Heidi AMPS 169 today

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidismom

Member Since 2012
Here is a link to Heidi's topic in the Health forum: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=71365

She's been on insulin for 9 days. We didn't start testing until a few days ago, and not as regularly as TR requires. So I don't have a SS going yet, just some test results. I got scared yesterday morning because I thought that 156 was too low, so I didn't shoot. At 8 p.m. last night she was 233 so I gave 1 unit, and now this a.m. she was back down to 169 at 8 a.m.; up to 190 by 10 am.

Corinne
 
Hi Corinne and Heidi! Welcome to LantusLand...the best place to be for you and Heidi! Everyone here is very supportive and helpful and generous in all ways.

You've probably seen all the starred stickies at the top of the forum here...lots of great info there, so if you haven't checked them out, please do - they're a great starting point. It can be overwhelming, but remember, with this group, you are not alone!! Ask any and all questions, and someone will be able to help you.

Did you give Heide insulin this morning? If not, her "AMPS" is actually her "AMBG". AMPS = AM Pre-Shot; AMBG = AM Blood Glucose, and you use "AMBG" (or PMBG) if you don't give insulin. This helps the fine folks here distinguish what's what when they come by to answer any questions.

Welcome again!!

Amy (& Trixie)
 
Thanks everyone for your welcomes!

Thanks Amy and Trixie, I'm editing the numbers because the early a.m. was 169 and I did not give a shot then. So it was AMBG 169. Her AMPS was 190 per the list below

I wanted to add that Heidi's numbers today are: PS 190
+1 = 237
+2= 216

I can't do too much more testing today. I am running out of the 22 gauge needles I use to "stick" her and I need some for this evening and tomorrow. I won't use the lancet device that comes with the kit because I hate to use it on myself--ouch--so I really don't want to use it on her.

Corinne
 
Corinne --

Welcome to Lantus Land! I'm glad you made it here from Health.

I hate to pester you but we're really hamstrung until you get a spreadsheet going or you list out your days, doses, and times you tested. If you do the latter as a temporary measure, you need to set things up as a column and use the +times that we use to indicate how much past shot time you are when you tested. If you need help with the spreadsheet, please let us know. We tend to be very numbers driven and the best way we can help you is to see all of the numbers in one place.

If you shot later than usual this morning, please remember your PM shot is 12 hours from when you administered the last dose.

I know you're just starting out on this adventure. The best advice I can give you is to not run out of supplies. Murphy's Law always applies -- just when you're short on strips/lancets/high carb food is exactly when your cat decides to drop into low numbers and you need to test vigilantly. If you can get lancets today, I'd encourage you to pick some up. If you can't find a 22 gauge lancet (honestly, I've never seen one), see if you can find anything that's a lower gauge than 30. Many people who are new at this use a 28 gauge lancet. Heidi is seeing good numbers and you do not want to be caught without the supplies you need when the stores are closed.
 
Hi Sienne,
I just got back from buying more 22 gauge needles at the Emergency Vet. Actually these are needles like the ones that are used to administer subcutaneous fluids. My vet recommended them rather than the lancet device that comes with the AlphaTrak kit. I'm not a person who likes to run out of any supplies, and usually have a huge back-up supply of everything in my house.

I didn't realize it was 3 o'clock already. I was up at 6 a.m. and then between worrying, testing, and reading messages, I didn't even have a shower until after noon. It's just been that kind of day, mainly because I have been so confused about Heidi's condition.

I am going to go to Google now and try to work on a spreadsheet. I had been in touch with Marje for help with this,and she has so kindly offered to help me out if I need it, which I probably will. I'll accept help from whoever is available!!

Better get going on that. Thanks Sienne!

Corinne
 
Corinne

I don't know why vets use 22g needles to do ear pokes....mine does, too. She couldn't believe it when I showed her how to do it FREEHAND with a lancet. Some members use lancing devices and some freehand. I prefer to freehand because Gracie does not like the clicking noise of the lancing device. I think your pokes might go much, much easier on Heidi if you got some 28g or 29g lancets and used them freehand. If you look at the lancets, they have one side bevelled. You want to poke along the outside edge of her ear with the beveled side up.

Here are two pictures that show where to poke; the first one shows the vein so you want to poke towards the outer edge from the vein...the second one shows the vein and the "sweet spot":



They have the lancets at the pharmacy. Many of us use the BD ultra fine. I think you might like it better and I bet Heidi really will. As her ears bleed easier, you can get the 30g or 33g which are really fine.
 

Attachments

  • ear pokey.jpg
    ear pokey.jpg
    10 KB · Views: 1,207
  • Earvein2.jpg
    Earvein2.jpg
    20.2 KB · Views: 1,202
Corinne:

This is one of the best demos on how to freehand test with a lancet. This is how Mike and I learned (thanks to Buddy and Mark):
[youtube]_zE12-4fVn8[/youtube]

So, to get your shot time back where you want it, you can make it up by shooting 15 mins early each cycle or 30 mins once a day. Here are two example schedules; this is for you having shot at 10:30 when your regular time is 7.
15 mins each cycle
5/20 pm: 1015
5/21 am: 1000
5/21 pm: 9:45
5/22 am: 9:30
5/22 pm: 9:15
5/23 am: 9:00
5/23 pm: 8:45
5/24 am: 8:30
5/24 pm: 8:15
5/25 am: 8:00
5/25 pm: 7:45
5/26 am: 7:30
5/26 pm: 7:15
5/27 am: 7:00

OR....30 mins once a day
5/21 am/pm: 10:00
5/22 am/pm: 9:30
5/23 am/pm: 9:00
5/24 am/pm: 8:30
5/25 am/pm: 8:00
5/26 am/pm: 7:30
5/27: 7:00

Of course, if there is a different time you want to shoot, then stop at that time. For instance, if you decide you want to shoot at 8, then stop on the 5/25 a.m. cycle.
 
