Hello..ive got the kit now

Status
Not open for further replies.

EightCatsGirl

Member Since 2020
Hello--I am back here for a bit. I started here in January(on this message board. then went to the FB group for more help) with my diabetic cat who is 11 years old . We started out with diet alone. Then we had her tested in the beginning of April and the vet said to start her with insulin.

She gave us Prozinc and she gets 1 unit twice a day. She will be going to the vet on april 27th for a numbers check.

Today...we got the Alpha Tracks starter kit. My mom will be in charge of the testing kit and the shots. I don't trust myself to give shots or do the testing. I don't want to mess anything up. So she will be doing this.

We're going to start the testing tomorrow because my mom wanted to read everything and do the test samples and set up the meter. Now we just have to figure out what times we should test. Its before the insulin right?

I want to post a picture here of my cat showing you that shes not fat. She is loosing weight and im worried about it. Ive been feeding her 3 meals a day of friskies pate or fancy feast classics. depending on the flavor..she'll eat it right up or she''ll pick at it.

Thank you for reading this.
 
Hello and welcome back!

I'm not a ProZinc user, but I can point you to the "Basics" sticky from that forum: NEW TO THE GROUP: THE PROZINC BASICS. PLEASE START HERE.

Copying the most critical points you'll need for tomorrow morning:

___________________

When in doubt, ask the Forum or your vet for advice BEFORE dosing your cat.
  • The proper sequence for dosing insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle. NOTE: Because pet-specific meters (such as the AlphaTrak2) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using an AlphaTrak2 or other pet-specific meter.
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Do not feed your cat within the two-hour window right before the scheduled dose time; doing this can raise your cat’s blood significantly, giving you a higher BG number based on food. This could result in your giving insulin when you should not, or giving more insulin than you should.
__________________


Good luck tomorrow! Post here if you have any questions!
 
Welcome back!:bighug: As you already know theres a wealth of info here and people to help you decipher it all. It would be nice to be able to put a name to your avatar. Also kitties name? I understand if your not comfortable giving information out...Just would be nice.
GOOD LUCK! :):coffee:
 
Thank you Nan and Amber for the info. :)

This morning around 7:30...mom tested my cat and her number was 229. 2 weeks ago it was 518. Back in January it was in the mid 200s(I have her numbers written down in a folder). So this started low then went high now back low. Im not sure when we will test again tonight..

This morning...mom told me that Brinie (that's my cats name)did not eat her breakfast. Fancy Feast Classic turkey. She ate dinner last night and now shes not eating at all. :-(
So mom called the vet and they said not to give the Prozinc to her. Now we are still waiting for the vet to call back . (Its 6:00 now.)

Im worried that shes not eating ..shes loosing weight and is wobbly on her legs. :( Shes 11 years old.
 
Have you tried sprinkling something like Parmesan cheese on top of her food? Check her teeth. (Vet should have done that) She may have a tooth that hurts. I'm just throwing out ideas... I hope your Vet calls back soon. :(
 
JT and Trouble.....
Brinie went to the vet in January for a Dental. That's how this whole diabetic thing got started. She went in for blood work and came out a diabetic. ugh. So her teeth are fine now.

Shes a picky eater. So I don't want to put anything new on her food. Last night...I put bone broth on her dinner and she ate that. but now...shes not eating.

Its 7:45 and still no call from the vet. Hopefully they will call tomorrow. I know they are super busy with this whole virus thing going on.... sigh...
 
Last edited:
Does she have any favorite foods or treats that she loves? Sometimes if they just get started, they get interested in food again.

I hope the vet gets back to you. It is dangerous for a diabetic cat to go without both food and insulin-- they can develop ketones which, in the worst case scenario, can develop quickly into diabetic ketoacidosis. Hopefully the vet gets back to you and/or she starts eating on her own again soon. You can test for ketones at home to keep an eye on that if it's a possibility.
 
I guess i'll be leaving this message board and the FB groups this week. :(

My cat Brinie isn't doing so well. Shes at the specialty vet with IV fluids and medications. her liver isn't doing so well and now shes having a hard time breathing.
her numbers are back up in the 500s again. :( she might have to be put down :(

We buy Brinie the expensive vet food that she rarely ate in the first place. then we buy her the starter kit for alpha tracks...and now this happens to her! so unfair!
 
This is what my mom had posted about Brinie:

Brinnie, our diabetic cat, deteriorated quickly yesterday. No eating so no insulin. Very unsteady,
incontinent, vomited bile. Now I’m in the parking lot at the vet(this was first thing in the morning) while she’s checked over.
Could be sent to Flannery for 24-hour glucose monitoring. It’s scary how fast she tanked.
On Monday, she was starving. Now, she turns away from food. Can barely stand.
Brin’s glucose was over 500. Temp was very low at 91. She’s very dehydrated.
Needs 24 hours of warming, I’ve fluids and insulin drip.
----------------------------------------------------
Ive known Brinie since 2009. She was a feral pregnant cat who came to my house with 3 orange kittens. I took 1 kitten and took the other 2 kittens to the vet to be adopted out.
Then a year later Brinie had 3 grey kittens.. I did the same thing again. This time we took brinie and her grey daughter. Fixed them both up. We took the other 2 grey kittens to the vet to be adopted out . So ive known her for 11 years! I am going to miss my dilute tortieshell cat! I named her brinie like Brindle(the coloring of a dog) lol I know it sounds dumb...but it fits her.

Since this is a 24 hour specialty vet...I don't know what time they will call in the morning .

I am not having a good year with my pets.
 
So sad to hear that Brinie did not pull through.

Lighting a ring of candles, in memory of your beloved Brinie.
candle.jpg

I know this is a difficult time for you, but in time, you will think of some of the good and happy memories you had with Brinie. It's never easy, to say goodbye to one of our cats. Our time with them never seems to be long enough.
 

Attachments

  • candle.jpg
    candle.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 51
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top