Shoeskitty-GA
Member Since 2016
Hello and thanks for this board and for all that you do. My cat Shoes was diagnosed Sept. 2015 and was put on Novolin N. Things went okay until Jan. 24, 2016 when he crashed while I was asleep and almost died. I had been reading this board for some time before this and had wanted to change insulins before but vet would not. Shoes then crashed again this week on Feb. 24. I had not left for work yet so I was able to stabilize him within 45 minutes then off to the vet we went. This time our vet did agree to change to Lantus. He started Shoes on 2 IU's the next morning. The bg numbers were fair and the nadir dropped to 189 and stayed fairly stable at just above 200 that day. He got another dose after 12 hours and his numbers stayed in the less than 200 range but the next morning, yesterday, his AMPS was 61.1 so he was not injected and monitored closely. The numbers jumped around quite a bit. They only got above 300 at 316 once. I was allowed to bring him home yesterday evening but instructed to check his bg at certain times and if his PMPS was not at least 200 or above to not give the insulin. His PMPS was 296 so I gave him a reduced dose of 1 iu and monitored him every 3 hours throughout the night. His numbers were higher on the 1 iu. He got another 1 iu this morning as his AMPS was 434. My question is this: How long does it take for the Lantus to start lowering his bg on a consistent basis? Obviously the 2 IU's dose was too high as it lasted 24 hours and caused the drop to 61.1 after less than 12 hours. My vet is a great vet, but we are in a small town and there are not many pet owners as anal as I am and willing to do whatever it takes to give my kitty the best possible care so our vet does not have a lot of experience with Lantus. My feeling is that we need to give the 1 unit dose several days to do its job before changing. Shoes now is fed a low carb diet. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.


)