caringcdn
Member Since 2014
Hello everyone at FDMB. I thought we would introduce ourselves in our very first post. Pixie is a 14 year old, 12 lb male cat who was diagnosed with DM on February 18, 2014. Prior to this, he has been a very healthy cat with excellent blood results at his last pet visit which was a few days before Christmas. Pixie lives in a multi pet dwelling in Ontario, Canada (3 cats and 3 dogs). Interestingly enough, Pixie started to show illnesses about 1 week after a new cat was added to our household. We're babysitting this new 1 year old female until my son and his wife return from Australia. He just started studying veterinary medicine in Melbourne.
Pixie is still not regulated but we're closer as our BG curves are starting to look more like they should. My vet has recommended a slower approach to his treatment with Glargine. We try a dose and wait 7 to 10 days before we increase. We are presently at 4 units Bid, however our AMPS and PMPS are very high - 32.1 and 21.4 respectively and our nadir points much lower - 7.6 and 11.6. We are using an AlphaTrack 2 BG monitor. Pixie has been switched over from Royal Canin dental formula (kibble) to Royal Canin Hypoallergenic and Sensitvity-vr. We alternate between the two whenever Pixie is less inclined to eat.
Pixie's diabetes has been difficult to monitor because he has pancreatitis and early stage renal disease. Over the last three months his pancreatitis has been up and down with the last couple of days being down days. Pixie's regimen is quite extensive and the vet feels that Pixie is still with us because of our efforts. His protocol is as follows - 100mls of subQ fluids Bid, 0.5 ml Famotidine Bid, 0.5 ml Cerenia(5 days on, 3 days off), Vetergesic 0.15-0.3 ml Bid, 4 units Glargine Bid,
0.25 mg Metaclopramide Bid and 2mg of Mirtazapine every day.
Since getting sick, Pixie has been a challenge to feed. We have switched him from dry to canned but he never eats much at any one time. He eats a little, 1/8th of a can at a time which means that he is eating throughout the day and night. When he has good days, he eats 2 and 1/2 cans of food. On bad days I'm lucky to get 1 can into him which affects his BG results. Yesterday he didn't eat much and his AMPS this morning was 9.5 and I didn't give him his insulin because the dose is so high and his appetite low. His PMPS was 35.2 and his appetite has improved so I gave him 4 units of Glargine.
These last three months have been stressful as Pixie has been so up and down. I wonder about his quality of life and whether I'm being selfish by keeping him alive with all these injections. If I knew his Diabetes and Pancreatitis would eventually be controlled and he could live a few more years then it would be worth it but I'm not sure we can stabilize him. Thus my reason for posting. I need support and reassurance that I'm doing the right thing. Thank you very kindly for reading my very long post and I look forward to your replies. Sincerely, Anne and Pixie.
Pixie is still not regulated but we're closer as our BG curves are starting to look more like they should. My vet has recommended a slower approach to his treatment with Glargine. We try a dose and wait 7 to 10 days before we increase. We are presently at 4 units Bid, however our AMPS and PMPS are very high - 32.1 and 21.4 respectively and our nadir points much lower - 7.6 and 11.6. We are using an AlphaTrack 2 BG monitor. Pixie has been switched over from Royal Canin dental formula (kibble) to Royal Canin Hypoallergenic and Sensitvity-vr. We alternate between the two whenever Pixie is less inclined to eat.
Pixie's diabetes has been difficult to monitor because he has pancreatitis and early stage renal disease. Over the last three months his pancreatitis has been up and down with the last couple of days being down days. Pixie's regimen is quite extensive and the vet feels that Pixie is still with us because of our efforts. His protocol is as follows - 100mls of subQ fluids Bid, 0.5 ml Famotidine Bid, 0.5 ml Cerenia(5 days on, 3 days off), Vetergesic 0.15-0.3 ml Bid, 4 units Glargine Bid,
0.25 mg Metaclopramide Bid and 2mg of Mirtazapine every day.
Since getting sick, Pixie has been a challenge to feed. We have switched him from dry to canned but he never eats much at any one time. He eats a little, 1/8th of a can at a time which means that he is eating throughout the day and night. When he has good days, he eats 2 and 1/2 cans of food. On bad days I'm lucky to get 1 can into him which affects his BG results. Yesterday he didn't eat much and his AMPS this morning was 9.5 and I didn't give him his insulin because the dose is so high and his appetite low. His PMPS was 35.2 and his appetite has improved so I gave him 4 units of Glargine.
These last three months have been stressful as Pixie has been so up and down. I wonder about his quality of life and whether I'm being selfish by keeping him alive with all these injections. If I knew his Diabetes and Pancreatitis would eventually be controlled and he could live a few more years then it would be worth it but I'm not sure we can stabilize him. Thus my reason for posting. I need support and reassurance that I'm doing the right thing. Thank you very kindly for reading my very long post and I look forward to your replies. Sincerely, Anne and Pixie.