Hello! Introduction and a question.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Ashley and Princess, Aug 20, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashley and Princess

Ashley and Princess New Member

Hello! My name is Ashley! A little bit about me: i'm a senior college student studying music therapy, I work part time as an activity aid at a nursing home and fall is my favorite season. Princess is my cat, she's a 15 year old multicolored fluffy cat who is sweet but can also be a bit moody, she got diagnosed either march or april of this year. I have been a part of the facebook page for a while but I just joined the website. She is currently on the dm vet diet (I had her on friskies pate for a while but she had a hypo and I decided better listen to the vet) she's on 1.75 units of vetsulin twice daily and I home test before every meal on the relion premier human meter. My question is: her bg this morning was 459 tonight it was 185, I was wondering with such a drop during the day if I should still give her her insulin. Thanks!

jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Red & Rover (GA)

Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

3. Red & Rover (GA)

Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

4. Ashley and Princess

Thank you!!

5. Panic

Panic Well-Known Member

Hello Ashley!

Do you have any data you could share with us? A safe bet would be to skip if you don't have experience or hypo supplies shooting below 200.
    I will say the switch from Friskies Pate to DM only increased her numbers, a hypo event means she's on too much insulin. Did you drop the dose after that hypo event?

459 to 185 could just be an indication of her clearing a bounce (let me know if you need a description on what that means!).

6. Ashley and Princess