Heading toward remission? Thoughts?

Charlie’s Mom

Member Since 2021
Can you experienced angels review Charlie’s chart and advise if there is a possibility of remission soon for him? He’s been on Lantus 5 weeks & down to .25 U. This is his 3rd day on .25 U so waiting to do a curve next weekend.

his readings seem a little high in the morning. I can only get him to eat about 1 3 ounce can of pate a day, so he gets a little Dr Elsey or Young Again too. Advice for getting him there soon? Am I rushing?
ALSO HIS GLUCOSE was negative for the first time in a home urine test two days ago. That darn ketone stick I have a hard time reading if it’s negative or trace, the colors are so close I can’t tell!
 
Charlie looks like his numbers are moving in the right direction. Just as an FYI, for many cats, the AMPS numbers are often the last to come down into a lower range. It looks like this is the case for Charlie.

The other factor to keep in mind is that it may take a while for numbers for fully flatten out. I wouldn't try to push for remission too quickly. Rather, even if it means shaving the dose, it may ensure a stronger remission if you keep your kitty on insulin as long as you can in order to provide as much support for his healing pancreas as possible.
 
Charlie looks like his numbers are moving in the right direction. Just as an FYI, for many cats, the AMPS numbers are often the last to come down into a lower range. It looks like this is the case for Charlie.

The other factor to keep in mind is that it may take a while for numbers for fully flatten out. I wouldn't try to push for remission too quickly. Rather, even if it means shaving the dose, it may ensure a stronger remission if you keep your kitty on insulin as long as you can in order to provide as much support for his healing pancreas as possible.
Thanks for your reply! I will look for the numbers to flatten out before getting too excited
 
I'm sure you've been told this, but if you switch from an Alphatrak to a human meter, the numbers will look a little lower. This will help you gauge how he is doing in lower numbers better. Ideally, we'd want him to be in the 50-80 range on a human meter for the strongest possible remission. What you are seeing is Charlie getting regulated, which is 90% of the battle and you're doing great. :) I've seen some kitties go OTJ before they achieve the 50-80 BG range and some of them do get knocked out of remission easily by another illness or the introduction of a new medication to their routine. Ruby was in greens for a long time and on very small doses of insulin but she was never quite ready for remission. She had to go on steroids for SCL so that's dashed all hopes of remission for us but we gave small doses for quite a while. Check out our SS.
 
I'm sure you've been told this, but if you switch from an Alphatrak to a human meter, the numbers will look a little lower. This will help you gauge how he is doing in lower numbers better. Ideally, we'd want him to be in the 50-80 range on a human meter for the strongest possible remission. What you are seeing is Charlie getting regulated, which is 90% of the battle and you're doing great. :) I've seen some kitties go OTJ before they achieve the 50-80 BG range and some of them do get knocked out of remission easily by another illness or the introduction of a new medication to their routine. Ruby was in greens for a long time and on very small doses of insulin but she was never quite ready for remission. She had to go on steroids for SCL so that's dashed all hopes of remission for us but we gave small doses for quite a while. Check out our SS.
Thank you, I will check out your SS and I’m thinking I will get a human meter today. What is the recommended one in the US from Wal Mart? Relion?
 
He’s looking good. You might want to try a small +9 snack to see if it brings down the amps/pmps. Once regulated Max never had glucose in his urine but never went otj. They have to be high enough for that, for many I think 250ish. It’s a good sign but not for remission.
 
He’s looking good. You might want to try a small +9 snack to see if it brings down the amps/pmps. Once regulated Max never had glucose in his urine but never went otj. They have to be high enough for that, for many I think 250ish. It’s a good sign but not for remission.
He had a couple BG’s under 90 again on Alphatrak, should I drop his dose again already? We just dropped to .25 two days ago so I am hesitant.
 
He had a couple BG’s under 90 again on Alphatrak, should I drop his dose again already? We just dropped to .25 two days ago so I am hesitant.
Yes, with SLGS any drop under 90 means a reduction. You then hold the dose for 7 days. If you don’t feed any dry you can switch to TR in which case a reduction is earned with a drop under 68 when using the AT.
So the new dose is .10.
 
Here’s how to draw up .10.

upload_2021-12-12_17-29-24.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-12-12_17-29-24.jpeg
    upload_2021-12-12_17-29-24.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 191
Make a sample using colored water and a used syringe with a good beginning line. You can count the number of drops and practice. If it’s not enough, you just take him back up after 7 days. He’s looking really good.
 
Hi! It might help to look at my spreadsheet around the first of November 2019 when I changed to a human meter from an AT. Look at the quick reduction.

You may be closer than you know!
 
Hi! It might help to look at my spreadsheet around the first of November 2019 when I changed to a human meter from an AT. Look at the quick reduction.

You may be closer than you know!
Envious numbers, even before you changed meters! Congratulations on a long remission so far!!
I can’t change to tight remission because I work during the week so can’t test blood as often as needed. So we will see how this goes.

what is the difference between .10 and a drop? Any advice is appreciated
 
what is the difference between .10 and a drop? Any advice is appreciated

I played around with the drop dose on a glass stovetop! .10 turned out to be two drops, and one drop was perfect with priming (draw a bit of insulin into syringe, and shoot out.) Then before inserting syringe again, push plunger hard, then insert needle into pen, and let go of pressure, wait a couple seconds, then pull out syringe - giving you one drop! I practiced a lot!
I also used calipers to measure the .10 dose.
We will be cheering you on Charlie!
 
Back
Top