Purina DM wet and dry. After hearing about how awful dry food is, I opted to only give him canned. He ate it at first, but now more and more is turning up his nose at it.
9/22 He had eaten enough morning of day #3 where I injected him 3.5. But then he threw up about 20 minutes later. I took him back in to the vet where they worked him up again. I also kept home testing his BG levels & they hadn’t dipped that low – went to 143 then back up to 268. This was a Sunday and thankfully I was able to be around all day. 7pm I injected him 3.5 as directed (he had eaten enough) and his BG at that time was 311. He was okay, but a little sleepy / mopey. I nervously watched him, wondering if there was something wrong or he’s just being a cat trying to sleep.
9/23 Vet had me bring him in the next morning to observe him. He didn’t eat a thing, no matter what I tried to feed him. Of course I didn’t give him a shot. Vet called me and said his morning BG was 98, so no shot from them either. At this point, they advised me to give him 24-48 hours off the juice and only when he starts eating to give 2 units twice a day.
9/24 no injections for now, my big worry is getting him to eat. He ate very little last night and hardly anything this morning. I am at work, and didn’t test his BG this morning, but plan to when I get home. He seemed to meow and want food, but once I put it down, he turned up his nose. I gave him some plain broken up rotisserie chicken so he’d have something.
My questions are – how much insulin do most people start their cats off? Do you start low and adjust higher if needed? I’ve been doing this the other way around. Other big concern is the food. Obviously, I need my boy to eat before I resume any insulin at all. I know it’s common for these guys to hate the DM cat food, and could his not eating also be from his dosages constantly changing / BG’s swinging all over the place?
Any help you can provide would be so appreciated. I am so grateful for this board.
My real name is Donna. I’m new and so confused / overwhelmed. Sorry about the length of this post, but I’m trying to give the back story best as I can.
Pasquale 9Y, has just been diagnosed with diabetes 9/17. Just a month earlier (8/17) he’d had a whole “senior wellness” profile done and showed a BG of 175. I noticed him drinking / peeing more and brought him in for testing again. Only a month later, it was now up to 442 :cry:
9/17 The vet did not advise home testing, in fact advised against it. He wanted to send me home with ProZinc and start him on it at 4 units 2x a day. Good thing I did some snooping around on the internet- from what I’d read on this board, that number seemed really high to me, especially starting him out not knowing how he'll react to it. On top of practically doing it blind without home testing! I am at work 11 hours a day and do not have the luxury of being home to monitor him. The idea of injecting him with that dose, not knowing how it would affect him and going off to work terrified me. I also had just taken him off Hills wet / dry CD and switched him to canned Purina DM and wanted to wait- since I read here how much lowering carbs in diet can dramatically change insulin requirements. No injections that night.
9/18 - There are 4 vets in this practice, so I voiced my concerns about the dose to another vet who seemed more cautious and understanding of my concerns. I requested that if he be started at any dose, he be monitored just to see how he does at first. Vet took his BG which was 270, much lower than before - I think started to agree with my point about the dosing. I left Pasquale over night to be monitored to determine the dose.
9/19 they monitored him all day, no injections, but just BG levels in the 400’s – 300’s all day.
9/20 still at the vet - first dose of 4 units at 7am brought him down to 68 by 2:30, then he’d only gone back up to 120 by 6:30pm, so they didn’t give the second. Imagine if I had just listened and blindly followed the first instructions at home? I could have killed my baby.
9/21 They gave him 3 units at 7am, and his BG stayed in the 300’s throughout the day. I picked him up and they advised me to inject 3.5 at 7pm. He wasn’t eating though, and I had bought a Relion confirm meter and learned quickly how to use it. His BG said 95 – even if adding 30 = 125, I am so confused with how my reading was so far off from what they said they were getting all day. Anyway, between the not eating and lowish reading I got, I wasn’t about to inject him.
My boy was on Hills CD wet and dry before all this happened, and even before his diagnosis always loved to eat. I was prescribed Purina DM wet and dry. After hearing about how awful dry food is, I opted to only give him canned. He ate it at first, but now more and more is turning up his nose at it.
9/22 He had eaten enough morning of day #3 where I injected him 3.5. But then he threw up about 20 minutes later. I took him back in to the vet where they worked him up again. I also kept home testing his BG levels & they hadn’t dipped that low – went to 143 then back up to 268. This was a Sunday and thankfully I was able to be around all day. 7pm I injected him 3.5 as directed (he had eaten enough) and his BG at that time was 311. He was okay, but a little sleepy / mopey. I nervously watched him, wondering if there was something wrong or he’s just being a cat trying to sleep.
9/23 Vet had me bring him in the next morning to observe him. He didn’t eat a thing, no matter what I tried to feed him. Of course I didn’t give him a shot. Vet called me and said his morning BG was 98, so no shot from them either. At this point, they advised me to give him 24-48 hours off the juice and only when he starts eating to give 2 units twice a day.
9/24 no injections for now, my big worry is getting him to eat. He ate very little last night and hardly anything this morning. I am at work, and didn’t test his BG this morning, but plan to when I get home. He seemed to meow and want food, but once I put it down, he turned up his nose. I gave him some plain broken up rotisserie chicken so he’d have something.
My questions are – how much insulin do most people start their cats off? Do you start low and adjust higher if needed? I’ve been doing this the other way around. Other big concern is the food. Obviously, I need my boy to eat before I resume any insulin at all. I know it’s common for these guys to hate the DM cat food, and could his not eating also be from his dosages constantly changing / BG’s swinging all over the place?
Any help you can provide would be so appreciated. I am so grateful for this board.