Hello from Trey Canada

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
Hello dear friends it is a while since I have been here. Trey had been doing so well but in the past few weeks he has developed a sneezing and congested so a trip to vet .Blood work shows everything is pretty good kidneys and all but his BG was 16.5 but he was so stuffed up and of course he gets car sick so had a mess there in his carrier. So vet thought maybe because of everything going on should not be anything to worry about but should test him at home for a few days. He is on his 6th day of clavaseptin 50mg.2 pills twice a day and he is doing really good .Everything seems to be clearing up good only problem I have been testing every morning for 6 days and bg is always between 11 & 12. I forgot how you do the calculations but I know this is a bit high. Wondering if anything I can do to help get this back down. He only get can food no gravy and no dry food very few treats.
The protein call Globulin is high and that could be caused by a few things like a bacterial infection or others things. My worry is his BG being up and if this is too high for too long. I guess I just wonder what your guys think about this. Thank you so much Kathleen & Trey
 
Welcome back, Kathleen and Trey!

How much longer is he on the clavaseptin? It looks like this is an antibiotic, so if he does have an infection, then that could also be elevating his BGs. 11-12 is around the default "no shoot" number of 200, so I would think you might want to wait a few days more, probably till after he's finished with the antibiotic. If it's still not come down, then maybe you might want to restart insulin, but at a very low dose.
 
I agree ...if he doesn't come down soon, you might want to start back on insulin. The easy way to convert the numbers is to times them by 18, so between 11-12 is 198-216...and higher than we'd like to see.

Hopefully once the infection is totally cleared up, he'll come back down
 
Trey has 4 more days left and yes I will wait till after the antibiotic is done Thank you for replying so quickly....I will let you know how things go Hugssss
Thank you I remember now x18 and thank you again Kath & Trey
 
Hello hope everyone is having a wonderful day . I am so blessed Trey is doing awesome done of meds and BG is on the way back to normal 147 I am so happy. He has had this cough for almost 3 years Xrays and puffers and lung worm treatment nothing helped. He started with this awful sneezing about 3 weeks ago and his vet said well not sounding good but all his blood work was pretty good . Well 2 weeks later no sneezing,no coughing he did lost a lb but that ok he is 16 lbs . I just wanted to update but wanted to be sure he was heading in the right direction. Sending all prayers healing green light and tons of Thanks for always being here. Because of you my vet ask what do I think and will work with me instead of the old way ..do as I say!!!!! This site Is so AWESOME .....Hugs Kathleen & Trey
Trey sends big sandpaper kisses to all
 
Well hello again Trey was on another antibiotic for the pass month Doxycycline 0.5ml every 24 hours had his last dose yesterday. All his cold,sneezing,coughing has cleared up .He is loosing a little weight and his BG is up before he went on this stuff it was good ranging 108-162 but every time he goes on meds it goes up....this time to 216-270 so it has been up for most of the month. He will be having blood work today and guess will take it from there. Any advice would be welcomed Just to update Trey is a 15.4 boy he is about 14 he was a stray that came to live with us at about 3 we think .In 2010 he was on insulin for 2 months and with the angels here he was able to come off of it ......now what to do??? Thank you
 
Hi Kath. I am pretty new to all of this diabetic stuff but when I read about Trey sneezing, I thought I would share this. Merlin sneezes and has a runny nose off and on. He has been on doxycycline before too and it relieved him but it seems to be chronic so tends to come back every so often. My vet suggested that I give him lysine. At first, the vet gave Merlin treats that had lysine in it, but I was hesitant to give him any treats that were not on our low carb list. So I went to the local health food store and bought some lysine in pill form. I crush it and put it in his food on a daily basis. I made sure that it didn't have any additives or sugar in it. He gets 500 mg of lysine total spread throughout the day. I took the lysine into the vet just last week and she was ok with it. So just a thought.
 
Thank you for that info Merlin I do have Lysine liquid form from vet ....I forgot that I had it will be sure to start him on it again. Waiting for word on blood work.....before we start the insulin . Vet said we should see for a few days if his BG will come down on his own just see what tomorrow brings. Prayers and tons of healing green light to your Merlin Hugssssssssssss
 
Trey is still running a bit high so he got his first .25 unit this morning he was 244 will check at 6 hours see how he is doing....Thank you for being here!!!
 
Trey`s +5 was 212 His +10 1/2 was 247 gave him .25unit or as close as I could . This morning 6:30 checked 232 gave more like .50 of a unit stupid new meter only 4 months old and batteries dead just as I go to take blood so I manger to get a drop on my finger to redo another strip....I hope to feel better and get everything on a better and even keel Thank you so much for being here Kath
 
The board has been up-and-down a bit lately, so sorry for the late reply. Good job on getting the tests in! You will want to stick as close to the same dose as possible for the first 5-7 days after starting Lantus. I think the .5u might be a good idea as well. Hopefully, we'll start to see his numbers come down with this dose. How is he doing today?
 
Hi Kpassa we will keep Trey at the .5 unit and hope to see a start in his numbers coming down. Trey is good he is doing a lot of talking today but has been for some time he is about 14 years we think. Thank you for all you do and for being here when I saw the numbers coming up over the past weeks this was the first place I thought where I would get the kind of help we both need. My vet even has come around to our side 4 years ago it was start at 3units twice a day but Wed it was start at .25units if you can .....Tons of healing green light to all help here the board is awesome .... ~O) \M/ Kath Trey
 
I think in the next couple of days, we should start seeing some lower numbers soon as the depot is filled up. :thumbup Here's hoping he just needs another little bit of insulin to kick his pancreas into gear again before going OTJ. :mrgreen:
 
Ok I will do one before bed and see how it goes. He is so good I almost hate poking him but I keep telling him its only for a little while fingers crossed Thank you all for making me feel at home almost like I never left :roll: :lol: Hugs and tons of healing green light to all especially sugarcats!!!
 
As long as he gets his little treat he will be fine.

And they barely feel it, their ears have less nerve endings than our fingers.. So not as sore,
 
Ok Wendy will tell that to Trey I usually feed after test so Trey is always happy with that very few treats for him but he gets a few :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top