Heathy's diabetes has returned

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heathy and Mommy

Member Since 2011
Heathy has been off insulin for 3 years. He's been doing great but developed crystal in his bladder. So he was eating a new food very high in salt so he would drink tons of water and pee tons. Well, the crytals disappeared but the diabetes came back. Since discovering this site 4 years ago, he has been on Wellness with some nuggets from Core. He just loves his dry food.
Now we're back on Lantus. I turned down the Vet food and he is back on his regular diet. He went to the vet yesterday, his lowest reading was 339. This morning 318@6am and just now 311@6pm. I'm not sure he got all his dose tonight.

I have read here that he should go to the vet every few weeks. Our vet wants to keep him all day on Monday..just after 3 days of starting insulin. What do you all think?
 
Way too soon for Lantus since it takes many days to stabilize. Why not get a human meter and take blood glucose levels yourself. You can discuss the results hree and with the vet.
 
Actually his diabetes was@ 427 last thursday and by eating wellness food alone it droped to 389. Now it's down to 319. He's acting just fine and is not overeating nor drinking water. I even told the vet that I wanted to try the food for another week. BUt he said it was not safe and wanted to start the insulin. OMG. I hope I'm not causing more damage to him.
 
Welcome back. I'm sorry to hear your honeymoon has ended. Hopefully it will be a brief return to diabetes.

I think Larry was suggesting that it is way too early to change the dose of Lantus, because it takes many days for the cat to stabilize at a given dose.

If I read your post right, it sounds like you are home testing pre shot? Is there any way you could get those readings into a posted spreadsheet for easier review? How to create and post a spreadsheet or if you have trouble: Spreadsheet files if templates are not working

Once you get your spreadsheet up and running, you probably want to move over to the Lantus forum to get specific dosing advice. You'll find a very active group there who can respond almost immediately.

In general, your numbers look fine to hold at the current dose for a few days (5-7 days on the initial dose is standard). You do need to get some more mid-cycle readings so that we can see what the "nadir" or bottom of the cycle is getting to.
 
Mr Heathy,
Welcome back, I have only been here since 4/2011, but will not leave for no reason!
I second what mr. larry & Kitties have said....stay home with Heathy and home test. Walmart carries a great meter and is affordable....35ish gets you set up. I dont think he should have to go to the vet that often?? My sugar Bean went once, one week after dx and once for uti.... I was not home testing and had no idea what the insulin was doing or not doing, but once I was home testing, she not only not returned to the vet, but is in remission herself! YA BEAN!!! :cool:
+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65+65]+ lil sis said hi too! lol
 
That's great news about Bean. I remember when Heathys' went into remission, the first time. What Joy! I've got my fingers crossed that it'll happen again. Lots of hugs to you and bean. :-D
 
OK...Did Heathy's BG at 7:12...after eating and 45 minutes late. His BG read @ 220. Still went ahead and gave him 2 units. I'll retest @ noon. Should I go ahead and lower the Lantus dose this evening? Heathy started Lantus on thursday 18Aug. in the AM. He is 21lbs., 11 years old. Also. should I go back to the 6pm shot or keep @ 7:15pm? I'm having trouble opening a google account. But I'll try again.

Thanks!
 
In general, we dose based on the minimum reading from the middle of the cycle. If you could get readings at +4, +6, and +8, it will make the decision a lot easier. So long as the minimum is >100, we generally would not recommend changing anything. If you get a reading close to 50, or even lower, then you need to immediately respond to avoid hypoglycemia (I don't have the sticky links handy), and we would want to adjust the dose down. Between 50 and 100, it will depend in how regularly you can test. Ideally, you would hold the dose if you stay above 50, but only if we can be confident that you will be able to catch it if he drops too low.

I know it can get a bit complicated. If you post over in the Lantus forum, you will get a lot more dosing help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top