hello again, satan mild hypo

Status
Not open for further replies.

dollsinmyeyes

Member Since 2012
sooo i just wrote this post and i think my internet connection failed and it went to space

i've been away from internet withing moving and grandmas having strokes. blahblahblah but at least satan is now on a 12/12 schedule.

satan 10:15 amps was 68, fed his lc can, dumped some hc on top, 10:35- 61, more hc cuz he eat everything, 11a 91,

will take another reading in 10 minutes,

he's been on 2 units lantus bid no s&s of hypo

its been a while since i've been able to do a curve due to human life dramas.

but any advice. we've obviously held the insulin
 
Sounds like you are handling the mild hypo just fine! Congrats!

But with those numbers Mister Satan has earned himself a dose reduction...Hopefully you have syringes with 1/2 unit marks because it sounds like you will now be shooting 1.75u instead of the full 2u.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
i should have asked, as i did in my first post -

should i skip this shot all together? give a shot when his blood sugar seems stable?

hes annoyed with me. he wants to take a nap and not have his mama attacking him.

and i love to attack him with hugs :) hahahaha
 
Yep skip this one and see where he is for his next one. Be aware that he is probably going to be much higher by his evening shot for a lot of reasons, 1) the skipped shot 2) the HC food, & 3) because his body is probably dumping stored sugars to try to protect itself from those low numbers.

With Musette what I normally do is shot through the bounce and then reduce on the next shot. So this evening I would go ahead and give the 2u and then with the morning shot shoot the reduced dose of 1.75u...make sense? I, personally, feel like they need that little bit of extra insulin to counteract the raise in BGs caused by the bounce and normally your morning preshot will be lower and easier for the insulin to do its job.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Also 68 isn't really a hypo number so in the future you could probably just stall without feeding and see if he is rising and not have to break out the HC food. You really only need to do that if you get a number that is below 40. Maxwell who is in remission normally runs between 55-70. I have one civie that stays consistantly in the 40s.

Remember that normal for a cat on a human meter is between 40-120, so we don't tend to get too worried about them until they hit right around the 40s before intervening with HC food.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
alright to be fair..... my high carb food isnt all that high carb... its 11% i think. and i only gave him about a teaspoon

i just said high carb cuz i felt scolded once when i tried to wait out a hypo on low carb.....
 
we're at 110 now..........

so i feel okay running to the store to get more strips and the things i need for easter food. kitty seems stable.

even when he's hit his very low points he hasnt acted too low


i hope finally working out the 12/12 schedule will help him get better. i felt awful with my previous schedule but had no options.

thanks mel!

you've always been so sweet.
 
I got to tell you I don't break out the HC food for Musette even when she hits the 30s, I just feed her, her normal LC food and keep testing, as long as she doesn't display any outward signs of being hypo, I also don't test every 1/2 hour I test once and hour and just keep a closer eye on her.

Yeah I know I'm a rebel, but Musette has done great on my way of handling things with her when she goes uber low, and I don't end up fighting all those carbs for the next 2 days. But then again she is a food spiker so I know that her regular food will raise her pretty quickly all on its own.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
satan seems to be pretty unpredictable. i'm always totally shocked when he throws a hypo number at me. but i havent gotten a curve done. and we just finished week one of regular insulin dosing. after months of my chaos.

i think i'm pretty willing to wait out a hypo and keep testing to make sure he's okay. he's never seemed hypoglycemic. thank goodness kitty is a strong little fellow.

i think he's lazy when his blood sugar his high... all day long he slept today in the same spot. usually he's a bit more adventurous

everythings bond to be wonky since we just moved. poor kitty. he was not thrilled with the whole moving event

okay i'm babbling.

we're doing well.

i've been a bit lax on my spread sheet and i've botched the colors . ahhh
 
Some people call it "feed the 40's".

I have a civvie who has tested around 42 and 48, so you are OK at 68; it's not hypo.

Don't worry about being 'scolded' here in this forum; we try to help in ways that was can but ultimately, YOU are the one who must do what feels right and safe.

It may be an idea for you to get a couple cans of fancy feast GRILLED flavors or gravies flavors, just to have in case you have a real hypo situation.

Your 11% is good to keep as a nice MC food.

In order to earn a decrease, you want to get just under the 50, so I think you were OK with today's numbers.
 
thanks gail... and i don't mind being scolded or corrected.

everyone here is super helpful :)

i suppose occasionally i get all my low numbers messed up over what should make me panic.
and than i never understand why he has to go and throw in such a low number. silly kitty man.

i have human regular numbers in my head.
cat numbers.
cat numbers via vet numbers/human meters
and than new born numbers.

it seems hahahahaha newborn hypos are about on the same level as kitty hypos.

satan seems to think i need to be awake at this hour. i wish i could show you all the sweet way he keeps nudging me awake.

so excuse the babbling. i'm a tired cat mama.
 
There are just too many numbers and ranges for cats and humans and it can get confusing, but you are doing just fine.

Scolding is not the way to go, so maybe we will call it something like gently adjusting observations?
I did not even know that cats could have diabetes when my first cats was dx, so I know there is alot to learn and it makes for an easier time to be taught gently.

It's perfectly understandable... you get into a habit of doing the same things and you see high numbers but you just keep going, then out of nowhere, you get a number that's totally different from all the past ones! AND it's a really good number too! It throws you for a loop!

It's a good sign to see the low number because it can mean he's getting better, and that's your goal: better numbers and a healthier cat.

Let's hope he starts giving you more of these nice numbers now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top