Idjit's mom
Member Since 2018
What do you think Barbara? A little more food if he will eat it? He was at 129 about an hour ago..now dipping a bit.
Happy to see Ganon is still above 70. We are about six hours after his shot time (I think) and that is also good.He’s at 97 now
Thanks for making it easier to keep trackPS: fed and shot 1U Prozinc, no BG taken (about 8 pm CT)
+1.5: 103 (9:30pm CT)
+3.5: Alphatrak 71 (fed dry kibble mixed with Nutrish & karo) (midnight CT)
+4.5: 129
+5.5: 97 (fed 2 whiskas dry treats)
Ok gave him a spoonful of Nutrish. Thank you for staying up with me. It means a lot.Happy to see Ganon is still above 70. We are about six hours after his shot time (I think) and that is also good.
Now, we need to see some rising numbers without the influence of any dry food or karo etc. before we can safely go to bed
Please give Ganon a couple of teaspoons or so of the low carb wet food only and test in another hour. You can set an alarm if the Dating Game is putting you to sleep
We'll stay up for the next test
I'm happy to do so. I had so much help from others, totally kept Uncle safe and me sane. There's a big learning curve in the beginning and you will find help when you need it.Ok gave him a spoonful of Nutrish. Thank you for staying up with me. It means a lot.
Thank you Lou!Effie, tomorrow get your hypo toolbox together with a couple of cans of high carb gravy type food/and medium carb food. Then, if this ever happens again, and I hope not, you can squeeze that gravy out and give him a tsp at a time, if needed. It's best to give small amounts at a time and not fill them up so you are actually steering him up carefully. I know you are going to be tired tomorrow, but if you can, get the spreadsheet up so you can enter the testing and shot data. With the time zone differences, it's easier to check the spreadsheet for the data.
This too shall pass, and Ganon is probably wondering what all the fuss is about. You are doing great!
I know it seems like it. I think some people put Neosporin on their kitties ears after testing to helpHis little ears are going to turn to Swiss cheese soon.
Fancy Feast "gravy lovers" are what a lot of people use for high carb gravy foodEffie, tomorrow get your hypo toolbox together with a couple of cans of high carb gravy type food/and medium carb food. Then, if this ever happens again, and I hope not, you can squeeze that gravy out and give him a tsp at a time, if needed. It's best to give small amounts at a time and not fill them up so you are actually steering him up carefully. I know you are going to be tired tomorrow, but if you can, get the spreadsheet up so you can enter the testing and shot data. With the time zone differences, it's easier to check the spreadsheet for the data.
This too shall pass, and Ganon is probably wondering what all the fuss is about. You are doing great!
Ok great! Thank you so much.Fancy Feast "gravy lovers" are what a lot of people use for high carb gravy food
I think the beef gravy lover is the highest carb at 20% but I would double-check that
Here's a link below of a sortible food chart
You can see the carb % of the different brands are and also the carb % of different varieties within the same brand
http://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
He’s a pretty chill cat and trusts me implicitly. He’s a great companion.I know it seems like it. I think some people put Neosporin on their kitties ears after testing to help
I'm so glad you are able to get so many tests in tonight to keep him safe
I have definitely seen a couple of cases where the cat ended up not needing any insulin because the caregiver changed their cats diet to an all low carb wet diet.So I won’t be giving him anymore insulin until I talk to the doc...or maybe just see a different one. I drastically changed his diet. I think I’m going to do this for a few weeks first and see if his numbers improve. I caught this very early on so I hope that this by itself will help.
Idjit was one, he had insulin for 11 days, and we were doing it all wrong, following vet's instructions. I think if Effie has eliminated the high carb food and snacks, and just provides low carb wet food, she may find similar results. But..Effie, be sure to test and record, he may just need less insulin for a bit longer, to enable the pancreas to completely heal.I have definitely seen a couple of cases where the cat ended up not needing any insulin because the caregiver changed their cats diet to an all low carb wet diet.
This may be the case with Ganon. If you talk to your vet about this possibility they may or may not support you so just arm yourself with as m hopefully they will be supportive
He's doing great and I hate to say but I am not comfortable sending you off to bed without another test that shows a rise in his BG levelOk an hour after giving him that Nutrish, he’s up one point to 98. What do you think?
Lou, you mean Test and Record, but no more insulin for now, right?be sure to test and record
Ok that makes sense.He's doing great and I hate to say but I am not comfortable sending you off to bed without another test that shows a rise in his BG level
To be clear, we want him to show upward momentum so we know that when you go to sleep he won't drop back into unsafe numbers.
My recommendation is to withhold food and check again in an hour. Hopefully by then the insulin will be waning.
Yes I understand you are not advising me. I will not give him anymore and I will keep checking him to make sure he’s not in the “danger zone”.I am not able to advise you about giving or not giving the insulin, not enough knowledge. You had said that you were not going to give him any, at least until you talked to the vet. I just want you to keep testing to be sure of what his blood sugar is going forward. It may be that he can be diet controlled, I hope so. But testing is going to tell you what's going on and if he does need insulin.
I figured that out and I totally agree with your suggestionOh cripes..I responded to Effie, when Barbara posted.
I think we're probably all feeling that way except for Ganont's late and my brain turned into a pumpkin

I FORGOT, your Idjit was one of the lucky onesIdjit was one, he had insulin for 11 days,
Barbara, he really was one of the lucky ones. We were still just chasing our tails and he slid right into remission. I didn't even know it was happening. I just hope it holds forever. He's a good boy and puts up with us.I FORGOT, your Idjit was one of the lucky ones![]()
Great news! So, are we all off to bed?
Good night then, ladies. Idjit's going to be waking me up in 4 hours, so I'm going to grab some sleep. Take care.

You did great tonight. I hope you both sleep soundly and softly
Yes!!! You two are amazing people. Thank you so much!!


I have read most of everything sent to me including the Prozinc/Insulin page I also read up on that food list, whomever did that, you’re a true hero.THANK YOU, Barbara and Lou!
And glad that you and Ganon did so well, Effie! Today I would suggest going back to those Prozinc links to the stickies that I gave you. Having read through the protocol that is usually used here before talking to your vet will arm you with some good information.
And I think that you got the link to the food chart so that you could try to pick some lower carb food, and then fingers and paws crossed, let's hope that he goes into remission and stays diet-controlled without needing any insulin at all!
Great job! Oh, and nice meeting you EffieYou've had quite the first day! Ask as many questions as you need to.
The Main Health Forum would be a good place for any general questions like about food, and then the prozinc form if you end up needing a little bit of insulin to help advise you on dosing, which you can do literally before every shot if that's what you end up having to do.
But for now just see how he does for a few days without insulin and maybe post an intro to yourself and Ganon with your test numbers over in Prozinc to see what they think. I'd suggest testing him still like before his breakfast, before bedtime, and maybe once in the middle of the day if you are home. That will show us how he does without food, and then how his body reacts to the food to know if he is producing his own insulin.
Big hugs to everyone!
![]()
![]()
![]()
I love this.Barbara, he really was one of the lucky ones. We were still just chasing our tails and he slid right into remission. I didn't even know it was happening. I just hope it holds forever. He's a good boy and puts up with us.
YAYHe’s still full of energy and purrs.


That's perfectly fine, since at this point you don't need to test for insulin influenced safety anymore.He was NOT letting me prick him this morning and I thought he had been through enough so I just let him eat.
Yes, that food chart is an incredible resource and it must have taken many many hours to compile. Dr Pierson has a great website on cat health in general!I also read up on that food list, whomever did that, you’re a true hero.