I agree with Marje on the lancets. I use BD ultrafines that are 30 gauge.

There's a trade off with the gauge of the needle. The really fine gauge lancet (30 and higher) are less painful since the width of the lancet is so tiny. This is fine after the capillary bed in the ear has built up since if the lancet is very thin, it can be harder to draw blood. However, if you use a wider gauge lancet, it's more painful. I suspect Heidi may be wincing or pulling away when you poke with a 22 gauge. Personally, I'd suggest a 28 or 29 gauge just like Marje mentioned.

I also freehand.

Also, make sure you are giving treats and lots of praise when you test. Even if it's an unsuccessful test, give treats. You want testing to be associated with something positive.
 
Marje, thanks for the wonderful video, photos of the sweet spot, and for the shot schedule. Those lancets look different from the ones in my AlphaTrak kit. I think I'd better try them out.

Sienne, you are psychic, Heidi is definitely cringing, wincing and pulling away when I poke her ear with the 22 gauge needles. I feel so bad now, I've been butchering her poor ear flaps and not even knowing it.... :cry: I sure hope she won't get an infection or something from all the misguided poking..I still see marks on her ear flaps. I put some mupirocin on them today and got some antibiotic ointment with pain reliever at the drugstore today. I give her treats after she gets poked--I think she knows now that she will get a treat. I also give her lots of hugs and pets. Actually in some weird way it's been a bonding experience that we never had. She was a feral kitty who was sort of the outcast of the feral colony, very skittish and wary, but extremely smart. She's never been a cat to jump in my lap looking for affection, and doesn't seem to like being held a lot. She hides if anyone comes to the house. And she's been with me almost 12 years now!

Thanks everyone--
Corinne
 
Corinne said:
Actually in some weird way it's been a bonding experience that we never had.
Not weird at all. I think lots of people here would say the same thing. I suspect that Heidi realizes what you're doing is helping her to feel better. Cats really do pick up on your emotions. If she senses that you care and you're not trying to deliberately hurt her, she will trust what you're doing. Of course, it always helps if there are treats involved!
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
The vet told you to poke her EAR FLAPS? ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile No wonder she's been unhappy about it.

Oh no, I just say "ear flaps" to distinguish the area from the inner ear, etc. He showed me exactly where to poke--the sweet spot, except he didn't call it that!!! Sorry...that does sound gruesome, doesn't it?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Corinne said:
Actually in some weird way it's been a bonding experience that we never had.
Not weird at all. I think lots of people here would say the same thing. I suspect that Heidi realizes what you're doing is helping her to feel better. Cats really do pick up on your emotions. If she senses that you care and you're not trying to deliberately hurt her, she will trust what you're doing. Of course, it always helps if there are treats involved!

Sienne, Heidi is so tuned into my emotions, it's unreal. She can read me like a book. She really does trust me. She's come such a long way since she was a scared kitten. And treats always help! :smile: She will "pet" my leg with her head to get treats....

Corinne
 
Corinne

I was just thinking that it is not apparent to others that you are using an Alpha Trak so could you please edit your signature block where the SS link is to indicate you are using an AT? Also AaT users usually put it in their subject line. Example:
5\20 Heidi PMPS 180 (AT)

Thank you!
 
The +12 is her preshot ...PMPS for night unless you don't shoot and then it is PMBG.

If she is above 200, I'd shoot 1u but do a +2 test. I won't be up then but if her +2 test is much higher than PMPS, it is not likely she'll come back down too much. If it is the close to the PMPS...you should check her again at +4. If it is much lower, it has the potential to be an active cycle and you will need to check her at +4 and if she's lower than +5.

I've got to lay down for a few seconds but I'll be back on after 11 to answer any questions.
 
Okay, got it. I'll give her 1 unit. She seems to have been okay with that before and I'll do a +2. Hope you get some rest! I may not post on the SS until I get up in the morning (not at the time I do the test).

Thanks again.
Corinne
 
It was a quiet night, hope yours was the same. I did her +2 , it was 200, need to add it to her SS. I will test her again in a few minutes, and do a pre-shoot around 9:45 a.m. Thanks so much for your help.

Corinne


P.S. having trouble loading my spreadsheet--I think it's a google issue. :roll:
 
Thanks, Sienne, I think I got it fixed. I feel terrible about this because I thought it was working and Marje must have been trying to help me last night with an unavailable SS. I am so sorry!!

I just realized that the 309 bg value I show for 5/12/12 PMPS was done on a human glucometer, so it should be 30 ? points less. Is that right? All other values were measured on an AlphaTrak.

Heidi's poor little ear has a bruise--I can see it because she has somewhat hairless ears ...I am definitely getting those 28 or 29 gauge lancets today.

Corinne
 
Morning!

What I found works to prevent bruising....besides switching to a lancet which should help....is that I bought a pack of soft baby washcloths and before we test, we run one under cool water. As soon as I am done getting the blood, I immediately hold the cold washcloth to the place where I poked and apply pressure for a few seconds. Then I put the Neosporin ointment on. Gracie has never had bruises even on days of heavy testing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top