Held Rocky shot again this AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bee

Member Since 2017
Yesterday morning Rocky was 103 for his amps so i held his shot since i wouldn't be home. It did go up later in the day after he ate his dinner before his pmps. He was at 119 this morning so i held off on his shot again . I know there is not a magic number but what number is high enough to give an insulin shot.
 
Yesterday morning Rocky was 103 for his amps so i held his shot since i wouldn't be home. It did go up later in the day after he ate his dinner before his pmps. He was at 119 this morning so i held off on his shot again . I know there is not a magic number but what number is high enough to give an insulin shot.
My cat is not regulated yet, but I have been told here he should be around 200 and some have even suggested higher. I'm sure someone with more expertise will chime in but just wanted to give you some idea.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bee
My cat is not regulated yet, but I have been told here he should be around 200 and some have even suggested higher. I'm sure someone with more expertise will chime in but just wanted to give you some idea.

The vet told me anything under 300 is good but you dont want it to go under 100. Thats y ive been holding off the morning shot im afraid itll get to low. I came home at +7 he was at 258
 
The vet told me anything under 300 is good but you dont want it to go under 100. Thats y ive been holding off the morning shot im afraid itll get to low. I came home at +7 he was at 258
I'm sorry no one else has answered. I know they could advise you more expertly. I was told by the vet as well as here, that's it's better to err on the side of them staying too high rather than low as low is life threatening. I'm hoping someone will chime in before too long for you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bee
The no-dose number for many cats is 200. I have pumped him with calories and dosed him when he is just over 200.

Leo had two hypos in the past couple of months. Tough to deal with. We caught them early and handled urgently. It's a very scary situation. And that is what you are avoiding..by not dosing when your kitteh is not high enough to dose. One of the hypos was during a period of not eating - so that was an emergency vet visit with a glucose drip. And now he's like "I don't even remember, I'm kinda normal again". Our sweet fur-kids.:joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top